We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in the heart of Rome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Group Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais Group Palace Hotel
Ranked #1,102 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

A lovely little hotel, in a fantastic position.
You are near to all the sights and is a great place to find excellent places to eat in the evening.
Rooms are a good size and spotlessly clean, although there is no shower and the bath water could have been hottter after a long day walking around this wonderful city.
There is a small coffee bar next door which is part of the hotel which had good friendly staff and great coffee!
Breakfast was served in the room and had something for most.
Staff were helpful and friendly and made us feel wlecome.
Overall I would say it is an excellent hotel for a short stay and brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonenglandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    12
    8
    13
See reviews for
17
32
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Good location in central Rome, walking distance to Pantheon, Colloseum etc. Decent room and bathroom size but bizarrely no shower curtain which made for wet floor.
Poor breakfast, staff would only serve in bedroom, we would much have preferred a dining room self service. Most terrible scrambled and fried eggs I have had misfortune to encounter - don't think I would serve them to a dog.
Reception staff try to be helpful but English not always spoken well.
Cleanliness generally ok but found previous occupant(s) hairs on the outer bed sheet and found old receipts behind behind cupboard.
Quite expensive for what I would say was 3* hotel but was central Rome I suppose.
Street noise woke us a few times at night.
Great terrapins in water tank in reception!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank HOWELL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights early May.
Location is excellent for easy walking to the Vatican (10 mins), Piazza Navona (5), Pantheon (10) and much more.
Reception stay very friendly and helpful although not everyone was comfortable with English (But I'm not good in Italian either).
Very had a large room (#6) on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel. Room was comfortable but we did not have one good nights sleep due to traffic up and down the road all night, music blasting from someone's car and work men digging holes right outside.
Not the fault of the hotel but none the less, not pleasant.
Breakfast was a bit "messy" - plenty of it: Coffee, tea, cereal, bread, meats, jam, juice, yogurt, cakes but it was served in the room which didn't really have the facilities to sit and eat in comfort.

Room Tip: Describe what you want and see if they accommodate like they did us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUKJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg,Canda
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Located about 3 minutes walk to the Vatican, 5 minutes from Campo Fiori and 7 from Piazza Navona, 10toTrevi: not far from anything in old Rome. The lobby is small but adequate, breakfast is delivered to the room (on time!). Rooms are very good size, spacious washroom, fridge and hot plate. A pretty good bang for the buck

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HBL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Small cozy hotel, all well appointed juniorsuites and marble bathrooms in a very nice neighbourhood (5' from the Campo de fiori). Big continental breakfast served in the room. Multilingual and friendly staff.Very clean too. Bathrobes and slippers in the room. Ideal for couples. Only downside was the insufficiant water pressure and the absence of a shower curtain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HermanandMarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had great service at any hour , the room was very cozy and they allways clean it well :) they have a mini elevator so it helps a lot when you carry the luggage. breakfast is very big !! not the best quality but they are very punctual with serving it , if you wanted at 10 o'clock you get it at 10 o'Clock at the door, they never been late :) and we got a sparkling wine bottle as a welcome drink :) nice ! and is a perfect for visiting Rome, all atractions are at walking distance , especialy Vatican - and you have transportation near by :) and is silent area because is in the back street of the main one :) We Recommend it ! The Mascots of the hotel were 3 Little Turtles in a aquarium . cute :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlinutaMicuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We visited this hotel in Feb 2013 for a three night stay. The hotel (B&B really) is perfectly placed for the Pantheon, Vatican and Trevi Fountain all within walking distance.

Staff all seemed friendly and helpful, and rooms were clean. We had a family room for myself, my husband and my daughter and a double room for my son and his partner. The rooms are quite dark and a bit quirky.

On the first night the toilet wouldn't flush but was mended while we were sightseeing the next day. The handle fell off the draws, the handle came of the kettle lid and when i tried to open the wooden shutters on the windows the handle came off in my hand. As I said there was a kettle but this had to be warmed up on a hot plate in the cupboard which took ages, but we hadn't been provided with any tea/coffee/ milk or even any cups so pointless really.

Breakfast on the first morning consisted of coffee( so strong you couldn't drink it) tea, hot milk, cereals, yoghurts, croissants, pastries, bread rolls, ham, cheese and scrambled eggs. On the second morning we didn't get the pastries/eggs or ham & cheese. it seemed that you got what they had in the kitchen at the time.

The bathroom was big, if you wanted a shower you had to stand in the bath with no curtain and hose yourself down with the a shower head, if you wanted a bath it was quicker to fill the bath with the shower head as the tap didn't work.

This hotel worked great for a base for us to sightsee as we spent all day out, but i wouldn't have been surprised to see Basil Fawlty on reception

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Rinascimento
Hotel Rinascimento
#620 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
#166 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dom Hotel Roma
Dom Hotel Roma
#326 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Palazzo Taverna
Relais Palazzo Taverna
#435 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Group Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Group Palace Hotel

Property: Relais Group Palace Hotel
Address: Via Dei Banchi Vecchi 115, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#357 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Group Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Relais Group Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Group Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing