We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Roman Without a big price tag”

Osteria dell'Angelo
Ranked #722 of 12,357 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Traditional Roman Without a big price tag”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We (4 adults) had a great meal at Osteria Dell'angelo. We pre-booked via the internet. This was unnecessary on the night we went as when we arrived there was only a few diners. The evening meals in Rome for those who don't know what to expect have two substantial courses.

We started with Pasta and I love carbonara which was very nice - a little al denti for my liking but that is the roman way.

Main course are meat dishes. I enjoyed a veal dish and others in my party had rolled beef. All very tasty. I have read other comments about salt and the chefs are prone to over season a little, so be careful if you are an auto salt adder!

Deserts are not on the menu - for one reason they don't have a menu - the waiter tells you as best he can what is available each night. The second reason is they don't do deserts - desert red wine with biscuits is the traditional end to your meal.

We were also a little over dressed as there is no need for anything but casual. Remember to take cash as they do not accept card payment.

I believe this is one of the Roman experiences to be enjoyed - eating where the locals eat - good value, hearty fare.

Yes, you should dine outdoors on the pavement and soak in the atmosphere in the various squares but this is where the real Romans eat.

Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rossiross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    426
    118
    46
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Forget the initially scary looking waiter!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were the first to arrive at this restaurant at 7.30 and were wondering where everyone was! We were shown to our table by a dude who would have to qualify as one of the scariest I have ever seen (and i used to play rugby). Picture a cross between a 55bc roman foot soldier and rugby prop-forward and you are getting close.

It became apparent that this was not an average tourist restaurant very quickly (and what a welcome relief from what can be a pizza-pasta-pizza-pasta double act in many eateries in touristy areas) - set menu, set price - all non standard and rustic in style. These guys do speak a little English but, rightly, initially stick to the local lingo which was fine by us as we know a bit of Italian.

The food was of a hearty nature, fine dining this is not - this is roman comfort food central. If you are from cooler climes avoid this place in very hot weather - you will struggle. Conversely this is good cool weather food. The meal kicked-off with standard jamon and bread action, with a little pasta thrown in after that - both were ok but nothing to write home about. We loved the rabbit and the oxtail - both good stuff. Desert was biscuit and desert wine - both reasonable.

All in a good 25 euro but would not be for everyone - many people would be thrown off-balance by the appearance of the staff, however if you make an effort they ended up being nice enough.

By the time we left at 10.30 the place must have had 120 covers - mostly local so it must be doing something right.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lousy service, mediocre food, cash only”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Thought we would try an alfresco dinner and should have left when the waiter started with our order. He was rude and not very pleasant. They only have a fixed price dinner (25 Euro each) with minimal options. Nothing special about the meal and the desert was cookies. When it came time to pay for the meal, we found it was CASH ONLY! Never mentioned before hand! Didn't have enough Euro's to pay and had to walk down three blocks to an ATM. I have to agree with the review from Marco v: Stay away from this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyrad58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great meal for 25€ plus drinks - nice service”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We had oxtail and rabbit as secundo. Both was very nicely made. For 25€ value for money was excellent. The waiters seemed to be all former rugby players and had an excellent sense of humor. If they would dim the light a bit to make it a bit more cosy I'd appreciate. The massive steak they served on the table next to us looked awesome as well. Overall we paid 130€ for 4 people all in (wine, water, grappa). Will go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful Food with Obnoxious Really Rude Unfriendly waiters”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is the worst restaurant in Rome. Do not believe any of the positive reviews about this restaurant. I am Italian and I wouldnt allow my worst enemy to eat here ! The food is real garbage and the servers are the worst in all of Rome. They are like intimidating thugs who hate tourists. Stay away from this establishment, its very BAD FOOD

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Marco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria dell'Angelo also viewed

 

Been to Osteria dell'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing