We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A waste of a beautiful building!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Taverna de' Mercanti

La Taverna de' Mercanti
Ranked #4,636 of 12,044 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $39 - $157
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Florianopolis, Brazil
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A waste of a beautiful building!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent ambience with a poor service.Aparently unhappy staff.
I would not recommend.
Amazing old building in a special part of Rome. They should be more careful about what they're doing.
I hope I got there in a bad day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RenatoFuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    116
    102
    66
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant. It was in an attractive old building in a very attractive piazza. Our table was on a vine clad verandah. Service was good and friendly, but the selection of food limited - no pasta and the meat dishes all for men with enormous appetites! Limited selection in fact. My husband and I both ended up having 'mountain sausage', which appeared as pork hamburgers (ie not sausage shaped). It was delicious, if a little salty. You have to be aware that it would not have come with potatoes or vegetables, so order them if you don't want to have meat on its own. The whole meal was more pricey than any other meal we ate in Rome and we didn't think the food warranted the extra cost. And we had to put up with the loud music being played live by the musicians in the restaurant opposite.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Beautiful ambiance, average service, OK food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Saturday evening in Trastevere and the restaurants get busy. We chanced on this place after a couple of others had turned us away, not having booked. The surroundings are really lovely, with torches flickering in the ancient building. The menu was in the form of a rolled up scroll which kind-of shouts "tourist trap" although there did seem to be lots of Italians there. The service was friendly although once we had ordered and received our food they did forget us - no one came to offer desserts or coffee. We would have had pasta, but when we looked at the menu, there was no pasta! (Note to self - check the menu before sitting down!) The pizza was good and the grilled meat was OK and lots of it. It was a bit pricy, but I didn't feel 'ripped-off' as the surroundings were so nice.
The restaurant opposite had a band and singer doing Italian numbers, and they had a bit of entertaining schtick involving an old guy who leaned out of an upstairs window and told them to shut-up.
There are probably better restaurants than this in the area, but it would be hard to beat the atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichieRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful ambiance hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

A local friend walked us back into this neighborhood to this beautiful building he said has stayed the same since the 16th century. We sat outside and loved the ambiance. The food was excellent with interesting choices including quail and skewers of variety meats. Steak was huge and tasty as was the calzone. We had a friendly helpful waiter. Listened to the live music next door.

Helpful?
Thank Coppermoney
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting but poor food and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The place is very pretty and you come in expecting to have a great meal. Pizzas were ok, pasta and second plates were average....not a memorable service. Kind of a tourist trap....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna de' Mercanti also viewed

 

Been to La Taverna de' Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing