We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emily House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2,537 of 3,722 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Porta Maggiore is a fairly good hotel not so far from the center of Rome. Our group on a guided tour of Italy spent two nights there. We were all satisfied with friendly service, spacious rooms and bathrooms, and with good breakfasts. The level of noise coming from the street was the greatest drawback.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 57 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

First of all, the room conditions were very good for the general standards of Rome. Clean sheets, clean bathrooms, changed towels, daily cleaning, for not too much money, not very cheap though, but for Rome prices ... We had a problem with warm water and it was fixed the same day, after we announced. The owners were very nice and friendly, gave us very good directions for getting around.
You need to use public transportation to get to and from main tourist area, because you are not within walking distance. Pay attention that public transport in Rome stops after midnight (last bus starts the route at midnight) so after that you need to take a cab. The area may be a bit problematic at night if you walk around, as there are quite a few groups of individuals of different ethnics and colors which may appear a bit scary as they scan you head to toe when you walk by after midnight :) no incidents for us though, and we never arrived before midnight.
The breakfast consists of bread, butter, jam, milk, cereals, orange juice, and lavazza cappucino which was delicious!. If you expect english breakfast you will be very dissapointed, especially in regards to quantity and consistency. For us it was enough though!
I also must mention the quality of the bed which for us was a major advantage afte walking around Rome all day. And again, about the bathroom, it was very, very clean, the main reason i add one more point to my rating, as it is very hard to find a nice toiled in Rome, even at the nice restaurants.
Please keep in mind that my review is for a budget B&B hotel, do not expect fancy hotels standards.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great place for a budget trip to Rome. Clean rooms, friendly reception, and the daughter speaks English. 2 minutes away from a supermarket and 2 very good local restaurants, without inflated tourist prices. Yes you have to get a tram into the centre of Rome, but, when in Rome do what the Romans do.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Porta Maggiore has a nice breakfast spread, and the room was clean, but if you are in Rome to visit the Colosseum, Vatican City, etc., I would recommend getting a hotel closer to these sites because hopping buses all day long to get to these sites.....gets old....really quick. You are NOT in walking distance of the Vatican, we were on the bus 20-30 minutes to get there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephanieInOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel was very nice and the hostess very friendly. The breakfast was very good and the service complete. Nice, clean rooms with a fresh bathroom. Over all it was a very nice and rememarable staying!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Per E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The room is really good , and the breakfast is good . Thereis a kitchen very useful, and the reception is very kind . The location is far and noisy because the plane . And also the street is dirty .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Yurui F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My Dad booked this hotel for me and two of my friends so I wasn't 100% convinced when I saw the details. When we arrived at the Termni in central Rome we had to get the number 5 or 14 tram for 10 stops which was a bit intimidating especially as you get further away from tourist Rome. However, when we finally arrived at the B&B, we couldn't have been more wrong about our negative feelings. Emily House was brilliant, we were greeted by Emily who was lovely and so very helpful. Although her English isn't amazing she did try to provide us with details about Rome especially public transport which was invaluable. The B&B room itself was lovely and clean and breakfast was eaten in the room served by a small kitchen in the Reception area. The breakfast was basic continental which was fine. The room itself was cleaned everyday by Emily which was great after a long day of wandering around. The room also had the best air conditioning, it was so hot in the city but the air conditioning was so good that we actually needed the blankets provided on the bed. The bathroom was spotless and the shower was brilliant, much more than we expected for the price.
The only negative was the fact on our last night when we arrived back at the apartment building that the B&B is situated in we put the key in the lock only for it to break off in the lock! Cue panic of pressing the buzzers of the other occupants of the apartment building hoping one of them would answer and let us in! Bit of a panic but fortunately a nice soul let us in (or they were just sick of us buzzing).
Overall i'd recommend Emily House especially for the price! Just be careful with your keys!

Room Tip: Ask for a triple room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#363 of 1,269 in Rome
429 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,269 in Rome
295 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#1,887 of 3,722 in Rome
92 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#108 of 1,269 in Rome
1,218 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#212 of 1,269 in Rome
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emily House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Muzio Attendolo 43, 00176 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,537 of 3,722 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $49 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emily House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the second Floor of a 1930s building with lift, Emily House is in a residential district with great tram links around Rome. Each room has a private bathroom, a TV, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. A spacious common kitchen can be used to prepare meals. Individually packaged breakfast ingredients and fruit juices are found in the guest rooms. On arrival you will be provided with the keys to the building and the room. Bus 81 will take you to the historic centre, and the trams stopping near Emily House run to Roma Termini Train Station, and also the Vatican. You can walk to the lively Pigneto area in less than 10 minutes. Prenestino is a great choice for travellers interested in monuments, ancient landmarks and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emily House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing