We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Domus Ester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domus Ester
Ranked #806 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

+ :
- friendly staff, ready to help.
- clean, everyday cleaning, every 2 day towel change
- LOCATION is main advantage. 20 min by walk to Vatican, 15 min to Spanish steps, 5 min to Campo de Fiori and Piazza Navona. No need for public transport except to train station.
- great bars and restaurants nearby.
- safe neighborhood
- good price, good value

-:
- thin walls, you can hear pipes and people talking, doors closing etc. Take into consideration if you are a light sleeper, no big problem, all depending on guests and their manners.
- no safe, but you do not need it. 3 locked doors before entering room.
- sheets on double bed are small and keep on getting removed while sleeping, no big deal.
- small TV, but you do not need it, you are in Rome.
- no lift, old building.
- no breakfast

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    83
    59
    40
    18
See reviews for
24
142
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at Domus Ester in July 2012 for 3 nights and returned for another stay in January 2013 for 8 nights.
The location is perfect, near Campo de Fiori, which is why I returned, as well as the price, which is very reasonable for the area.
That being said it has it's problems, they no longer serve breakfast in the room, or at all, not a big deal but their website as well as others (booking.com) are a little misleading on this.
The entrance to the building looks terrible but when you climb to reception on the second floor it looks fine. The young lady who was there most of the time during the day is great and will do anything possible to be helpful. Others working there were not quite as helpful.
Rooms seem to vary so wildly that I can't say much either way. In January they first put me in a tiny room with a tiny window with no view, I asked to change and they put me in a much larger room with a nice big window overlooking the small street (and the neighbor about 20 feet away!).
The bed was two twins pushed together (not unusual), There is a fridge with a few complimentary drinks, a safe and a small TV (seemed to work OK) WIFI seems to be spotty depending on where your room is. I stayed near reception and it was like there was no wall separating us and I'm really not exaggerating, the other room I stayed in also had thin walls, but not nearly as bad.
Bathrooms in both rooms I stayed in were just OK, clean but not much more and I think many people would find them unacceptable (mostly the shower stalls)
There is also no longer someone at reception at all times, which along with the breakfast thing makes me think that things are going downhill even in the short time between my visits.
In finishing the location is near unbeatable, right across from Trastevere, a few blocks from the Jewish ghetto (great food!) and pretty much equal distance between Vatican City and the Colosseum, just be well aware that it's a "you get what you pay for situation" and NOTHING more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian6d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed in that "hotel" for 4 days with my sister & it's definitely not the nicest place I've ever been.... This place rely on the location which is very good,but that's the only good think about it. Their website says : wifi , mini bar , b-fast , safe in the rooms.... Unfortunately , there was no wifi in the rooms, only in the corridor . Mini bar was actually an empty & dirty fridge. No b-fast , because they decided so , although their website is still advertising it..... No safe in the rooms!!! The tv didn't work, the reception is not open 24 hours! You can't use your credit card but no one will tell u that unless u ask ! They only take cash, the website says otherwise .... When I made a complain, the guy at reception said to me " do u really need that safe? " so I asked him weather he would feel comfortable to take all his belongings with him everyday while sightseeing , he said no . After that I went out as it was only 2pm & asked to sort it out by the time we'll get back, he agreed. We came back to the hotel at around 5pm , no one came round to talk to us til the next morning. One lady cought as the next morning just before we left, to tell as that they will change our room, unfortunately everything was the same there, we did get the safe, but it didn't work... I gave up !! It's not that I am being picky , I just expect to get what I payed for. When I arrived to Rome and saw the place I was so upset, that I didn't want to stay there another minute, realising that I have no time , energi and also I didn't want to loose any time of my holiday with looking for another place to stay, We stayed there. But I wouldn't go back ! Although the servis was poor there was one lady who tried her best !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margi14K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

loved the place. yes everything in the reviews is spot on went in march so the bin didnt smell had the room above the restaurant and outside the reception with the guy opposite who was 8 feet away and looked into his flat saw his washing on the line and could watch his t.v.its all true but its a city with small cobbled streets and people live there they have no gardens. the staff were great the city is magical. i had hot water every time i needed it with restaurants and supermarkets a stones throw away. with a fifteen minute max walk to everything you came to see what do you want. took a lap top and a travel kettle,its a guest house old style and i wouldn't hesitate to go back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This 'hotel' is very well located to visit all Rome's main attractions on foot. The facilities were very basic, although the small fridge and wifi were a bonus. The room was mainly clean, unless you looked under the two single beds pushed together to make a double. Fresh towels were supplied every day and the broken toilet seat was fixed after 2 days. No breakfast is available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesca f f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Could be easy to find fault in the place, but what expectations could you have at this end of the market?
We was out for most of the daytime, but was too cold in February to sit outside unless you are paying tourist bar prices, so sitting in a small room for a couple of hours or so would not have been good without even bbc news to keep you company, I was able to hook my laptop up to the tv, but would have been able to stream some video to my phone at a pinch
Biggest complaint was it took 2 days to get the toilet seat screwed down to the pan, breakfast is no longer in the package despite being included in most listings, your booking form will state no meal option
Best aspects wifi and fridge in the room and of course location

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrrdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Located ideally between the campo, Tevere & Largo Argentina, the entrance isn't quite that what you would expect. Reception at the second floor. We had room 204, a 'small' basic room with bathroom/shower. For the price in that area it is ok, going from 50 to 70€ a night, you don't expect much, at that is what you get. Friendly host, luggage can be kept. Simple as said, but ideal location. Rooms are cleaned daily, fresh towels (without asking)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comerenkwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Arenula
Hotel Arenula
#748 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Migdal Palace
Migdal Palace
#720 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pomezia
Hotel Pomezia
#975 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#606 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#433 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Locanda Cairoli
Hotel Locanda Cairoli
#656 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Ester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Ester

Property: Domus Ester
Address: Via di San Salvatore in Campo 38, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #806 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Domus Ester 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Domus Ester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Ester Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing