We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food and bad service”
Review of Al Viminale

Al Viminale
Ranked #2,055 of 12,522 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Monti
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad food and bad service”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Food was very salty. They brought out a number of dishes we didn't order and tried to charge us for them anyway. We ordered a large coke which was not on the menu ... They told us 5€ then charged us 7€. On top of it all, there was no sign that they wouldn't take credit so we almost didn't have enough cash to pay. Terrible experience!

Helpful?
2 Thank Duc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    121
    36
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veles, Republic of Macedonia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The place is very charming and the pasta was excellent. Prices were low as well. Will remember this one as one of "the good dinners".

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ok if you're Italian”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We made the mistake of ordering off the "tourist" menu when we noticed that the locals were given hand written menus that were in Italian. My son speaks Italian so we could have ordered from it. Our pasta was dry and very al Dente and the chicken and pork chop dry as well. However, my son had a steak that was good. Nice flavor and cooked perfectly. It seems to cater to locals rather than tourists

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rena0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stumbled upon this restaurant by complete accident - the food is great!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family restaurant & good value”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Tasty food and lots of it. Low prices, good value, and full of Italian families enjoying themselves.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RALance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Viminale also viewed

Giuliano di Roma, Province of Frosinone
 

Been to Al Viminale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing