We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Pleasant Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lowenhaus

Lowenhaus
Ranked #1,674 of 12,134 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, German, Bar, Pizza, European, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An Pleasant Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

After walking about the Spanish Steps and the adjoining square, we came across the Lowenhaus. We sat outside and were pleasantly surprised. The lunch platter and beer were the perfect respit. People watching enhanced our break. The platter had a nice variety of meats and cheeses and the beer was excellent. This was a very pleasant find and I would recommend the Lowenhaus to our friends and family.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    149
    44
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Shambolic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

The waiting staff seemed nice enough but our food took over 30 minutes to arrive, after a 15 minute wait for our order to be taken. My (vegetarian) wife's vegetable soup had small pieces of meat in it. The restaurant seems not to use table numbers (at least that seems to be the only explanation for why the waiting staff repeatedly brought the wrong food to the wrong tables and often wandered up and down looking for someone to claim the dishes they were carrying). The street the restaurant is in was abnormally busy because of a concert in nearby Piazza del Popolo so that was a bit off putting. On the plus side, the beer was very tasty and the food that did arrive was edible. In a city filled with good places to eat, it's only worth stopping here for a beer and some nibbles - go elsewhere to enjoy a full meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeppeDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Called here just for a drink as it was so hot. Not a problem. The drinks were very reasonably priced for Rome and along with the drinks came a few nibbles. The staff genuinely seemed as though customer satisfaction was important to them.

Helpful?
Thank gazthelob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great prices for drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stopped by this place at 18:00 for a quick drink. We were pleasantly surprised at the drinks menu. A martini for $6.00 and wine for $4.50. It included a few little cheese snacks and chips. Staff were friendly and welcoming. We sat on the street out front which is a little loud but enjoyed the world walking by.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tnfonseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent two happy afternoons sat outside in the sun. The first time we had two excellent pizzas, withe thinnest crust imaginable. The 2nd trip, I had veal shanks and my wife had goulash. Both were excellent washed down with Paulaner blond beer and a Weiss beer. It's a must go

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowenhaus also viewed

 

Been to Lowenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing