We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ambiance, average service, OK food”

La Taverna de' Mercanti
Ranked #4,569 of 12,135 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $39 - $157
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Beautiful ambiance, average service, OK food”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Saturday evening in Trastevere and the restaurants get busy. We chanced on this place after a couple of others had turned us away, not having booked. The surroundings are really lovely, with torches flickering in the ancient building. The menu was in the form of a rolled up scroll which kind-of shouts "tourist trap" although there did seem to be lots of Italians there. The service was friendly although once we had ordered and received our food they did forget us - no one came to offer desserts or coffee. We would have had pasta, but when we looked at the menu, there was no pasta! (Note to self - check the menu before sitting down!) The pizza was good and the grilled meat was OK and lots of it. It was a bit pricy, but I didn't feel 'ripped-off' as the surroundings were so nice.
The restaurant opposite had a band and singer doing Italian numbers, and they had a bit of entertaining schtick involving an old guy who leaned out of an upstairs window and told them to shut-up.
There are probably better restaurants than this in the area, but it would be hard to beat the atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichieRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    118
    104
    66
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful ambiance hidden gem”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

A local friend walked us back into this neighborhood to this beautiful building he said has stayed the same since the 16th century. We sat outside and loved the ambiance. The food was excellent with interesting choices including quail and skewers of variety meats. Steak was huge and tasty as was the calzone. We had a friendly helpful waiter. Listened to the live music next door.

Helpful?
Thank Coppermoney
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting but poor food and service”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The place is very pretty and you come in expecting to have a great meal. Pizzas were ok, pasta and second plates were average....not a memorable service. Kind of a tourist trap....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor-taste but pricey pizza, decoration good tho”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I believe most of the tourist would just be attracted by the decoration of this restaurant - it looks authentic, surrounded by flowers and with torches on the wall of an ancient house. we were attracted by this too, and decided to have a dinner there. however, the food turned out to be quite disappointing - on average its pizza costs 15 eur, which is almost 30% higher than normal ones. with such a high price, if the food is good, we would be definitely okay. however, the pizza turned out to be quite burnt, the whole thing tasted bitter, and I had to tear off a big part of it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gundbear7c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Non existant service!!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were actually looking for another restaurant when we stumbled across this restaurant. The man who seated us was extremely pleasant so I had high hopes! Then our waiter arrived.... He spent most of his time talking to locals next to us and then when they left, sat on table right next to us!!! We never received our starters (which he tried to charge us for), were never asked if our food was ok and not even offered a dessert menu. Very disappointed. I have only ever left glowing reports here on trip advisor but felt compelled to write this one! The only good thing was that our litre of house red seemed to go on forever!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurennewcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna de' Mercanti also viewed

 

Been to La Taverna de' Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing