We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff. wonderful location.”
Review of Hotel Opera Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Opera Roma
Ranked #467 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here after a week on the Amalfi coast. Although the rooms were quite compact the attentiveness of the staff made our stay wonderful. we were also treated to a nice wee rendition of nessun dorma one evening from the operatic reversals taking place.next door.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwjp82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 627 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

I loved everything : the location(close to termini station), the amable staff, the room, the breakfast.
They have free wireless internet and to my surprise they gave me an asus eee to use for the perios of stay(i neverheard of such thing at other hotels).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssilviulucian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Opera Roma for four nights in September 2012. We were very pleased with our choice. In addition to a great location, the hotel offers a high standard of service, friendly staff, great breakfasts and modern, clean rooms. Everything worked as it should and we enjoyed our stay very much. Subject to our getting a great rate, we will definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend this property to other travellers.

Garry & Faye, Perth, Australia

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our second stay at Hotel Opera Roma and we were pleased to find the same quality of service, comfort, and value as before. Our triple room was modern, clean, and well appointed (with excellent air-conditioning, wi-fi, safe, hair dryer, kettle, and television). An ample breakfast buffet is provided, starring an outstanding Crostata di Marmellata. Great location near bus stops, metro, and Termini.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

First off this hotel is extremelly hard to find. There is no signage except for a label on the doorbell out the front and still it is not clear if you are in the correct place. It sits down a side alley across from the Rome Opera house. It is a good walk to the colosseum, steps, shopping and a short distance away from the train station.

Reception staff were friendly enough and helped where they could.

We were shown to our room without a number - Private sign. It was extremelly basic and small. Absolutely no space for luggage and just enough space to walk around the bed. Completely different to that shown on the website. The bathroom was miniature, you could hardly move in there. When sitting on the toilet you could wash your hands in the basin. We found the bed and pillows were way too firm and uncomfortable for our liking.

The room faced the street and with the windows and shutters closed it was still relatively easy to hear everything from the road/street. The safe didn't work so had to lock our cases.

Fortunately we had a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities (although the tea was not replenished daily) and breakfast was included. The breakfast room very nicely decorated but it had a very basic selection and the tables were so small that you had to keep clearing them yourself to be able to eat. I also had to ask for milk each day for cereal as it was never available.

There were only three english tv channels but that wasn't a big deal.

We felt that there just wasn't a huge attention to detail what so ever. We had a completely different impression of the hotel after reading other peoples reviews and the hotels website, our expectations were not met.

Room Tip: We would recommend asking for a room that has a room number. Or pay extra and upgrade and get a dece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a great hotel to stay in if you only have a couple of days in Rome. It is very easy to find from the Roma Tremini and are walking distance from the Trevi Fountain, Colosseum and Spanish Steps. Litho, the guy at the front desk, was extremely helpfull and went out of his way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The room was a bit small (we were 3) but clean, comfortable and so was the beautifull bathroom. The aircon was AMAZING as it was hot hot hot in Rome. Breakfast which was included consisted of croissants, cheese, cold meat yogurt and some home made pies (veg etc) which was better than that of other hotels and the cappucino was define. A Taxi was organised within 5 min for our departure to the Airport. This is one of the best hotels in Rome we have stayed in: SERIOUSLY. Better staff, better price, better hotel you won't find at the price we paid.We orginally booked at the Hotel Sonya in Rome, on arrival we were told that we were moved to the Hotel Opera which was just a couple of metres away. We highly recommend this hotel for your next stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TertiaTerblancheL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My family and I stayed at this lovely quaint hotel while staying in Rome for 3 nights while we toured around Rome during my sons' spring break. When we checked in, we were given an upgrade to their ground floor suite. It was huge, beautiful design. It had an upstairs which led to two beds. Ground floor had one king/queen size bed which was quite comfy. Going downstairs though was a huge surprise for my kids and I to say the least, they had a treadmill, jacuzzi, it was very fancy, very comfortable. I would suggest any honeymooner should stay there, because make you feel like home, and you may not want to leave for sight seen. We will definitely to stay there again in future trip to Rome.
Plus: The owner and his sister who served in breakfast both are wonderful and friendly, the breakfast was excellent, especially the cappuccino, everything just prefer for starting a good day from there.

Room Tip: You will be happy to stay there, every sight are walking distance. good value for the price you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angellR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#240 of 1,270 in Rome
1,551 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#222 of 1,270 in Rome
1,264 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#95 of 1,270 in Rome
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#324 of 1,270 in Rome
640 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#252 of 1,270 in Rome
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera Roma

Address: Via Firenze 11, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#151 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $53 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Opera Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Opera Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Roma Hotel
Opera Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing