We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“magical dinner”

il giardino di albino
Reserve with
il giardino di albino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #275 of 12,135 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Colonna
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“magical dinner”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Absolutely the best place where you can enjoy excellent food in a very relaxing, friendly and professional atmosphere. The menu is filled with a wide range of dishes, however we have let the owner, Luca, to decide for us and he has taken us to a magical journey through taste, aromas and flavours. His passion, his knowledge and his care for the diners experience makes if this restaurant a unique gem in the heart of Rome where you can really appreciated true food. Every dish is cooked with simple ingredients, carefully selected and mixed by his chefs and himself as well, and every single time it's a delicious surprise. The cuisine is strongly influenced by Luca's Sardinia origins, which makes the restaurant. You will not find an other place like this anywhere else in Rome. We had a great experience, everything was perfect, a must place to go from now

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ferri_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    226
    71
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal in this restaurant”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The staff were very helpful and friendly in this pleasantly decorated restaurant. There was a wide choice of dishes on the menu. The antipasta was excellent and almost a meal on its own, and our main course of veal was well cooked and presented. The traditional Italian desserts were very nice. We enjoyed our meal very much and thought that it was good value for a city centre restaurant

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rhalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in Roma”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I lived for 6 years in Rome and had the fortune of dining at Il Giardino di Albino MANY times. Now, each time I go back, I make a point of dining one night here.

I highly recommend the antipasti. When you order the house appetizers, the waiters start bringing various plates to your table. Most are either Sardinian or Roman specialties, including various sausages and cheeses, fried and roasted vegetables (including roasted peppers, which are excellent), and sometimes even meatballs. The first time I ate here, I made the mistake of not leaving very much room for dinner, so be sure to pace yourself.

Il Giardino di Albino has delivered consistently with quality all of its the food, but I think my favorite thing to get here is fish. Whether it's pesce al forno (roasted - I like sea bass the best), or pasta alle vongole or another seafood pasta, everything is always delicious.

For dessert, I highly recommend the tiramisu, but I have also enjoyed the 'Italian style cheesecake," which I found nothing like American style cheesecake. It was fluffy and light.

The staff is professional and friendly. Luca, the owner, is great with wine recommendations too.

I recommend eating later in the evening - if you go early, you will probably find the tourist crowd there. Given its location, this is expected. However, if you go to dinner after 8, you will find Italians - a sign that this is the real deal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelinaRomaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great dinner”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We strolled into this place on our way back from Spanish Steps. It was excellent. Service was professional but freindly and casual at the same time. Food was correctly paced (we have found the tourist places just want to get you out as soon as they grab you in off the street). The Sea Bass I had just melted in your mouth, we also had the the two types of veal scaloppine and a carbonara and all were excellent. We felt in a very Italian restaurant but felt not embarrassed to speak in English. Not sure if this is right spelling but buanisimo!!

Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Save yourself. Skip this one.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I went to this restaurant on New Year's Eve 2012 with 4 members of my family. Most of the restaurants we checked out said that they were only offering a prix fixe menu on New Year's Eve. That seemed ok to us. I should have left when I heard those corny songs Americans are used to associating with Italy. There was some choice for us, but the food was ordinary at best, and bad as well. My pasta with bacon and mushrooms was a C-: mushrooms were not fresh, bacon undercooked. The ravioli portions small. The lamb shank looked boiled and very unappetizing. The salad could have come from a bag back in the US. No gelato for dessert: only ice cream. I would not return to this restaurant. I wish we had done what had proven successful for us on this trip: check out a Rick Steves place or pick a place and try it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marshalldonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to il giardino di albino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing