We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais Rome Sweet Home Navona
Ranked #880 of 1,196 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Reviewed October 11, 2011

There are many wonderful areas of Rome, but the area around Relais Rome Sweet Home Navona is central to everything I love about the Eternal City: ancient monuments, museums, good restaurants, good subjects to draw and paint, and an overall good atmosphere. And, the room we stayed in was really nice; everything it was advertised to be. However, my first impressions were far from positive. Our room, and two others are on the second floor of a building which is shared by full time residents. So, the common areas--entry passage and staircase were pretty dingy and dimly lighted. But, the room was, plesantly, just the opposite--smartly designed, clean, ample closet space, and comfortable, if a bit tight.

The concierge, Giorgio, was extremely pleasant and accomodating--and in our particular case, apologetic for the interruption in water supply due to city work. I think he is above and beyond average in helping guests 'get to know' the area.

I do not think I would stay here again; prefering a regular hotel or apartment instead. But, I would recommend this type of arrangement to travelers who are perhaps, younger, and less affected by first impressions.

Room Tip: Ask in advance about the room's features and furnishings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2011

This was a nice place. It is like having a hip apartment right in the middle of Rome. You can really walk to all the major sights from here. We got the junior suite which was pretty small for 3 people, basically less than a metre of space around 3 sides of a big king size bed, with a single tucked into nook in the side.

It is really easy to get here from the airport on public transport. Catch the train from the airport and get of at Trastavere, then go outside Trastavere station and catch tram 8 to it's last stop at Largo Argentina. The apartments are on a street perpendicular to the tram stop, a 1 minute walk.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pidg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The room itself is beautiful and location great. HOWEVER, be prepared with a cell phone that works in Italy. Since the property is unmanned, you'll need it both when you arrive and if anything comes up. In our case, our location was having construction work done. There were regular blackouts and no hot water. We sent a distress Email (from the "reception" area) to no avail. Finding a public pay phone was impossible so we couldn't get any help until we literally bumped into the property manager on the street on our last day. He was very courteous and helpful but by that time it was basically too late. So, don't stay if you don't have a working cell phone and don't expect an traditional "hotel".

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJM12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

A nice room, modern and fresh, in a great location - 5 minutes from the Pantheon, Campo di Fiori & 10 mins to Piazza Navona. Bus stops close by will take you to the Colosseum & St Peter's. It doesn't look like much when you stand on the outside or walk up a couple of flights of steps but inside is a nice little sanctuary. The rooms are pretty tight but they've done a good job utilising the space. The service was good, though if you don't have a mobile phone, you will find it a little difficult to get in contact with the manager. If driving, be aware that parking inspectors work the alley this hotel sits on and are fairly ruthless in their attempts to clamp cars.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

The thing I most enjoyed about this hotel is that it didn't really feel like a hotel, more a private apartment. There is no reception or lobby, no restaurant, no familiar comfort blankets of other hotels. What you get is a super-efficient and attentive 24 hours concierge who you can text ot phone if you need something. Make sure you arrange a check-in time before you arrive though, or you'll be standing in the street for a while.

I loved the 15th century building in the historic part of the city, the narrow stairs to the room, (which I called shabbily genteel, but my husband called just shabby) and the modern, clean room. We had a triple room, a wide double bed for us and a single bed tucked in a nook for my eight year old son, which he named his 'den'. Yes the bathroom and shower were small, but everything worked well and was clean. Croissants were left in a small, linen basket outside the door every morning, like the elves had put them there.

The location is perfect; two doors down from a coffee shop, a short walk from a cafe for quick lunches. Most importantly, it is about 15 minutes walk from the Forum, 15 from the Piazza Navona and 10 minutes to Trajan's column, plus other places too many to mention.

I would go back to Rome in a heartbeat and I would certainly want to stay in the Relais-Navona; it felt like our own.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagiellonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

My wife and I and our two adult children stayed in the two room suite during our stay in Rome. One of the reasons we chose this B&B was because it was located close enough to walk to many of the areas we were interested such as the Campo dei Fiori, Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and the Trastevere. A bit further away, but still easy to get to, was the Colosseum, the Vatican and the Spanish Steps. The entrance is on a tiny street near the Largo Argentina. While the door and entryway are unimpressive, don't worry. The flat up a few flights of stairs (there is no elevator) was modern (it has good wireless Internet as well), clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable and although there was a little bit of street noise in the early evening, it was otherwise very quiet. We were let in and checked in by Costanza who arrived on scooter several minutes after we called upon arriving at the door. She also gave us a detailed city map, an overview of the neighborhood, some restaurant recommendations and other helpful information. She provided use with her phone number should we have any questions after she left. A good experience overall and would have no hesitation staying there again should travels take me to Rome again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seemeseeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We had read the other reviews about Sweet Home Navona so were prepared for the entrance way and the corridors. There is a number outside the apartment block to ring on arrival but we buzzed through and fortunately the cleaner was in the apartments so was able to let us in. The 'concierge' arrived not long after and checked us in properly and gave us some maps and tips. We had room 1 which was on the back of the building so it was quiet but not huge amounts of daylight. The room was clean and had everything we needed. Croissants were left on the door for breakfast but no jam or anything to go with them so bit dry for my liking. The coffee machine in the room was okay but for me a kettle would have been much better! There is a cafe 2 doors away which you go to on a Saturday morning for breakfast - gorgeous croissants and coffee for €1.50 although its inclusive in the room rate for that morning.
The room is a great base though for seeing all the sites and we walked everywhere from here. Piazza Navona is about a 5 minute walk away and Campo de Fiori similar.
We had asked the concierge to book a taxi for us back to Termini to get back to the airport on our last morning. She said she would do this and also be at the apartments for 7.30am to see us and bring breakfast but she never showed and neither did our taxi! Easiest way to get to Sweet Home Navona is to get a train from the airport to Termini and then a taxi. On the way back we got a bus from the end of the road to Termini which was easy and a lot cheaper. You need to work out where to get off the bus though if you catch it from Termini to the apartment!

Tips - Something to bear in mind is that the majority of restaurants and sites don't take credit cards and so you need to have cash on you. Buy tickets for the Colosseum in the Roman Forum gardens end to get into Colossuem/Forum/Palatine as the queue is a lot smaller.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasmine24Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,116 reviews
Abemus in San Pietro
#1,539 of 3,782 in Rome
16 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#225 of 1,271 in Rome
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#68 of 1,271 in Rome
1,486 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#457 of 1,271 in Rome
303 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#103 of 1,271 in Rome
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Rome Sweet Home Navona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Rome Sweet Home Navona

Address: Via Dei Barbieri 18, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #880 of 1,196 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Rome Sweet Home Navona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Rome Sweet Home Navona Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing