We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended family friendly ristorante”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fagianetto

Fagianetto
Ranked #2,257 of 12,165 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Highly recommended family friendly ristorante”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We left our hotel looking for a meal on our first night in Rome. We did three things, the travel agent told us not to do---have a group larger than six, have no reservation and try for a table during the busy part of the evening. Our group of 14 (yes, we looked like refugees) were turned away politely at one café but decide to try the nearby Fagianetto based on good Trip Advisor reviews. We were met at the door by a friendly waiter—a good sign. I looked in the café and saw that it could seat about 50 patrons at least. We were escorted to two tables that seated all of us. And then, Mario greeted us like long lost hungry relatives. Between our limited Italian and his English, we had a great dinner. He entertained us with his stories of his New York background and his love of his family of nine boys. His wife spoke no English but I saw her wince when Mario announced that he wanted to try for a daughter! Most of us tried the evening special of cannoli and raviolis and smooth vino rosso. The price was less than the lunch we would have the next day at the Vatican gift shop and café behind St Peters. (It’s all about location.) There were also many locals eating there including one boys soccer team…another good sign.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BnThrDnThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    103
    34
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“The best dining experience on our European Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant gave us the best dining experience of our honeymoon! We had previously been to London, Paris, Amsterdam, Munich, Barcelona and Valencia and nothing compared to it!!! The first night we dined here we had problems with our credit card and Mario had no problem with us coming back the next day to fix up the bill. After trying a few other places during our stay we decided to eat here on our last night in Rome - and thank goodness we did! Our 3 course meal for 2 (+ bottle of wine for 34€ ) was OUTSTANDING (keep in mind the complimentary bruschetta, champagne and limoncello to end the night) Our waiter on both nights was Vincenzo. We have never experienced a waiter like him before - absolutely charming, funny and an excellent waiter! He definitely made our nights entertaining - even asking one of the famous locals to serenade us by singing a popular Napolese opera song!! We STRONGLY recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Rome!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Essence of Italian Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

This restaurant was referred to us by our hotel front desk (he said he eats dinner here after work) and I must admit that it was one of the best things the hoted did for us. We walked in and there was the front desk guy eating, so at least he wasn't lying to us.

Now to the restaurant. The food was great and the waiter was patient with us and the language barrier since we wanted a few additions to the meals. Somehow we were able to understand how he moved to Italy from India and a few of his other personal statements. For being in such a central location around a lot of hotels, the price surprised truly me - it wasn't inflated for tourists.

As we waited for our food, we truly enjoyed watching a group of elderly men cheering their football teams over a few beers and a few other people chiming in from their own tables. This made the place feel homey. At moment later another waiter stops at our table to see how we are doing. This waiter just happened to be the owner, Mario. When we tell Mario we're from NYC, he goes on and tells us his story about growing up in NJ and taking the opportunity to open the restaurant in Rome.

At the end of our meal, we were full. However, Mario did want us to pass up tradition, so he treated us to a local after dinner drink. Too bad I can't remember what it was because it was pleasant.

We left the place feeling like family, which I feel is the true essence of Italian dining.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nsmooth56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Opposite the Ariston Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Great family restaurant. Very good food and friendly service. Will return again!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnbGrimsby_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

The Food was very delicious, and not expensive. Also the restaurant staff was very warm, welcoming and friendly!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shraddha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fagianetto also viewed

 

Been to Fagianetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing