We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been good but ...”
Review of Hotel Opera Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Opera Roma
Ranked #427 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Dolores, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Could have been good but ...”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Like many others, we were sent to the Hotel Opera from Hotel Sonya where our reservation was supposed to be. The room was clean and mostly comfortable with no view. The clerk/manager was very nice, and the breakfasts were adequate, average based on my experience in Italy. Unfortunately, the elevator was broken, so we were up and down two flights of stairs many times during our two-night stay. The room air conditioner was broken too (and it was still warm in Rome). When I wanted to call the airline to check my reservations, I found out that the room phone was broken too. The manager was apologetic and let me use the office phone. Based on my experience, I would not recommend the Opera or Sonya.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DesertBeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    228
    73
    16
    14
See reviews for
141
318
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
laeg46@bendbroadband.com
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were rerouted to the Opera from the Hotel Sonya. The staff, especially Kito, were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were small but very comfortable. The location is central and we were able to walk to many attractions. Kito recommended a wonderful restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hotel Opera was ok, but not great. It was difficult to find, even if we had the address and a map, because it was kind of a "hotel inside a hotel". There are many B&B's and hotels in same building. Location is otherwise perfect, in a walking distance from Colosseum and many other sights, near to metro and Termini station.
Breakfast was at the Hotel Sonya, they had a very small breakfast room but the breakfast was wonderful, excellent coffee and pastries!
I don't have anything bad to say about this hotel, but still I wouldn't necessarily book the same hotel next time...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Auli_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Like others, booked for the Sonya but the Hotel Opera is really close. I would be happy to book here again although some rooms are better than others for me - I like both shower and bath which is what we got. It was very reasonable and good value for the money but don't expect the earth. If you need something the people on reception seems very helpful. For them please excuse my mis-spelliing of names, Mr Letu, Mr Resir and Mr Simone were all pleasant and helpful. We were found milk for our drinks on arrival and given directions when we were planning trips. They looked after our bags as we had a later flight. We had a nice clean room with good air conditioning, really inportant as we went in August in 40 plus degree heat. Firm beds. A small fridge was handy for our milk and water. We did not take from the minibar and forgot to ask how much things were. Ours looked out over a quiet road and buildings, so no special views. It is close to the Via Nationale and an Italian "Irish pub" which seems safe and friendly. The area seemed generally good and it is not far from Trajan's Column and other sights. Close to the Termini rail station, which is a cheap and effective way of getting around. Firm beds. Reasonable breakfast, help yourself to cereals, bread, pastries, meat and cheese triangles. The eggs are hard boiled and "toast" gets you rusks here, so don't think soft boiled and toast "soldiers". Now I know the hotel Although I wonder what the Sonya would have been like I would still come again at the same price (through bookers).

Room Tip: Some rooms have different bathrooms, ours had a large on with bath and over bath shower. My son and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked at the Sonya, but like many others here, we were rerouted to the Opera Roma when we arrived. It wasn't far from the Sonya, but we would have appreciated prior notice, as we could have been dropped off at the right hotel.
Small rooms, but enough for our needs, clean and comfortable. Beds are firm, but I prefer a firm bed. It was over 100% during our trip, but the air conditioning coped with it very well. A relief to get in the room out of the heat!
I would have liked more reception rooms. There is a nice breakfast room, but no bar, or reception area where you can relax. However there are lots of places to eat and drink nearby, as the hotel is ideally situated off the Via Nazionale.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast a decent Continental one. Buffet style. and freshly made coffee! The tea was the usual hot-water-and-Twinings variety, so best avoided, but there are kettles in the rooms.
The TV has a couple of English speaking channels, but if you wanted, you could hook it up to your computer. The hotel was excellently situated for all the sites. We hardly needed the Metro at all but walked to most places.

Room Tip: Watch the shower in room 208. There's a 1/4 inch gap if you open the screen fully, and you can f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel Opera Roma is right around the block from the Opera House, is about 5 short blocks from the Termini Train Station which depart all buses, trains, Hop On Hop Off Bus (about $27.00), and has an ATM two doors down to get Euros, a McDonalds down the block, which has the Bus 40 that runs you into lovely Campo Fiore which is a must see at night (mutilple outdoor cafes, musicians playing, etc. and is a gem of a hotel. Although the rooms are small, the room is kept immaculately clean and the people at the front desk reception are superb accommodating your every need. The hotel is fairly inexpensive and as mentioned, the staff takes care of your ever need. If the rooms were just a little bigger, I would rate this a 5 star hotel. You get free Wifi in your room and a very tasty breakfast...roll, butter, yogurts, cappuccino, assorted home made pasties and cakes, cheese, a small square egg, a vegetable/potato dish...all were yum. There is a Chinese Restaurant around the block as well some outdoor cares. Pizza and spaghetti are really tasty, with the gelato a top priority yummy experience. An excellent chain for gelato is Blue Ice located in Campo Fiore.
You must spend an evening in Camp Fiore with delicious food, outdoor cafes, musicians, etc. TV has CNN. Bathroom has a hair blower. Visit the Nazionale Roma Museum right by the hotel and rated number 2 sight to see , right after the Vatican--some. amazing statues, frescoes and coins. Definitely buy the Roma Pass which gives you unlimited bus and train travel as well as entrance to two museums free. Just an all around charming, clean and friendly hotel that caters to your every need. Would return.v

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a number of the door and a bath and shower. If you get a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

To begin, we booked a double room in Hotel Sonya, but when we arrived we were taken to Hotel Opera Roma which was basically two houses away from the main building and still easy to find and reach from Termini station. Nevertheless, we were very satisfied with our room which was very clean and, apart from the usual facilities (a bed, a bathroom, etc.), had an air conditioner (helped a lot considering it was at least +30° outside), a balcony (were really surprised to find out we had one), a mini-bar and even a small safe. The staff were knowledgeable and really helpful, provided us with a city map and explained how to get from the hotel to any other place on foot, by bus or by metro. To continue, breakfast was rich; we stayed here for three days, and each morning we could try something new. The apple-almond cake was particularly delicious.
To conclude, we were more than satisfied with our hotel choice. Not only the service was outstanding, the price was less than we initially expected, but also all the main sights were withing walking distance. If we ever come back to Rome (which is very likely to happen), we will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiesta205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#236 of 1,257 in Rome
1,464 reviews
Monti
The Opera Hotel
The Opera Hotel
#699 of 1,257 in Rome
191 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#215 of 1,257 in Rome
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Centro Roma
Hotel Centro Roma
#510 of 1,257 in Rome
440 reviews
Esquilino
Aberdeen Hotel
Aberdeen Hotel
#279 of 1,257 in Rome
959 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#117 of 1,257 in Rome
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera Roma

Property: Hotel Opera Roma
Address: Via Firenze 11, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#230 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Opera Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Opera Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Roma Hotel
Opera Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing