We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun spot with music”

Cleto la Porta del Colosseo
Ranked #4,016 of 12,448 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Windsor, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun spot with music”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We ate here several times while in Rome. It is a casual family run place with a large selection of items. They were friendly on our first night but once we became repeat customers they were even kinder. Free after dinner drinks suddenly appeared! In the eving there is a man that plys guitar and Cleto even sings with him. Get the Seven Sins and the roman veal dish, delicious!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    58
    15
    9
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home in Rome”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We find this love restaurant by accident when we are coming back to the hotel after seen the Colosseum. The food was excelent (so good that we came back ) and the atmosphere (waiters, singing, etc) is unique. We simple love the place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PinhoJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best linguine with porcini mushrooms ever!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We sat outside as the owners sang to us all. They served an excellent antipasti of seafood but the real thing were the linguine: in two weeks in Italy, we never ate such excellent pasta. They made their sauce with a veal reduction and fresh prorcinin mushrooms. If weren't for the fact that I love to eat and wanted to discover other restaurants while in Rome, we wold have gone back for seconds. Try their meats also: they are aged on site and charcoal grilled to perfection.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, nice hosts”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I like the outdoor seating, the food is homemade, and the staff was friendly and it was NOT a tourist trap.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank blond06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant in Rome”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Great location 2 block from our hotel. Quaint with dining inside and out, just off via Cavour. The owners entertained the diners with guitar music and beautiful singing. What a fantastic and personal atmosphere. We dined there twice during our 3 day stay in Rome because it was so good. The food was excellent. Best we've had in Italy.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank specshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cleto la Porta del Colosseo also viewed

 

Been to Cleto la Porta del Colosseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing