We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely for true romantics”

The Library Romantic
Ranked #3,790 of 12,367 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $45 - $110
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Description: The Library Romantic: its intimate candlelit setting is an ideal location for a romantic evening with your significant other, or dinner with close friends. Ideal for marriage proposals,anniversaries, celebration. Here you will find all the Roman hospitality, together with a homely feeling, a wonderful cosy setting and great food.
Surrey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“lovely for true romantics”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My partner booked this before we went to Rome (must pre book) it was just perfect, Dana was warm, informative and helpful, this restaurant only has 6 tables and can only seat 12 people, if your a romantic it's a must you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John27k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    90
    45
    30
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A highlight in our trip”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This small place is tucked in a narrow street near Piazza Navona. If you're looking for that perfect hole in the wall, this is it. The place is very tastefully done and elegant. The perfect place for a romantic meal. The prices are high, but if you are looking for a memorable splurge, you've found it. The owner, Dana has gone out of her way to create the look and feel of this place. We were treated to a before dinner drink which was followed by some of the best food I've tasted in Italy. I was even given a cigar after dinner. I've been to Italy 7 times and eaten at many restaurants. This was the best place so far. A hard one to beat. The truffle risotto is a must have, simply the best dish I've had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzatarianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SWEET AND SOUR”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

PRO'S: Amazing place (the inside is a true, romantic, unique beauty), with professional, cheerful and friendly staff.
CON'S: The food was average. But if you take into account its price, then let me say it's not even worth one third of what it cost. That was pretty upsetting to me and my wife.
The second con is that the service was very, very slow.
I hope it helps, good luck!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferri23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing... and then some!!!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We found this delightful restaurant on this very site. Idyllic theme, set away from the bustling streets just a stones throw from the River Tiber. We had an early booking so we had the whole place to ourselves and this added to the atmosphere. Quiet, unobtrusive service and a wine list to die for. My girlfriend and I were treated to the two fish dishes they had on for evening service and we were not disappointed, as for the baked potato, it was unlike anything we had ever tasted, and it too was scrumptious, we were treated to an experience from a chef who has a real passion for his food.

After our meal we sat drinking Prosecco and chatting to the staff as if we had known them for years, providing us with information about the city and the 'what-to-do' and 'where-to-go. We left there satisfied, and with a complimentary bottle of Prosecco from the Owner, which after the meal we had just had made us feel like royalty. We will come back to Rome one day, and this beautiful, traditional restaurant will be top of our list.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Son, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overprized and uninteresting”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We went to this restaurant after seeing it´s high score here on trip advisor. It was sadly disappointing. The restaurant was very secretive and dark (the waiter used a flashlight to find the wines) which could´ve been romantic but just came across as dark. The menu was probably supposed to be charmingly handwritten, but it just seem a bit childish. And I guess the wines were excellent, but I think they started at 45 Eur for a bottle. There are lots of nice romantic restaurants in Rome, so don´t wast your time and money here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 494Farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Library Romantic also viewed

 

Been to The Library Romantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing