We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel :-)”
Review of Seven Kings Relais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seven Kings Relais
Ranked #536 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just arrived back from 3 nights staying in Rome at the Seven Kings Relais. We checked the reviews before we arrived which were a great help in trying to locate the actual hotel itself. It is only a 10-15minute walk from Termini Station at the top of Via Septembre (look for the two XX's on the map at the top of this street and that is literally where the hotel was located). As you approach you will see the two big brown doors with a sign to the right hand side that says seven kings Relais where you can ring the buzzer to gain entry. The hotel is on the 1st floor.

Our room was 103 which was a little noisy with it being so close to reception but we were so tired from all the walking we didnt really notice it. The room however was very very small so if you are used to space make sure you ask for a large double room. We only paid for a small but it didnt bother us as we werent in the hotel much anyway. Apart from this bathroom, furniture etc was really clean and modern and the shower was brilliant. The hotel staff were so friendly and would do anything for you including tea and coffee with biscuits whenever you wanted.

They also provide a map and talk you through all the local tourist sites and how to get there which we found really helpful.

Rome itself is beautiful but it is very expensive. Breakfast was included with the room at the cafe round the corner which was a tea or coffee and Croissant but for lunch unless you grab a sandwich or lsice of pizza even the cheaper meals that were on 'offer' were coming to 20-30 euros with one drink each for two. Evening meal was generally about 50-60 euros which was a pasta dish each, maybe a side dish a beer and half a caraffe of wine. Please note you always get charged for bread and water and a service charge is also added on so budget for this.

We tried to eat out in the back streets away from main tourist areas but to be honest didn not find it much different in price just make sure you check the menus beforehand. I can't recommend anywhere to eat as they are all pretty much the same i think and there is no shortage of places as theres somewhere up every alley/side street and we didn't have a bad meal.

If you fancy a drink a glass of wine was generally 6-7 euros and beers anything from 6-12 euros depending on the size you order. 12 euros was for the 1 litre beer. Ice creams were all around 4 euros for a cup with two flavours which is so yummy you will go back for more so it's worth it.

Would definately recommend an afternoon in Travestre as it seemed quite a lot cheaper there and has some lovely little places to have a drink or bite to eat.

Another tip if you want to see Saint Peters Basilica and also the Vatican museums such as the Sistine Chapel go to the Museums first as when you come out it takes you straight into the Basilica so it saves you having to queue. We didn't realise this and queued for an hour to get in only for it to bring us out in the same place later on.

Overall i would definately recommend Rome and the Seven Kings Relais as a perfect base to explore Rome,

Room Tip: Ask for a room on anything but the first floor and large room if you don't want something tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loren_102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 283 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on our first trip to Rome. Having booked the hotel as part of a package we contacted the hotel by email to arrange a taxi from the airport. This proved to be a good move as the hotel is not that easy to find. You enter it from big wooden doors and need to use the buzzer to get through these. The taxi driver was fully aware of this so no problem. On arrival the hotel owner gave us a coffee, biscuits and then gave us a map and suggested where to visit, where to eat and where to shop - she was a star. The room itself was clean and functional and it had wifi and satellite tv. It was 20 minutes walk from the Trevi Fountain. For breakfast you are given a voucher to use in the cafe which is 30 seconds walk away - Coffee and a Croissant (choose the apple one if available). There are several restaurants round the back of the hotel and we used one on the first night. The food was very tasty and excellent value at 65 Euros for bread, mains, desserts, water and a bottle of Prosecco. Please see my review for Crispi 19 which is where we ate on our second night. That was far more expensive at 170 Euros but worth every penny. All in all this hotel was just what we needed. A decent base and friendly, informative staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I took my daughter to Rome or her 30th and we stayed at The Seven Kings Relais for 3 nights May 19th 2013.We walked through a great wooden door into a quiet courtyard before going up to the hotel. We were made very welcome and lots of information about places to visit and restaurants to try, was given and we appreciated the fresh coffee bought to our room. Clean well decorated bedroom with air conditioning and great modern en suite , plenty of hot water and good pressure in the shower. Good location within walking distance of The Termini station , Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. We also found an excellent artisan ice cream parlour just off Via Flavia called Caruso, behind the hotel. Breakfast voucher for coffee and croissants at the local bar on the corner was a good way to start your day . Hope to visit again in the near future

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I took my mum (75) to Rome for her birthday and wanted somewhere near the sights. The first day we walked from the hotel ten mins to the Spanish steps and from there to the Trevi fountain and Panthenon then we were lucky enough to see the Pope on his popemobile at the Vatican. The hotel itself is small, clean and perfect for a short stay. The only complaint is because the floor is tiled you can hear everything going on at reception so take some ear plugs!!

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the courtyward
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at Seven Kings Relais, for one night, on May 11, 2013. We had a triple room, which was very small and stuffy, with a window that had opaque glass and would not open (we wondered what was so ghastly outside that the hotel owners would not allow their guests to see...). The bathroom was small, but OK: clean and new. The beds were reasonably comfortable. It was hard to find this property: there was no sign outside (you would absolutely need to know the exact address and then look for "Seven Kings Relais" on the buzzer). Wireless internet was available in the room, but it was very slow and intermittent. On balance, we did not like anything about this property and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eurosailornewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed three nights in the Seven Kings Relais. The hotel is located on the Via Septembre XX, just down the street from Santa Maria della Vittoria and Santa Susanna, and about 15 minutes from the Termini Station. Although not in the Centro Storico per se, it is still within the Aurelian Walls and numerous buses take you to the center of the city in a few minutes. By foot, it's about 15 minutes to the Quirnale, San Carlino, and the Trevi Fountain.

We booked on line and our room was very large, and had a huge, comfortable bed. The bathroom was also very nice. We had no problems with noise, as our rooms were not near the reception or looking out on one of the main thoroughfares.

We did not have breakfast there. The Italians are excellent cooks, but they do not know how to do a sensible breakfast. It's nothing but sugary pastries that cannot sustain you during a strenuous day of sightseeing. Better to go to a bar around the corner and eat a couple of tramezzini.

My only complaint was that the room was rather cold. It was March, and of course, Roman apartments are not really suited to cold weather. The heating unit in the room provided some heat but the tiled floor was still very chilly.

All in all, however, a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room away from the reception and one that doesn't look on to a busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibrahimdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just a thank you to Monica and the rest of the staff at Rome 7 Kings. The rooms are really modern and have big windows and lots of space. The beds are great and the bathroom in seriously cool - big showers and loads of clean towels. The breakfast is delicious with the best croissants I have ever tasted.

Thanks for making our Roman Honeymoon perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willemien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#262 of 1,271 in Rome
966 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Best Roma
Hotel Best Roma
#811 of 1,271 in Rome
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elite Hotel
#363 of 1,271 in Rome
152 reviews
Trieste
Hotel Panama Garden
Hotel Panama Garden
#146 of 1,271 in Rome
520 reviews
Hotel Artis
#468 of 1,271 in Rome
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Kings Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Kings Relais

Address: Via Venti Settembre 58A, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #536 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $63 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seven Kings Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Seven Kings Relais! Located in the heart of Rome, between Porta Pia and Via Veneto, not far by foot from central Termini Station, Spanish Steps, Villa Borghese and from the main tourist sites. Common areas, the reception and all our rooms recently renovated (2008). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Seven Kings Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Kings Relais
Seven Kings Relais Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing