We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know it's good when you're the only tourist in the restaurant!”
Review of Sapori Sardi

Sapori Sardi
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Sapori Sardi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #943 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You know it's good when you're the only tourist in the restaurant!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband and I both had lunch here then dinner a couple of nights later. Both times we were the only tourists and the waiters were incredibly kind and patient with us and it felt like we had just walked into a family restaurant. Although we were the only tourists there was always a LOT of locals. We tried 3 different pastas and they were all incredibly fresh and tasty, our favourite was the seafood pasta. The fourth dish we got from here was a steak which wasn't as high quality as the rest of the meals we had, then again we are in Italy so stick to the more traditional italian dishes as they were all superb. When we had dinner here we bought a bottle of wine thinking I would be fine to finish between my husband and I, however, my husband had been getting over a sickness and towards the end of the meal we had to leave very quickly as the sickness decided to make a strong come back. As I was paying for the meal I told them they could give the other half of the bottle of wine to another table and explained my husband wasn't well hence the sudden rush to leave, then the waiter disappeared and after a few seconds later reappeared with a stopper for the wine bottle and insisted we took it with us to our hotel.

Overall incredibly kind, welcoming service and great authentic food!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Serena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    121
    37
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Welcome to Rome”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Having just arrived in Rome, this was where we had our first lunch. And just like that we felt at home. Very welcoming hosts, Very good food and wine. What more can you ask for. We came back in the evening - and it was like being recieved by family:)
Mille Grazie!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank engholm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambour, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home style true Italian perfection”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Staying at the Hotel Principessa Isabella, they recommended this restaurant and we are glad they did. Busy, but friendly, it served some of the best meals we’ve had on our tour of Italy and France. It was like we were in the “family” when we ate there and the (I presume) owner had a wonderful sense of humour and chatted freely with his guests. Absolutely LOVED this place. Food was better than good…just perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experience in Rome”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went to Sapori Sardi because of the seafood items on the menu. Without getting into details, the food was great. We usually order the specials at restaurants and were glad we did at Sapori Sardi. The seafood specials were tremendous. For what it's worth, we thought the cost for food and a bottle of wine were very reasonable considering other Rome restaurants. But..... Besides the food, the experience with the staff and the owner left us with a heart warming feeling of being cared for by people who sincerely are concerned about you. My advice is to try Sapori Sardi for the food and don't be surprised if you leave with a warm handshake with the owner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gasa1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great value, quiet eatery”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Tired of the tourist traps and bad value, we strolled over here and ate on spec. We didn't know it was on Tripadvisor, but I'm not surpised to see it relatively high on the list. Apart from the family who were eating when we arrived, the only other guest were tourists, but nevertheless we thought this place was good value. The decor is rather old fashioned but unpretentious, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. For instance you don't always get tap water if you ask, but we did here and the house wine was very drinkable. The food was pretty good too, if not spectacular. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vivoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapori Sardi also viewed

 

Been to Sapori Sardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing