We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Ranked #81 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    289
    55
    28
    24
See reviews for
138
584
28
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
171 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights.
The hotel was very beautiful and something a little out of the ordinary- it had been a convent.
The breakfast buffet had a large selection and fair quality. Since the weather was good we enjoyed eating in the garden.
Upon arrival, I noticed the pretty Etro toitletries and unfortunately mold in the corner of the tub, which really made me feel icky. I called the reception to let them know. It seemed as if they weren't too concerned, but when we returned from dinner later that evening the entire tub had new silicone.
The guest sevices were scarce. The staff were cordial, but indifferent.
I have mixed feelings about that, but it wouldn't deter me from staying again.
The location is a tad bit out of the way- meaning that everytime you go out you need to head in one direction in order to get anyplace.
I chose to stay here because we have a child attending the university just up the street,so it was perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: Our room looked out to the garden and city scape. As k for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Two outstanding features of the Donna Camilla Savelli are the staff and the location. It's a beautiful hotel - an old convent with lovely utilization of the 17th century building. We arrived in January, when the hotel was very quiet - it's the lowest tourist time in Italy. The suite we had booked had been set up incorrectly (two bedrooms rather than a bedroom and a sitting room), so they upgraded us to the "premier suite" with the rose window and a gorgeous private balcony.

The room was absolutely lovely, but the staff was even more terrific - genuinely welcoming and friendly. One nights we came back to the room to find Proseco and cookies, another a beautiful fruit platter.

Trastevere is a great location in Rome - about mid-way between the Forum and the Vatican, on the south side of the river. Everything is within walking distance (we're walkers). The hotel is in a very quiet part of Trastevere, which is hopping with restaurants and visitors of all ages.

We can't recommend this hotel more highly. We'll return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarthaGrace51816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My partner and I don't usually stay at expensive hotels. But when looking for a hotel in Rome, it seemed like every hotel was on the (ridiculously) expensive side anyway, so we figured...if we have to splurge, let's do it properly. And we were so glad we did!
There were a few minor grievances at first. Our room was located opposite a house that was under construction, so we were woken up by powerdrills every morning at 7am. Not the best way to start off a holiday.
Plus, there were ants in our room. Hotel staff said they would fix the problem, and they sent in an exterminator. But the next day, new ants appeared again (there was a tiny hole in our floor, where they all crawled out of). That's when we asked to be given a new room. The second room was perfect. No ants, no drilling at 7am, a huge bathtub, and a perfect location - above one of the hotel's gardens/patios, so it was completely quiet all day and night. Best sleep quality ever. Both thanks to the silence AND to the hotel's heavenly beds, duvets and pillows. I don't know what was so special about the duvets and the pillows, but they felt amazing. I still long for them some nights :)
Other pros: Delicious breakfast, with lots of choice (bread, croissants, pastry, fresh fruit, etc). Great location in Trastevere. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful.
Cons: Expensive. Indifferent staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voornaam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

excellent hotel:staff,location(in Trastevere area,few minutes walk from the Old City center),room,breakfast,
used to be monastery in the past-special building & not as standard hotel building.
already my 3rd visit in same hotel.

Room Tip: executive to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roro1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is in the Best position , in the heart of Trastevere, close to a lot of typical roman restaurants and it's near 10 minutes walking to Vatican City, too, but all of this the hotel is very quiet and peaceful. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast is excellent.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Muyayo X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We travelled around Italy for a family vacation and found by chance this hotel, an ex convent near a trastevere. We had a awful experience at another hotel and checked out early. We called this hotel and got simply excellent service, attitude and reception. A hotel with excellently trained staff, able to solve problems, be flexible accommodating and yet professional. The whole experience upgraded our confidence 10 fold. Then we got into the rooms and they are fantastic, well equipped, clean, quiet and frankly charming. Attached to the hotel is a chapel and I think a few nuns are still living on the premises ( retired) . It all added to the atmosphere. There is no restaurant at the hotel but its 20-50 meters away from one of the best restaurant areas in Rome. There is however an excellent breakfast service and whether inside or in the courtyard garden it's is truly fantastic.
This is a super location, a sanctuary from the hustle and bustle and very good quality and service.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel, albeit a winding walk from reception, are very quiet- it also le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seanr1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,257 in Rome
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#269 of 1,257 in Rome
676 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#250 of 1,257 in Rome
373 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Property: VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Address: Via Garibaldi 27, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rome
#53 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#53 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#120 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Camilla Savelli Rome
Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing