We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the $$$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Ranked #82 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Yes the hotel is beautiful but the rooms are less than expected for the price!
The rooms are just average at best and they told us they had upgraded us to a deluxe executive suite when we checked in. If that was an upgrade, what are the other rooms like.
Very, very average.
We have paid less for better rooms in this area.
It was just a bed, a desk and a chair.
Yes, a super nice bathroom with separate enclosed shower which was great.
I think it was considered executive deluxe because of the shower and end of a long hall which gave us views out of several windows facing different directions.
We had to call the front desk to get a room service menu and we were just looking for maybe dessert and coffee.
Gelato was on the room service menu, but we were informed they did not have any.
No gelato in Italy?
Almost impossible to get someone to take a drink order in the lobby area across from the bar.
At almost $500 a night, we would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bestbet99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights with an other couple and we all had a great stay. The hotel is located nearby lively Trastevere, but the hotel is all quiet. We had breakfast in the garden under the trees, it was a great way to start the day. There are lost of restaurants close to the hotel and you can walk to most of the attractions. We would like to come back next time again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor towards the backyard and the garden - it was lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A beautiful hotel with marble everywhere, oozing character from its days as a convent (on our last day we saw nuns opening up the dark classical chapel inside the front of the building). Friendly helpful service at the desk, including where to catch trams and buses and ordering an airport taxi. Nothing was too much trouble - including keeping our room open for us when we had a late departure. Staff all acknowledge you if they pass you in the hallways. There is a charming courtyard garden where you can eat breakfast. Our room (115) was veryquiet (as we had requested) though it did not look out over the courtyard. The only downside was that the free wi-fi was only available downstairs. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clementine100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is class from top to bottom. The staff was outstanding, going out of their way to ensure our comfort and every need. Our room was so quaint and unique. It was such a wonderful experience. I will stay there again and again when in Rome!!

Room Tip: The hotel is right hard to find but so worth the trip. Our room was quiet but our travel partners he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beargoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Goodbye forever, Donna Camilla---you broke my heart. This is my 7th stay at the hotel. When it first opened, before the days of TA and other such websites, it was the most delicious secret. My first stay was a complete romantic fantasy. The property was beautiful (still is). You would occasionally see the nuns who still had a partial ownership shamefacedly sneaking a wonderful pastry of two off the breakfast table. The staff were visibly excited to let you in on this secret, and they seemed as happy to be there as the guests---that was a big part of the magic. The first sign that the corporate brutes had taken over came a few years ago when the gorgeous medieval wood-paneled breakfast room was made off-limits to guests and reserved for business conferences. The nuns were banished. At the same time, new rooms that came on stream were smaller, far less lovely, and far noisier than the original ones (the managers need to put double-glazed windows in the new rooms as a matter of urgency!). Most awful was the change in service. The front desk is now staffed with humans whose attitude is “of course I am a professional so I am going to be civil to you but what I really wish is that you would GO AWAY”. The other staff people don’t hide those feelings well, if at all. During this stay it has taken me up to 20 minutes to get a coffee served. It took 30 minutes—and three phone calls—to have my luggage brought to my room. The person guiding me to my room had to try both elevator banks and three different floors before he was able to locate my room. Jet-lagged and feeling ill, I didn’t find this as amusing as he did. And the room faced on to a wall. When I asked for a room change, the front desk person said “But Signora, none of our standard rooms have any view, so there is no point in asking for a change!”. Not what any guest wants to hear, particularly one who knows that’s not true. Anyone staying here for the first time may well be enchanted by the prettiness of the property---it is hard to imagine anything that could be done to destroy the charm of the garden. But for me, Donna Camilla has become just one more swanky snooty business hotel with mediocre to poor service. I’ll always cherish the memories of the past, but won’t return again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hotelvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights as part of an Italian tour. The hotels architecture is undeniably exquisite but that was all that impressed me. With no restaurant, no spa facilities, slow service at the small bar, a shower that flooded and an unpleasant noise of clattering plates and cutlery from 6am from the small courtyard outside our room, I deem this hotel less than the advertised 4 stars. Agreeably the panoramic roof terrace has great views over Rome but the pictures on their website are of a function held there. The roof is actually not used, which was another disapointment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 219Gavin_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here two nights on a tour of Italy. The building has an excellent entranceway and secure parking. The reception staff were friendly and each spoke 3-4 languages, the porter ensured our baggage was placed in our room promptly.
Our room was executive and had a small balcony over looking the garden. The bed was comfortable and spacious. The bathroom housed a waterfall shower and clean marble facilities.
The breakfast at the hotel held many continental choices and tea/coffee served at the table.
The location is in a quiet area with some excellent restaurants/bars and a small convenience shop a five minute walk away- I recommend pimms good for a cocktail!
Excellent location, excellent staff I would stay here again and again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flosinjail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,268 in Rome
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#283 of 1,268 in Rome
700 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#183 of 1,268 in Rome
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Address: Via Garibaldi 27, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rome
#53 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#53 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#120 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $134 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Camilla Savelli Rome
Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing