We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with basic rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Ranked #183 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Good location with large rooms.
The rooms are dark and heavy..
The bathroom was clean and large, but the carpets in the room
want a good clean and a good disinfection !
The breakfast is simple and humble.
Good, quick and free wi-fi.
Nothing exciting, just a hotel city..
Will go again with max. 60 / night, not more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kostas X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just spent the weekend with my wife at the Augusta Lucilla and was very pleased I booked this hotel for our stay. The hotel is located just a few minutes walk from Termini station and upon arrival we we're greeted by very friendly front of house staff who were quite happy to point out all the best sights and restaurants in Rome.

The hotel is extremely clean throughout and the rooms are a decent size and comfortable. A few reviews mention the breakfast, its not a full english but then again you are on the continent and there is plenty of choice.

Overall an excellent hotel, great location within walking distance of all the major sights. Would definately be paying a return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Communications with this hotel were excellent - we received very quick email replies to queries and they sorted out an early morning airport transfer for us with no hassle.
The room was very large and perfectly fine.
Location really good, staff very helpful and friendly.
Only reason we wouldn't book here again is the bed was very very firm and we did not sleep well because of it.
Everything else was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barney5Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This property is situated very close to Termini train station...about two blocks. It's clean and convenient to the metro. The staff is extremely helpful...all speak English. The breakfast is hearty and plentiful and the staff has gone out of their way to make sure our stay is good....especially Andrea. They have made excellent dinner reservations at neighborhood restaurants within walking distance and have been helpful with directions and suggestions.

Room Tip: Stay on upper floor. Our room had a small balcony....room 504...appears to be the only one on the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Good location, near termini and bus station. clean rooms and bathroom. No tea / coffee making facilities in room. Breakfast choice could have been better, mostly cold meats and fruit, but you have to find your own table, cutlery make tea and find toaster , not a good start to our mornings.
First morning my wife tried the hairdryer in the bathroom and it fused on start up and caused a slight burn to her hand, reported to male reception person and he said he would get it replaced, he did but did not offer any assistance for the burn, to be quite brutal he was not interested and was quite indifferent and not at all helpful at any time. Enjoyed our stay in Rome despite the attitude of the front of house staff. Doubt if we would go back to the Augusta.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights before leaving for a cruise. The hotel was well located and walkable to mant of the sites in Ancient Rome. It was also only 2 blocks from the train station and bus terminals. My only complaint was when we asked about a night tour they only provided a brochure that was very costly. When we walked up to the transportation center we were able to purchase 48 hours of riding the on/off red open bus line for only 18 E - a great bargain!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was the first stop on our Italian adventure and I have to say one of my favorite hotels on our trip. First impression: emmaculately clean rooms which is SO important to me. The rooms are tiny, pretty much just a bed and four walls, however it was spotless.

The front desk was extremely amicable and they spoke English fluently as well which was a huge help. This hotel is located only a block a way from the Termini train station which was extremely helpful because we were able to easily travel throughout rome via subway.

It is in an extremely safe area, as there are tourists and locals walking about even at night.

The only complaint I would have was the breakfast, although a large selection, nothing that I really "loved." Also, the bathroom flooded everytime you took a shower because there was not a full door on the shower. When we first arrived there was a screaming baby in the room next door to us but we called and they easily moved our room with no problem.

About a 10 minute walk from here was our favorite restaurant that we ate at during out entire trip, called Veccia Rome.

Overall, I would absolutely recommend staying here especially if you are seeing Rome on our own aka via subway or bus. Also, if you need access to the eurorail as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#165 of 1,271 in Rome
2,267 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#126 of 1,271 in Rome
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Quirinale Hotel
Quirinale Hotel
#210 of 1,271 in Rome
3,359 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,271 in Rome
4,334 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
#310 of 1,271 in Rome
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta Lucilla Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Lucilla Palace

Address: Via Massimo d'Azeglio 24, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#246 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $78 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Augusta Lucilla Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Augusta Lucilla Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Lucilla Palace Rome
Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing