We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, clean and beautiful rooms”
Review of Hotel Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Castle
Ranked #139 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly, clean and beautiful rooms”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Although a bit out of the way, the friendly staff will drive you to the train station so you can go to the center. The breakfast is complimentary and very good and I believe you can have a cappuccino at any moment for free. I would definitely come her again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jdoghockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    87
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
192
11
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

In this hotel we felt that we are in our home surrounded by a nice family , they are really a great management , so kind and helpful , so i recommend all the people whom gonna visit Rome to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asef A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is well managed by Fabrizio and his family. Rooms in the new wing are tastefully decorated. Cleanliness is good.

If you are tourists to Rone like us, this hotel is too far out of Rome- getting back and forth is an exercise that pinches both your time and your wallet. However if you have a car this might be right up your alley.

My advice is to get a hotel with a good TA ranking in or near the Termini Station. It is ludicrous to stay here without a personal vehicle. Cheers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Csverma88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Castle might be a good choice if and ONLY if you have a car to get around Rome. The hotel is way on the outskirts of Rome and that is not an exaggeration!

The hotel is managed by a very hard working family that lives on the same property- and they work hard- very hard. The same guy that checks you in will also make you a cappuccino, serve you breakfast, take your luggage to your room, drive you to the train station in the morning..... you get the idea.

Rooms in the main building are average, Deluxe Rooms are compact but better. The cleanliness is first class. The hotel is designed like a motel for those of us from the US. As you approach- you feel like you're entering a motel 6 type property.

As a tourist who doesn't have a car visiting Rome- this hotel is the absolute wrong choice. Why on earth would you want to stay 45 minutes to an hour and a half - (counting train/bus headaches) from the center of Rome, when you could stay right in the city itself for a few Euros more and save yourself the headache of train and bus transfers and taxi expenses! Not to mention the mental anguish of getting back to the hotel at the end of a long day after The Vatican or The Roman Forum or at The Spanish Steps.

Do yourself a favour- take advice from someone who stayed here without a car at his disposal - someone who spent probably 150 Euro's on taxi transfers alone; book yourself a hotel near Rome Termini station or near The Spanish Steps. You will save so much on transportation costs and time that it will more than justify the few extra Euros you will shell out initially- it's a no brainer.

Don't be penny wise and pound foolish- you have been warned.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nfl49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I recently stayed for 4 nights at this hotel with a group of friends.
I truly cannot say anything bad about this hotel. The service provided by Fabrizio, his family and staff was exceptional. They are professional, courteous and friendly and nothing was too much trouble to ensure our stay was all that we wished for. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Everything was spotlessly clean and beds very comfortable. It is a little out of the centre but this is reflected in the price. Fabrizio provided us with free lifts to the train and maps etc, otherwise he can provide transport into Rome or the airport at a very reasonable price.
Should I return to Rome I would most definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just home in England after spending 4 brilliant nights in this Hotel . Fabrizio and his Family are so friendly and helpful , nothing is too much trouble .The Hotel and Rooms are spotlessly clean.
A great Hotel giving excellent service to its guests. Well done and thank you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well soundproofed ,I slep very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Cannot praise the owners enough for their service and hospitality
The hotel was very clean and the breakfast very good
I would definately return to Hotel Castle if I am ever in Rome again
Great value too !
Thank you Fabrizio and family

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzieDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Poggioverde
#124 of 1,259 in Rome
322 reviews
Eurogarden
#489 of 1,259 in Rome
233 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#49 of 1,259 in Rome
3,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#244 of 1,259 in Rome
653 reviews
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
#309 of 1,259 in Rome
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle

Property: Hotel Castle
Address: Salita di Castel Giubileo 196 | Uscita Castel Giubileo del GRA, 00138 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Castle 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing