We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beehive Cafe

The Beehive Cafe
Ranked #5,114 of 12,045 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Description: CASH ONLY, CREDIT CARDS NOT ACCEPTED. Set inside the Beehive hotel, our cafe is open for breakfast daily between 7:30-10:30am, and we currently host guest chef nights with fixed menus from 7-9:30pm on select evenings, NOT EVERY NIGHT. Please call our reception before coming over to see if a dinner is taking place and to make reservations.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Found the Beehive by using Trip advisor, we have been travelling for about a week and we're trying to find some salads and vegetables in a restaurant menu. Went to address given, very small sign for hostel and cafe , had to get buzzed in. Front desk said normally need reservations but could ask chef. Yes she had room for two. Basically one choice , but very good, a vegetarian soup, a pancake and a great salad. wine was 8 Euro,s a bottle, very small place but great food. Sounds like they have a number of different chef's, so a different theme each night. Very close to train station, very friendly staff. Well worth a visit if looking for good healthy food, a adventure and good prices

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Guest chefs give flare and diversity to the Italian Palette”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We tried the mexican night and the food tasted like what your mama would make, if you had a mexican one :) yummy, healthy, authentic...and cheap!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martynamunroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast - Toast & Cereal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I did have breakfast here and was a bit disappointed as the portion of cereal was minimal and the bread was very hard, perhaps Gluten free bread but still Very crunchy...and it wasn't toasted.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jobio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaatTheBeehive, Owner at The Beehive Cafe, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We're sorry to hear you were disappointed. For cereals we offer two different sizes so perhaps there was some miscommunication on what size you wanted. Gluten free bread is always a challenge - it's simply not structured like normal bread and is hard to get results that are like normal glutenous breads. If you wanted it toasted more I'm sure if you'd of asked we would have been happy to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a light healthy dinner, in an enviromental place - this is the perfect restaurant. We had a great vegan dinner, everything was freshly made, the atmosphere is very calming and the service is excellent. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I loved the cafe- it is so cute, it looks like it's out of a pottery barn catalog. It is a little on the higher end though as far as pricing, but if you are not on a strict budget than it is a fabulous way to start the day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CBroome2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beehive Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Beehive Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing