We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly Disappointed”
Review of Al Grappolo d'Oro

Al Grappolo d'Oro
Ranked #3,587 of 12,448 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Staunton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Sadly Disappointed”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I ate at Grappolo d'Oro in 2008 twice because I thought it was so good; 2012 was an embarrassing disappointment, as I insisted to my friends that it was good. The Spaghetti Carbinara tasted as if it had squeeze cheese on it. The roasted lamb was cooked dry. Beef dishes weren't good. One was mostly gristle. Salads were uninspiring. Go somewhere else and eat better for the money.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank professoressadarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    72
    29
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brea, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great exPerience!”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Food was great! Wine was terrific! Ambience was special! A great Rome experience for us!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ViequesDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food but very overpriced”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

While I can't complain about the quality of the food we were served here, it was certainly the most expensive meal we had in Rome and the meal was no better than many other places we ate in. The one thing I was unhappy about is that the Italian clients were treated much better than the tourists, their portions were bigger, they were offered more choice and the service was more attentive. Overall, not a place I would return to.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldpapi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing on all levels”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

While the wait staff is very friendly the service is terrible. We didn't receive side dishes that we had ordered, something that other diners around us experienced. It seemed that tourists were neglected while regular patrons received all the attention. The al fresco dining was unpleasant with lots of street noises and fumes. The food was plebian and a real disappointment after 22 days of phenomenal dining in Italy.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2oldetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We went to the restaurant after a recommendation from our B&B owner.
The waiter was very nice but the food was just OK, the portions small, and the price sky high.
Since all the restaurants we tried in Rome were excellent and mostly far cheaper I recommend you stay away.
A small basket of slightly dry bread was 5Euro!! and this is just an example.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HaifaTraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al Grappolo d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing