We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil oasis in the busy Trastevere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Ranked #83 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Hotel Donna Camilla Savelli is a good base for anyone who wants to stay in the bustling, happening Trastevere area in Rome. It's good and close to numerous restaurants, cafes, shops and bars, but it also maintains a unique aura of tranquility and quiet: this probably stems from its years as a monastery. In fact, you might see a nun or two wandering around during your visit - it seems a few of them still live there.

Our room was a decent size for continental Europe with a firm bed and good amenities: a hair dryer, nice toiletries and tissues, plus fluffy bathrobes and slippers. The bathroom was on the large size and very modern and up to date, with a lovely big tub. My only caveat about the room is that the one we were in was quite dark and didn't get much natural light. But honestly don't expect to spend much time in Rome in your hotel room - there's too much to do out there!

The hotel had a very good buffet breakfast which you could take in the courtyard garden if desired. Otherwise, the breakfast is taken along the elegant Roman corridor, which features impressive frescos over the door frames. Breakfast was a good selection of hot food, cheeses, fruit, bread and juice. Unfortunately there is no dinner service but you can order drinks in the evening to have in the corridor or the courtyard. The wireless in the corridor was pretty good as well - but it doesn't work in the rooms themselves.

Don't miss going up to the roof terrace to see the views over the Trastevere and beyond, and if you get the chance have a wander: there are a few architectural delights here, such as the gorgeous marble staircase - all designed by Francesco Borromini, one of Rome's renaissance architects of note.

If you want to eat nearby there are lots of good restaurants, including Isole di Sicilia just a few steps down on the Via Garibaldi for excellent Sicilian food, and Dar Poeta, just a bit further into the Trastevere for some seriously rustic and delicious pizza. Oh, and you'll find Gelataria La Scala just a few steps away at the interchange of Via Garibaldi and Via Della Scala for some good gelato and granita.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Izabel_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

525 - 531 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

The Hotel Donna Camilla Savelli has it all: a gorgeous property in a fantastic neighborhood, a great roof deck, very nice rooms, and amazing service. The hotel is a short walking distance to so many great bars and restaurants, you'll find it hard to leave the area.

The staff was amazing as well. Everyone we came in contact with was super friendly. Like putzes, we accidentally left our passports, iPod, and a wad of cash in the hotel room safe before we headed out for 5 days in Tuscany. About a day after we left, we realized what we had done and contacted the hotel. They retrieved the lost items and kept them in their safe until we were able to get back to the hotel to pick them up.

After our stay in Tuscany, we stayed one more night in Rome in a different hotel before we flew out to experience another neighborhood. We were so sad not to have booked another night in this hotel. We will most DEFINITELY be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srtpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Before we even reached the front door, a solicitous porter had appeared and taken over the cases we'd been struggling with. This set the tone of our delightful stay. The staff were all well trained which showed in their quiet frendliness and thoughful help - excellent service. The breadfst buffet was comprehensive with nothing dried out or less than totally fresh. The room was comfortable, clean and attractive, likewise the bathroom. We thoroughly enjoyed the little extras - like a bedtime sweet.

The hotel has been converted from a former convent and an air of unhurried tranquility still remains under the elegant but simple redesign with a few historic gems like the courtyard garden, restored to the 1869 design, and the wooden panelled refectory. The lack of noise between floors and rooms, however, points to efficient C21st soundproofing.

Trastavere was a very good base, not just for exploring the tourist attractions but also as a friendly area to wander around and to eat in.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldfishEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This hotel was chosen for us as part of a package by Reader Offers and was the best of the bunch. The only problem , and that was not the fault of the hotel, was that the driver did not know where the hotel was and neither did the courier.
The hotel is on Via Garibaldi just a short walk up from Ponte Sisto. We were on B&B and had a fantastic meal just down Via Garibaldi on the right hand side.
The hotel is quiet and peaceful. Our room was 119. It was fitted out with luxury fittings and drapes. The linen was good. Our room had a very heavy grill over the window, which did not bother us but made you wonder what it`s original purpose was as it was obviously designed to keep people in not out. It was,I understand, a monastery.
All the staff were real professionals, from the way they walked to the way they dressed. We were very impressed. The Wi Fi was free and it worked.
I would take issue with a previous comment that you can walk to the Vatican in ten minutes. We do a lot of walking and it took us over thirty.
The weather was hot and we ate in the garden which was peaceful. The food was good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norman1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed at the Donna Camilla after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. we couldnt have found a better hotel to stay, walking distance to all the main sites and a lovely place of peace and harmony to come back to after a tiring days sightseeing.

The full breakfast buffet was great with a varied selection of meats, cheeses, egg bacon sausage, breads, pastries and cakes. and a nice start to the day sitting in the gardens.

The hotel is spotlessly clean. we stayed in a standard room no 313 it had no view to speak of but a terrace, a comfortable large bed and a lovely bathroom with big bath, shower etc.
The staff were all very helpful and proffessional. especially the reception staff who go out of their way to help. service was excellent.
the view from the roof terrace is amazing, you can see the whole of rome, its a shame that the hotel doesnt make more use of it by putting relaxing chairs, and day beds up there for guests to use, but thats the only thing i can think of which would improve the hotel.

I would deffinately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Donna Camilla offers a quiet location in the Trastevere. The exterior is charming. Nice stucco walls and lovely interior courtyard. Our room had a very nice bathroom and decent furnishings although given the size of the room, the furnishings were dwarfed and the room had poor lighting. I would insist on a courtyard facing room- it really is a nicer choice. The hotel has an okay breakfast buffet(nothing special) and seating was a challenge in the mornings. I liked the location for seeing the sights in Rome. The staff was fine- not amazing, a bit harried at times but okay overall. Nearby area has multiple dining options, which is nice. We stayed here due to the favorable rates received on booking.com. Overall, that made it a decent choice for the money as it was in high season.

Room Tip: ask for a courtyard facing room and do not let them "upgrade" you to a larger room looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SHDLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Hotel Donna Camilla Savelli is located in an old convent (17th century) in the Trastavere region of Rome. The building itself was designed by Francesco Borromini so you feel like your staying in a special place before you consider the service and accommodation. The inside has lots of Boroque detail and marble flooring. You get a feeling of luxury and space when you walk in from the hot Roman streets. It’s easy to drive past because it is behind some high walls but this affords the hotel a bit of peace and quiet from the streets outside.
If you’ve been to Rome before and seen some of the main tourist sites already then this would be the place I’d recommend to stay. However if it’s your first visit, I’d suggest to stay somewhere closer to the ‘action’ ... like somewhere near the Pantheon. Not because of the hotel, but because of it’s location. Staying in Trastavere means you have to either walk a fair way to the main sites ... or work out the transport system (which is easy to do but takes a bit of effort). Trastavere is definitely lively with lots of great restaurants and activity in the evening so if that’s what you’re into this is a good hotel to stay in.

The reception was a little disorganised when we arrived, mainly because they were busy when we first arrived (in the morning), but they organised for us to leave our luggage at the hotel and we came back to check in around midday. The reception area was far more organised at that time and someone was then able to show us to our room and then brought up our bags for us. The room had the air conditioning running so when we opened the door ... it was instant relief from the heat (after walking around Trastavere for a few hours prior to checking in). (It was really hot in Rome that day.) The hotel staff all wore very smart uniforms which was a nice touch. I also recall the ladies all wore stockings (when it was so hot)! Poor things!

The rooms were smallish (but what you’d expect in Rome unless you're paying a fortune). Despite their size, the rooms have a feeling of elegance and I love the French doors that open out onto the courtyard. (We were on the second floor.) We came home after experiencing a great night out at one of the many restaurants of Trastavere to find that there was a wedding being conducted in the courtyard. We had a flight to catch the next morning so this concerned us. However with the French doors closed, we really didn't hear anything (amazingly).

The bathroom is very stylish and the shower head enormous! After the hot days in Rome, the shower was perfect to refresh yourself. They had a good TV (which we could work and watched some programs briefly in English! yeh!!!) We finally got to understand what was happening in the Tour de France which we were interested in (and couldn't quite fathom in Italian)!

The terrace roof top was beautiful to check out the roof tops of Rome and gives you a 360 degree view of the area. We were lucky enough because it was summer to have our breakfast in the garden. This was simply beautiful and we felt very special. The gardens are lovely and it is nice to have such a nice space to start the day in busy Rome. The breakfast on offer could not be faulted. There was everything you could want and excellent coffee. The service was always attentive. All in all we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it (and hopefully stay there again).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MD_Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#10 of 1,273 in Rome
3,026 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Hotel Ponte Sisto
#130 of 1,273 in Rome
1,584 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Address: Via Garibaldi 27, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rome
#53 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#85 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $137 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Camilla Savelli Rome
Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing