We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice b&b - An honest review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B I Tre Pupazzi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B I Tre Pupazzi
Ranked #1,206 of 3,732 Rome B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice b&b - An honest review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed as a young married couple in September 2012 for a long weekend break.

Pro's:

Giovanni is wonderful and made our stay fantastic. Couldn't do enough to help. Met us outside when we got lost. Drew a map with nice places to visit. Booked our return taxi and left a phone for us if we needed anything at all. Can't say enough good things about this lovely man.

Large spacious room with ample storage.

Decor authentic and felt as though we were staying in someones home rather than an impersonal hotel - Depends what you prefer. We liked the 'home from home' feel.

Rita - housekeeper - made our beds and cleaned every day. A lovely lady.

Felt very safe both in the area and in the b&b (felt fine to leave jewellery about etc...)

Kitchen always open for juice, coffee etc and breakfast simple and pleasant.

Location, location, location... fanatastic - walking distance to everything! Giovanni recommended a lovely walk across the bridge to the piazzo navona where we found lots of lovely bars and restaurants - highly recommended. Borgo Pio on the neighbouring road was lovely also for drinks.

Cons:

Shared bathroom. Although we thought we'd give this a go it was not ideal for us as had to wait for the shower to be free. If we stayed again which we definitely would we'd book the room with the bathroom.

Thin walls. This wouldn't have been a problem if all the other guests hadnt been the worst snorers Id ever heard....

General maintenance. A lick of paint and some general repairs (holes in the curtains, shower not attached to wall etc...) would have made a huge difference.

As there was such a lot of space in the room a small table and chairs would have been nice to drink our morning coffee on rather than having to hover in the kitchen. We found ourselves sat on our bed eating breakfast and having drinks before we went out in the evening which wasnt ideal. There's a lovely terrace outside also which would have benefitted from a table and chairs. Such small things would have massively improved our stay.

Other than that we'd recommend the I Tre Pupazzi to all guests. We had a lovely romantic weekend away and will return. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladyvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
44
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Great location close to Vatican. Small B&B with only 4 rooms plus small shared kitchen (4 chairs only so could get crowded) . We had room with bathroom - bedroom quite small, but excellent bathroom. Noisy however - between rooms as well as street noise at night. Lots of eating places nearby, but some expensive and quality not always there.
Lack of on-site staff sometimes an issue.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank AdelaideRetirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week in October 2011 .we had a wonderfull time B&B was clean and had every thing you needed.You could come and go as if in your own home.Giovanni could not have been more helpfull and friendly
If you are looking for a top flight hotel this will not be for you But if you want a nice place to stay that's not to expensive .Just simple and easy going right in the centre of Rome.Then this is the place for you
Thank you Giovanni hope to come again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alid58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a week in October 2011. It met all of our expectations and then some! The room had a private bathroom and two windows that made it bright and airy. Everything was well kept and clean with both the room and the common areas. Breakfast is self-serve with coffee, cereal, fresh fruits, juice, and coffee. Towels were changed everyday and sheets every 3 days with the bed being made everyday.

Giovanni was very responsive via email before our arrival and met us on arrival. Giovanni provided great recommendations for food, cafes, and local transportation which proved very valuable throughout our trip. He also gave us a great recommendation on a airport shuttle bus that dropped us with in a 10 minute walk from the B&B. The location couldn't be better being 5 minutes from the Vatican and a decent walk across the river to many of the amazing sites in Rome. The area immediately around the B&B has good restaurants and cafes.

Overall: A great value at a small, well kept B&B. Service was great and the self-serve breakfast makes for a flexible option for breakfast or a quick snack in the afternoon. Giovanni was very accommodating and responsive pre-trip correspondence. Would highly recommend and will certainly be returning on our next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: Rooms with private bathrooms have recently renovated bathrooms with showers. All rooms are roomy wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

my husband and I were there in april for a long weekend. 4 nights. our room was with the bathroom. all was nice and clean. the place has a good location. we were mostly walking to all the main sights. the weather was great so it made it very easy. rita and giovanni were very helpful and kind. whatever we needed or asked giovanni he would easily find and advise. we actually felt like we were visiting some friends because the atmosphere was relaxed, friendly and cosy. we will return! :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_l_kosorok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

When we arrived at B&B I tre pupazzi, we were greeted by Giovanni who gave us a very warm welcome. Giovanni spent a lot of time with us showing us places to go, streets to walk down & the nicest places to eat which was greatly appreciated. After our first day, we did not see Giovanni again, but this was not a problem as a mobile was left for us to call him (saved us using our own) if we needed anything.
The rooms were basic, comfortable and catered for your every desire. You only need a place to put your head down at night anyway. Rooms were cleaned every day & we had fresh towels every day. The only bad point was the shower was not that powerful (personal taste) and we could have done with having some blinds up against our room door as when people come in & turn the light on we were disturbed.
Breakfast was average, toast, cereal (suggest maybe a wider selection of cereal as only cornflakes available) fruit, teat coffee, enough for what you wanted.
The location was perfect, 2 minute walk to the Vatican & in very close proximity to all walking routes in Rome!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a few days in March 2011. It was wonderful! The room was very clean and a good size, and nicely decorated. The shared kitchen was nice and the breakfast in the morning had the basics - toast, nutella, fruit, juice, coffee, etc.
Giovanni emailed me several days before arrival to confirm our arrival time. Like others have said, the place is a little hard to find. Just keep an eye out for two big brown doors with a small listing of residents - on it you'll find a little piece of paper that says B&B 300. It's up about three flights of stairs, but there's an elevator if you want it.
The location is fantastic. Steps away from St. Peter's and the Vatican. Giovanni was kind enough to give me a map of the area and point out things to do and his favorite spots. He also directed us to the shuttle stop for the airport, which is about a 5-10 minute walk.
The next time I'm in Rome, I will definitely be returning to the B&B 300. I can't say enough good things about it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photodyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#178 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Atlante Star
Hotel Atlante Star
#387 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
B&B Al Passetto - St Peter's bike
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
St. Peter' Six Rooms & Suites
Prati
Lodging in Rome
Lodging in Rome
#2,969 of 3,732 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Rome Traveller's B&B
Rome Traveller's B&B
#1,633 of 3,732 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B I Tre Pupazzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B I Tre Pupazzi

Property: B&B I Tre Pupazzi
Address: Via Dei Tre Pupazzi 4, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,206 of 3,732 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — B&B I Tre Pupazzi 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Bed and Breakfast, few steps from San Peter's Square, near Vatican Museums,Castel Sant'Angelo, restaurants and and shopping areas situated in a small old area called Borgo Pio, you will feel to live in a small town in the centre of a big city. Two of the four rooms have private bathroom while the others rooms share the large bathroom. All of them have large windows and are very spacious, quite and clean.Every rooms have the tea Kettle. Shared Kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your B&B I Tre Pupazzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast i Tre Pupazzi
b&b i Tre Pupazzi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing