We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Roman Holidays”
Review of Roman Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roman Holidays
Ranked #799 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

First of all, i must say that the location of the hotel is excellent!!It is 10 minutes walk from the Vatican,real close to bus stops,10-15 minutes walk from the stop at Vatican area of shuttle bus(from fiumicino airport),and 5 minutes walk from the Ottaviano metro station..The area around is very quiet and has many mini markets.Some bad things are the temperature of the shower(sometimes the water was warm and then it turn to cold) and the fact that i asked for a double bed and when i got there i realised that we had two single beds.And it was very uncomfortable to sleep for a couple.Moreover,the breakfast was very poor(a cup of coffee,a juice and a croissant) but i knew it from the beginning i made the reservation..

Room Tip: If you are a couple get a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank voulitsanick v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 283 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay at Roman Holidays! We would recommend it if you are looking for no-frills, budget friendly and quiet location!

Positive: Location is convenient when you want to go to the Vatican Museum. It is also not far from St. Peter's Basilica. We were also able to explore Rome by foot with the hotel as the starting point. However, be prepared to walk quite a distance! Many small restos nearby. Room is cleaned everyday. Simple breakfast in Bar Doria is a plus! Helpful staff!

Negative: Rooms are quite dark. Reception is not 24hours.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AduSiaMonteron2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was a bit worried as we hadn't paid much to be in Rome but I was pleasantly surprised.Warm welcome, clean, spacious bedroom & bathroom, no problem when we asked for extra pillows. Very friendly staff in the cafe for breakfast. Ideal for visiting all of Rome as not far from the metro & bus station.
Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel is really good, specially if you think of how much you paid for it. Confortable beds, spacious room and bathroom. The only downside was the breakfast: it is outside the hotel and you only get one croissant, one glass of orange juice (half full) and one coffe. This is why I gave it 4 instead of 5. Overall, really good place!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gustavo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

be sure to contact the owner to get directions, I had a bit of drama finding the place, but once I got there I was pleasantly surprised. Great value for money, I walked to the pope;s house and the really old footy stadium. Had an absolute blast.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark0s63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Excellent base whilst in Rome and booked on KGB meaning we got an exceptionally good value stay. Spent 3 nights there with my Fiancee, room was very clean, very comfortable and firm bed with an excellent shower. Really everything you could ask for from a B & B. Ten mins walk from the Vatican and easy access to the Metro.

Met at reception by two very friendly ladies who checked us in and booked our cab back to the airport. Had to ask for extra pillows and the room got slightly warm at night (but the aircon will correct this and the heating is controlled by the building) but really very good overall.

Breakfast is a pastry, orange juice and coffee at the local cafe so don't expect a full English... but after all this isn't England and probably helps to make the experience more Italian. True the lift is small and there isn't staff there all day , however, there is a number where you can always contact someone for help.

Overall the accommodation was excellent value, well located and the staff were very friendly.
Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaffaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We returned from our 3 night deal on the 3rd of February. We found the 'hotel' rather our room on the 4th floor of an apartment block very small, clean and just about adequate, no shower curtain so you had to stand and hose yourself ! We are use to city breaks and using the transport system in Europe but we did struggle to find Roman Holiday despite printing our own map off. I'd advise anyone travelling to take the shuttle but from the airport to the termini, it's 6 euros and get the M (red) to Battistini and get off at Ottaviano. When you come up from the Metro with the Vatican behind you, go left , 1st right cross the next junction and the next street along to the left, you'll see a flashing pharmacy sign in neon lights, turn left and you're there. Or follow the Vatican wall , passed the Sistine chapel entrance, cross 2 junctions. There was a lovely little bar near our 'hotel' called Jet Lag 64, worth a visit the lads were really friendly and open until 2am.
Lesley from Bolton

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#246 of 1,269 in Rome
598 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,860 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#96 of 1,269 in Rome
3,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#195 of 1,269 in Rome
1,066 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,269 in Rome
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Holidays

Address: Via Bu Meliana 12, 00195 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #799 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $69 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman Holidays 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roman Holidays of the Vatican Planet Chain is a comfortable B&B which consist of two brand new structures both situated in the historical Prati area and it is only a few steps away from the Vatican Museums and St. Peter Cathedral.In a few minutes, it is possible to reach some of the principal historical sites as the Vatican Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Roman Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Holidays Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing