We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy campers”
Review of PapavistaRelais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
PapavistaRelais
Ranked #146 of 3,621 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Happy campers”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My sister and I stayed 3 nights recently. Bedroom & bathroom decent size and were spotless. Fresh towels provided daily. The greatest asset Papavista has is its staff. From the lady who served breakfast to David and colleagues at reception, all provided an excellent service. They were genuinely interested in making our stay in Rome a pleasant one - providing directions making suggestions on where to eat and visit to arranging taxis. I would definitely stay there again if I return to Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    81
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
75
252
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Booked this at the beginning of 2013 to see Vatican City with my mother for her birthday. Coincidentally a new Pope was selected as we stood in St. Peter's Square. The perfection of the holiday could have been let down by a number of factors but PapaVista Relais simply enhanced it and made it unforgettable. The staff's attitude and helpfulness was second to none. And we did pick their brains about Rome and our activities a lot.
The location was perfect for Vatican City with the entrance to the Vatican Museums visible from our rooms and less than 50 yards from the hotel.
Explore the very local area and you will find facilities and places to eat great food to suit all tastes and wallets.
The rooms are fabulous and well equipped including WIFI that is simple and is actually really fast. There are several niggles that you would find in other hotels that are eliminated at PapaVista.
At the next given opportunity, I will be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReverendAnton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We would rate this for its' excellent staff who did everything they could to help us out during our stay. Being temporarily on crutches and with a wheelchair during my visit could have been tricky to say the least but the staff were most attentive and could not do enough to help and make the weekend go smoothly.
They organised all sorts of things for us, phoning and printing out information which was particularly helpful with a negotiation that was necessary due to my wheelchair situation. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt genuinely welcomed.
Breakfast was good even though the eating area is small.
An excellent position from which to visit the sights.
We have been to Rome 3 times and not found as good a place to stay. We shall definitely return!

Room Tip: We saw into 3 of the rooms and they all looked equally good. Our's was especially nice as it ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 270650zola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My partner and I traveled from the US in mid February to visit a friend in Rome. We had a great time. We arrived on Saturday and stayed till next Saturday.

Papavista was centrally located and was easy to get around via subway and bus. There were a lot of sites to see right around the immediate area, including the Vatican. You can easily walk to everything in Rome, and from Papavista.

We felt the area was safe and Papavista was safe. There's a combination lock to get into the building from the street, and then another combination lock to get into Papavista after-hours.

David and Pamela, who help run Papavista, were very nice and helpful. They pointed us in the right direction to find restaurants and sites. And it was geared more towards local joints, so it wasn't as touristy. They were super helpful in terms of setting up a cab for leaving Rome, booking tickets to Florence, giving us directions to museums and restaurants, and booking tickets to museums in the area. They also spoke great English so it was easy to communicate.

Unlike other parts of Rome or other tourist locations, we never felt we were being taken advantage of or felt uncomfortable. I would definitely recommend coming to Papavista again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great hotel, huge rooms, great bathroom and friendly staff.

Eating area for breakfast is very small and breakfast is average, but considering the size of the place its fine.
Position makes up for everything.
It has a lift but there are about 5 steps to maneuver before you get to the lift.
The staff are extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our stay at Papavista was totally amazing - from the first minute to the last! I will recommend Papavista to all my friends!
The location couldn't been better! We are going to stay here in the summer again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed with my parents here in the summer of 2010, [TripAdvisor doesn't have an option for that :) ] and while my review is incredibly late, it is easy to see from current reviews that the Papa Vista Relais is as wonderful as it was 2+ years ago. My favourite part of the Hotel was the feeling of "living as a local" in a very un-assming building on a corner across from the Vatican steps. We arrived at Termini train station* and found our shuttle van (for an extra fee arranged by the Hotel) right away and appreciated getting dropped off at the door. Located near a subway stop (a good five minute walk) a grocery store (just around the corner) and of course the Vatican, we enjoyed staying in this part of the city. Another great aspect for us was having "adjoining rooms". The two rooms at the back of the Hotel are separated by a small hallway with a sliding door, so guests who are strangers would naturally keep their doors closed. The rooms were spacious, clean, and the electronic safe was fantastic. The bathroom was also clean, breakfast delicious and the staff simply wonderful. There are several flights of stairs to navigate, however there is a lift which is great. It is also reassuring to have a passcode for entry into the building. *I don't think the shuttle ordinarily comes to the train station (just the airport) in this case we had this feature because there was a transit strike on at the time and things were a little crazy :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessQS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#229 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Alba sul Vaticano
#236 of 3,621 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Impero Vaticano B&B
#158 of 3,621 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
B&B Vatican Point Break
#84 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PapavistaRelais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PapavistaRelais

Property: PapavistaRelais
Address: Via Tunisi 3, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 3,621 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PapavistaRelais 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The PapavistaRelais is an elegant guest house recently opened, and able to accommodate any kind of customer. From pilgrims visiting the Vatican City, to tourists interested in the monuments of the historic center of Rome. Six unique rooms, decorated with taste and attention to detail with an excellent position: quality, convenience and comfort guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your PapavistaRelais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papavistarelais Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing