We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Castle
Ranked #151 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Though the location is not so near the city center, it has free cars to pick you up and send you to the train station every day. Every men of the hotel is so nice, hospitable and considerate. I like the breakfast very much. Last but most important, the price is cheap.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabrizioVannarelli, Proprietario at Hotel Castle, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Shen,

thank you to share your experience.

We would like to enhance the fact that our shuttle service is free of charge.
The shuttle service is available during the morning and the evening.
However, we invite you to contact the hotel to know the timetable and to make sure that the shuttle service is in function during your say as it depends on the period .

Don't forget to check our official website where you will always find the best offers possible and also all the informations you need to organize your stay.

We hope to see you soon,

Best Regards,
Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    86
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
190
11
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloníki, Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Very beautiful, with excellent service, clean, close to train station to central, and to airports.
Service was wonderfull and prices was normal. Breakfast saloon with all kinds of food.
I'll come back soon !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyriakos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in February 2014. My wife and I went with our 10 year old son and 16 year old daughter. We stayed in a shared family room. The children slept in a fold out bunk bed, while we had a queen size, all in the same room, with an en suite bathroom. The hotel was spotless throughout. Fresh towels and bed linen were provided daily after cleaning. Toiletries were replenished daily. The breakfast was inclusive and was varied, with fruit juices, cakes, french toast, cereals, pastries, ham, cheese, bread with toasters, cheese and boiled eggs. Fresh coffee and tea was served by the staff as required. The hotel staff were wonderfully friendly and welcoming. We were provided with plenty of travel advice and a great tourist map of central Rome.

We hired a car from Auto Europe through Firefly for only Eu65 for the 6 days. The hotel had plenty of parking. Fabrizio, who I originally made the booking with, guided us in his own car to the nearby railway station. Parking there was on Eu1.50 for 12 hours, enabling us to spend a few long days in Rome and the Vatican. He also sold us the train tickets, which were only Eu1.50 each way, for a 20 minute ride into Rome Flaminio station. From here, attractions were easily reached on foot.

We travelled to Florence on a day trip (about 2.5 hours away) and Naples on another (also 2.5 hours). The location of the hotel, right on the GRA (ring road), enable easy access to the tolled autostradas (motorways), and on the last day, to the airport. Had we been nearer to central Rome, parking would have been extremely difficult and timely escapes in the morning and returns in the evening, long and tedious.

Only one hiccup: the en suite bathroom door lock just did not function,although we were firstly told that a carpenter would need to be called, and then we were offered a room change. We were grateful for the offer, but by the 3rd day, we had become used to notifying each other that the bathroom/toilet was going to be occupied, so we didn't bother taking up the offer.

Thank you to all the staff for a great stay in a magnificent city.

Ciao!

Raj

Room Tip: Although near a main road, the hotel is well insulated. Our family room was very spacious and good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MrMareblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Castle for six nights in October 2013.

Pros: Extremely clean. Big room, with an excellent (and huge!) bathroom. In fact, I think it was one of the best bathrooms I've ever had in a hotel (and I've travelled quite a lot). Since it isn't in the city centre, it was very quiet at night. Breakfast was very tasty with lots of choices. Also, prices are very reasonable and much, much cheaper than in the centre.

The best part, though, was the staff. They were kind, helpful and very nice. English is perfectly spoken and we were always welcomed with a smile.

Since the hotel is a bit far away from the train station, they kindly offer a free shuttle service on the weekends (that included picking you up from the station at night, even if you took the last train!). They were just starting it when we went, but we were told that, if everything went well, they will offer the service on weekdays too. I think it is a nice touch, especially if you're there without a vehicle.

For the weekdays there's a municipal bus that goes to and from the station, but we didn't use it because we had our own car. There's a very convenient, huge and cheap park-and-go at the station which we used every day.

The hotel has a wheelchair-friendly room and a great swimming pool that was closed because it was October (pity!). Wi-fi signal is completely free, really strong and literally everywhere.

Cons: I don't have anything negative to say regarding the hotel itself. We had a great time there and we would certainly repeat. However, I wouldn't recommend it for short stays in Rome, since it's too far away. We were OK with that because we had seven days and plenty of time to spare, but if you only have two or three days, that is different. I mean, you're in Rome: who wants to worry about missing the last train? Also, they only run every twenty minutes during the day and every forty in the evening, and the journey itself lasts twenty minutes more, so plan an hour, more or less, to get to the city centre from the hotel.

Overall: Planning a weekend in Rome? Search for something nearer. Have a bit more time and want a really good hotel with an excellent service? Just go there!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you're carrying heavy luggage, there aren't any lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Meritxell_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Castle Hotel. The staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The hotel shuttle to the station was available whenever we needed it and we did not find the travel into Rome burdensome. The only downside is that there are no restaurants in the hotel if you want to have dinner at the hotel and they don't provide coffee in the rooms. We highly recommend the hotel for anyone visiting Rome and looking for an affordable accommodation :-)

Room Tip: Investigate purchasing the weekly train ticket if you are staying for a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paulgareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabrizioVannarelli, Proprietario at Hotel Castle, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Paulgaret,

thank you to share your experience.

We would like to enhance the fact that our shuttle service is free of charge.
Also we invite our guests to contact the hotel to make sure that the shuttle service is in function during your stay.

Don't forget to check our official website where you will always find the best offers possible and also all the informations you need to organize your stay.

We hope to see you soon,

Best Regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed at the castle Hotel over NYE with my wife to be (as I proposed to her on NYE outside the colluseum) whom herself is Italian and myself English but it was easy for BOTH of us to say that whilst the hotel is small it is in fact HUGE in its customer care, attention to detail , Attention to the customer was second to non, we have stayed in Hotels all over the planet and we both agreed that this hotel is THE hotel to visit if value for money, quality of service and customer care is a priority.
The owner, Fabrizio and in fact all the team at the castle (including the cutest dog you ever met) could not have looked after us during our 5 day stay any better , friendly, helpful, respectful and above all else completely professional with a personal touch, even my wife to be said as Italian hotels go the Castle is unique in its attention to detail and customer care ...........
We will return in the spring to enjoy the awesome outdoor pool facilities.

A class act, thank you guys!!

Room Tip: dont bother hiring a car, this hotel will make sure you do not need one, they are soooooooo helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

It has all been said in previous reviews. Fabrizio was first class, during booking stage and at his charm and service at the hotel.
I hired a car and drove to the hotel, my sat nav was not too good and Rome driving a nightmare. After checking in, we did not use the car again until departure for Amalfi.
The hotel car took us to a restaurant that had been recommended on 1st night and to and from the station for trips into Rome.
It was spotlessly clean, the breakfast good, coffee amazing and the 3 main contacts: Fabrizio, his brother and the night manager made our stay very comfortable.
The drawback is the location from walking distance restaurants and the unfortunate vista over a dual-carriageway and grey suburbs. However I would return (without car) as this made a very reasonable value and first class base. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kim084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Poggioverde
#127 of 1,257 in Rome
308 reviews
Piccolo Borgo
#296 of 1,257 in Rome
813 reviews
Eurogarden
#483 of 1,257 in Rome
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#51 of 1,257 in Rome
3,016 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#241 of 1,257 in Rome
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle

Property: Hotel Castle
Address: Salita di Castel Giubileo 196 | Uscita Castel Giubileo del GRA, 00138 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Castle 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing