We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Ranked #86 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Hotel is in the Best position , in the heart of Trastevere, close to a lot of typical roman restaurants and it's near 10 minutes walking to Vatican City, too, but all of this the hotel is very quiet and peaceful. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast is excellent.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Muyayo X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We travelled around Italy for a family vacation and found by chance this hotel, an ex convent near a trastevere. We had a awful experience at another hotel and checked out early. We called this hotel and got simply excellent service, attitude and reception. A hotel with excellently trained staff, able to solve problems, be flexible accommodating and yet professional. The whole experience upgraded our confidence 10 fold. Then we got into the rooms and they are fantastic, well equipped, clean, quiet and frankly charming. Attached to the hotel is a chapel and I think a few nuns are still living on the premises ( retired) . It all added to the atmosphere. There is no restaurant at the hotel but its 20-50 meters away from one of the best restaurant areas in Rome. There is however an excellent breakfast service and whether inside or in the courtyard garden it's is truly fantastic.
This is a super location, a sanctuary from the hustle and bustle and very good quality and service.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel, albeit a winding walk from reception, are very quiet- it also le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seanr1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Of all the places we stayed in Italy, this was our least favorite. It was fine, but not worth the price.

Location is good (not great) and the building is pretty cool, but the rooms and decor were tired and worn. Staff was not particularly friendly -- not rude, but not welcoming like other places.

WiFi only in the lobby was a drag. The air conditioning was off and our room was 75-80 degrees. The window blinds did not open to allow more air circulation and it was extremely noisy to have the windows open on a Saturday night. With so much happening in the area, that meant a lot of street noise until around 4:00AM.

We really liked the area -- a change of pace for our last night in Italy from our first hotel near the Campo di Fiori -- but were underwhelmed here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a very well located hotel in the Travestere district. It has a central garden which in Summer is a delight for breakfast which is ample and good. If you get the right room, and I saw those of my colleagues which were good sized and well appointed, then this is a great hotel but if you have the misfortune to be in Room 315, you will not have such a great stay. It was on the fourth floor, was incredibly tiny and gloomy with a tatty wardrobe, a TV that didn't work and most irritating of all, absolutely zero space in the shower room to put anything. They must be aware of this because it had obviously been a struggle even to put out the complimentary toiletries which were jostling precariously behind the basin taps, occupying the only free space there was. The hotel could put this right with a couple of glass shelves. And for a business traveller, a big problem - no table or desk that you could work at. But even with a room that was frankly well below par, this is still a hotel that I would recommend for its ambiance and location.

Room Tip: Avoid the small rooms on the top floor, especially 315
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sibeliusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Donna Camilla Savelli for one night in September. It was on our tour so that may explain why we didn't feel it was exceptional as they probably save the best rooms for individuals. We were in room #313 on the 4th floor. It looked out onto nothing. The bathroom was nice and large though and clean. The hotel is a long walk from St. Peter's Basilica. We had been in Rome 5 nights before this near Termini and had walked everywhere except Vatican City (where we took the metro to get to) so knew where we wanted to walk. It was a nice area to walk in, down tiny side streets with old cobblestones and very scenic although walking is difficult. You do need comfortable footwear to navigate the streets.We walked back to the Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori for gelato so it is walkable, just a lot of walking. The hotel's history as a former convent makes it interesting, not just a plain city hotel. Breakfast selection was large although the scrambled eggs and bacon could have been cooked more thoroughly for my taste. There was a good variety of cheeses also.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lbellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a lovely hotel; a calm and peaceful haven - so hard to find in busy Rome! The location is great, in Trastevere, with lots of eateries in the area but close enough to walk to the Vatican, Colosseum and old town.

I would have rated the hotel higher but for a couple of niggles. There is no restaurant in the hotel (not necessarily a problem as we enjoyed eating out) but it would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in our room.

Secondly, the room was very hot and uncomfortable, ranging from 25 to 28 degrees (even though it was the first weekend in November). We phoned for assistance and one staff member fiddled with the air conditioning, reassuring us that it would cool soon, but it didn't. The receptionist later told us that the air conditioning was switched off as it was 'winter.' There was a cool breeze when we opened the window but, being a ground floor room, we couldn't keep the window open all night.

That said, there is much to recommend this hotel. It's grand breakfast room, terrace and garden and elegant but simple decor were lovely.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 606 (or any rooms on the ground floor) if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blancanieves0186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous, as it used to be a monastery it was full of history and original features, with plenty to look at as you walked around. It even has its own chapel which my mother and aunty in law were delighted by as it meant they could go to mass on the Sunday morning! The rooms were very spacious and the bathrooms were lovely. Breakfast was continental and there was plenty of choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel wasn't too far from all the sights, obviously you have to walk a bit but there is so much to see on the way. The only thing i would say is that the roads surrounding the hotel were very cobbly, lovely to look at and not so bad for the young, but the people we took who were 55 and 75 had to be very careful with their footing (so take a good pair of walking shoes)! Other than that i would recommend this hotel to anyone. Be aware that this hotel (not sure about other hotels) charge 3 euros per person per night city tax, which i wasn't aware of before i went.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nummeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,271 in Rome
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#170 of 1,271 in Rome
416 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#280 of 1,271 in Rome
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Address: Via Garibaldi 27, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rome
#53 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#56 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#120 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $136 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Camilla Savelli Rome
Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing