We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciampini

Ciampini
Ranked #631 of 11,154 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife spent our last dinner in Rome at ciampini. Honestly this was the best among all 4 nights. We have caesar salad, baked fish and traditional lamb. All are delicious and presented very well. Service are good and environment is romantic. Recommended if you want a decent dinner with a reasonable price.

Helpful?
Thank Herowind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    165
    36
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairview Park, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our dinner at Ciampini. Very close to the Spanish Steps. We had a very romantic dinner on the patio for our last night in Rome. Pasta with Clams was good but my wife's gnocci was fantastic. The caprese salad was also delicious and their specialty chocolate gelato dessert was unbelievable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great setting, large portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Burrata, nicoise salad, and spaghetti with clams were all great. The pasta portions were ridiculously large...loaded with clams. Same for the other dishes. Split a couple for lunch. Unfortunately, the pours on the glasses of wine were a little light. I would definitely go back. Turtle pool is a nice touch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CheckPleaseChiTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Ciampini is a short walk above the Spanish Steps. It is a very pretty and pleasant outdoor restaurant. Even though it is open-air, a hedge separates you from the street and foot traffic. They have some indoor areas in case of poor weather. The waiters were very friendly and attentive and the food was very good. It was moderately priced and a step up from most of the cafes. We really enjoyed it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomtx45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottesford, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

just returned from a great night at this restaurant. Quality food and service, well worth the extra cost.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ciampini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing