We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suite Artis Barberini
Ranked #2,021 of 3,782 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 25, 2008

The place has a great location. It's very close to Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. Both Metro and bus stations are just a few steps away from the hotel.
We were looking for a basic room with clean sheets and bathroom, AT residence offers more.
The owner is very kind and helpful. He let us to leave our luggage at the hotel for almost 10 hours as we had a late train for Milano.
Piazze Barberini gets crowded early in the morning. It might be a problem for light sleepers.
We enjoyed our stay and suffered no problems.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barlasIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 116 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2008

This hotel lives up to its name, i.e, the hotel actually is housed in a residence building. I have to admit that it took some adjustment to become comfortable with this type of accommodation. My understanding of the hotel is that the owner converted a two level "penthouse" (I use this term liberally) condo into a very small hotel. My husband and I had considerable difficulty finding the hotel as it is not labeled anywhere on the outside of the building with the exception of the tiny label affixed to the side of the call box. We had just travelled on a train from Sorrento up to Rome and were exhausted and fed up with walking up and down steep streets on a wild goose chase to find the hotel. To save yourself aggravation, read the review about this hotel from Karen and listen to her directions about how to find the hotel. Her directions are clear and will get you to the hotel. You have to be buzzed into the hotel for the first time. The hotel clerk was very kind and carried our luggage up the many flights of stairs (I am not exaggerating; I mean many.). When we reached the top, I was giving my husband as murderous looks as possible. However, when the hotel clerk opened the room, my fears and annoyances were assuaged. The room was very new. I actually enjoyed the decor of the bathroom. There are no common rooms or ammenities. You are paying for a room and that is all. Your breakfast is brought to your room at whatever time you arrange with the hotel clerk. You also tell the clerk in advance what type of hot beverage you desire, if any. The selection of foods is light, but sufficient.

I had two major gripes with the hotel. The air conditioning was turned off when we left for the day. When we returned exhausted, we were met with an unbearably hot room. It took several hours to cool down. The second problem was the fact that the bathroom in our room leaked through the floor to the ceiling of the condo below us. We were encouraged by the staff to not use the hand held wand, ie shower, but rather to just take a bath. This fact annoyed me. If I am paying for a hotel, I want everything to work properly and I don't want to be told how to clean myself. In a larger hotel, I would imagine that this situation would have been remedied by being switched to a different room. This is not possible as the hotel has, at most, five guest rooms.

My mantra about European hotels holds true for this hotel: adjust your expectations and you will be happy. If you expect that you are going to get everything that comes standard in an American hotel, you will be disappointed and jaded. Just immerse yourself in the experience and appreciate the ammenities we take for granted.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonestTraveller121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Stayed at the Residenza AT at Piazza Barberini in Rome over my birthday at the end of June 2008. My husband and I were a little bit dubious as we could not find any reviews about the hotel, apart from the odd one or two on hotels.com and expedia.

We needn't have worried. What a fab little hotel. I would definitely recommend it and would definitely stay here again.

The hotel.

It is situation right on the corner of the junction of Piazza Barberini, Via del quattro fontane and Via del corso. It is fairly easy to find if you know what you are looking for. It is a large yellow building right outside the Fontane Tritone, which has its entrance in between a clothes shop and a snack bar. The hotel requires that you locate the relevant buzzer (marked AT). They will then buzz you in. Once inside you need to press the light switch, as you are now faced with lots of stairs, and the lights are on timer (although they give you plenty of time to get up). The hotel is situated on the third floor of the building, the suites are on the fourth floor. When we arrived, it was a very hot day, we were able to walk from the station (its not that far, only about a ten minute walk), there are buses and the metro stops at Barberini too, for those less able or willing to walk. We were greeted by a very friendly young lady, who immediately offered us a drink of fresh orange juice... she must have seen how unfit I was!! We were shown our room, which was very modern and cool, air conditioning was a godsend! Our only disappointment was that ours was the only room that did not overlook the Tritone fountain, but we got over that very quickly!

We were given a key to both our room and the entrance door downstairs, so we could come and go freely, and were shown how to use the safe in the room, which the staff told us they had no access to, as you put your own code in, from 4 to 9 digits long, but don't forget your code, because it takes 24 hours for someone to come out and open it in this case. We were also asked to book the time we would like our breakfast to be served, between 7.30am and 10am.

The hotel reception is manned 24 hours a day, and the hotels owner is a very jovial and very helpful man, who told us of all the best places to visit and eat at. He also gave us some leaflets about cheaper tour buses, and supplied us with a map of Rome, on which he highlighted the best places and the steer clear of places... although he highlighted the shopping area as a no go area because it is full of designer shops and very d
expense, which my husband and the owner thought was highly amusing!!

The breakfast, although simple, was lovely and set us up for the morning, it consisted of croissants, biscotti, toast, yogurt, orange juice and coffee, and a selection of jams and honey. The owner also told us that if we wanted more, just to let him know, but there was plenty.

Eating out.

Around the immediate area there are plenty of bars and restaurants. One word of advice, don't go anywhere that does not display prices, we went in one bar on the way to the spanish steps, out of the hotel and immediate right, that offers eggs and bacon for 6 Euro, but when we got in he talked us into getting a salad, which we did, the salad itself was very bland and not like ours at all, and also full of olives and oil, and we also had a cappuccino, we were charged 40 Euros!!! So beware!! Immediately opposite the hotel there is a gelato place and snack bar called Squisito Cook, the food here is cheap and very tasty, the service is impeccable and the gelato is to die for (homemade). We ended up eating here for most of our stay. The snack bar immediately next door to the hotel was a nice place to sit and people watch, although the street does get very busy as it is a meeting place for tours. It was also very cheap, compared to normal Rome prices.

Rome.

Don't bother doing tours, using the buses or metro, you miss so much. Just do it on foot. We were only there for two days, and had seen most of what we wanted to on the first afternoon. Go down Via del corso to the big cross roads, then go diagonally to your left down the back streets, you will find a selection of shops and restaurants and will stumble across the Trevi fountain. From here, cross back over Via del corso and head toward the Pantheon. Back onto Via del corso and follow it to the bottom and you will reach the tomb of the unknown soldier, and also one of the first set of ruins. Follow the main road up and to the left and as you round the bend in the road you will see the collosseum directly in front of you. From here, head toward Basillica Santa Maria Maggiore, a most awesome and humbling place, we were lucky enough to visit during a service, and the echoing chants were mindblowing. Follow the Via del quattro fontane back down and you will pass Barberini Palace, and five minutes further is the hotel, you have come full circle. This took us about three hours all told, and we were plodding, and stopping to have a break (it was very hot).

The second day we turned right out of the hotel and headed toward the Spanish steps, which from this direction, you hit from the top, so no walking up!!! If you decide to do so, you can follow that road and it will take you toward Sant Angelo and the Vatican city. We did not bother as we happened to visit on the feast of St Peter and St Paul, the only day it is closed!!! If you want to visit the Vatican and the museums, it is free on the last sunday of every month, just remember to get there early.

All told we had a fabulous two days in Rome, which was very much helped by the fact that our hotel was in such a prime position.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Karen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Willys62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleamy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yannpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: todas tienen vista a la plaza barberini
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Roma Resort Trevi
Roma Resort Trevi
#458 of 1,271 in Rome
247 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#225 of 1,271 in Rome
1,089 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abemus in San Pietro
#1,539 of 3,782 in Rome
16 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#68 of 1,271 in Rome
1,486 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#457 of 1,271 in Rome
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Artis Barberini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Artis Barberini

Address: Piazza Barberini 2, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Residence AT)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,021 of 3,782 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $69 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suite Artis Barberini 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Suite Artis Barberini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence At Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing