We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of time, just check out the basement and split”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Da Pancrazio

Da Pancrazio
Ranked #1,763 of 12,134 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Waste of time, just check out the basement and split”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We just had to visit Da Pancrazio as it is sited within the structure of the Theater of Pompey. It's been on my to-do list for five years or more. When we showed up (and it's not all that easy to find, even with cell-phone mapping) we had hoped to be seated in the cellar dining area built into the remains of Pompey's great theater but whatever crowds this set of large dining rooms was intended to hold, the cellar was filled with empty tables for which no happy diners existed.

Our waiter told us we could go down and inspect this relic of Caesar's great adversary, the man who brought the Romans into Middle Eastern politics, cleared the seas of pirates and, eventually, built the massive theater that bears his name, the first permanent theater in Rome. In all fairness, the vaulting, some bearing traces of fresco decoration, was of great interest if you like to explore Roman-era brick-piles as we do. But Pompey Magnus bit the dust 2,000 years ago and we were there to eat so we ventured to sit down and make an attempt to dine.

It would be folly to call this "dining" and whatever panache the place once may have had it is now strictly a tourist joint. Every party in the modest upstairs dining room was comprised of Americans, and what Americans! It is no fault of the management that some loudmouth raconteur assailed our ears throughout, and it may have somewhat diminished our appreciation of the food we received, but in fact even discounting for the Burdick and Lederer ambiance, this place is tired out, lacks basic restaurant skills and should be avoided.

What could be slower than the pace of our mediocre repast? And to wait and wait for what? Perhaps the worst Cacio e Pepe (pasta with peccorino and ground pepper, a basic Roman dish) I have ever eaten, heck our first home-brew efforts at working up this dish were better. A plate with fried zucchini flowers, cheese and anchovies came off better but, well they were too oily: We've had better, plenty. What took 25 minutes to produce this soggy pasta and oily fried food, I cannot essay a guess.

We then waited again, for what seemed like an eternity, until our fish (a special of the day!) finally arrived. Perhaps they had to send out for it? A sea bass filet soaked in melted butter served "almandine" style. Fine, not spoiled or anything but entirely pedestrian and involving the inexplicable delay. We couldn't wait to pay and go.

So as I said at the time, "Take a good look around, you won't be eating here again." Do yourself a favor and skip this one.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    121
    41
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Really nice location with tasty pasta dishes and octopus with pesto! The owner and the staff really friendly with us and our 17 month boy!
Thank you!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kostas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Romantic New Year eve in Roma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

The restaurant itself is located on the secluded place where the former Pompey theater resided. The atmosphere was simply atonishing, you are dining in over 2,000 year old cellar with arch ceilings and some authentic columns. This alone is worth to come by.
We enjoyed one of the most romantic New Year's eves we even had in our lives, complimented with very good service, wonderful wines and great food. If I would compare food overall in Rome to this location, I would probaly rate it as #1. This is considering that nowadays to find decent food in Rome is nearly impossible, since city turned in to some sort of Italian Disneyland within last decade.
My wife's Italian definitely helped to get undivided attention of waiter, but I should say we would've been OK without that too.
Located nearby Fiori plaza this reastaurant is well worth visit, highly recommended

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KotMatvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I saw this lovely looking restaurant and liked the sound of its history. We were however very disappointed when we booked a table. It could be fantastic. The food was ok but it was 3/4 empty. The staff were attentive but the place had no atmosphere at all which was a shame.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mandydk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food, but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The food was good and priced right. However, I wouldn't rate it as a top restaurant in Rome. If you are staying at or near the Campo di Fiori, it is a good choice for a moderately priced restaurant that you can walk and get a table without a reservation. But it's not worth making a special trip here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cookiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Da Pancrazio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing