We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suite Artis Barberini
Ranked #2,135 of 3,645 Rome B&B and Inns
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
“LOCATION”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had great time at Residence AT after surviving 106 stairs. We were upgraded from double room to a 2 storey apartment with living room with fire place downstairs and bedroom and bathroom upstairs. It is not an everyday opportunity to watch Palazzo Berberini from bathroom. Breakfast is served at the room at the time you choose and they serve toast, croissants, tea,juice, marmelade, butter. The apartment was very clean and is tastefully decorated.
The location is just perfect. We stayed in Rome for a week and did not use any public transportation. It is 5 min from the Spanish Stairs on one side and 5 minutes walk from Trevi Fauntain. In some 20 minutes of nice walk you get to Forum and Colloseum. We even walked to Vatikan and all other sites. We only used bus to go shopping to one of the nearby designer outlets, but at the end shopping in Rome shops was much better experience and we enjoyed it more.
One piece of advice, do not bother to book any guided tours, as everything to be seen (and in Rome that is truly everything) is within walking distance and why loosing a chance to explore little narrow streets and enjoying Rome charm.
It is advisable to buy tickets for museums and galleries in advance to avoid quing up.
For Vatikan museum visit I suggest booking a tour. We did it online and we very happy we did it, given that there are 1200 rooms available for public, and you easily get lost. It took us 4 hours to see the most important parts of the Vatikan museum. After the visit we were so tired and it was raining, so we went to the first restaurant on the main street accross Vatikan and that was real rip off - overpriced bad food.
I am looking forward to repeating my visit to Rome and I would again choose this place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LejlaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    43
    21
    11
    12
See reviews for
17
70
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I was thinking that no elevator would not be so bad, but when I had to do this 4 times a day it wasn't so easy at all. Especially on arrival day when we had to carry our luggages more than 100 steps...
The room was so so soooo small, no place to put our luggages, we kept our clothes in there and place the luggages in front of bathroom door.
Breakfast in bed was not so bad, but i think that for a family or older peopol it's not so easy to eat on bed.
The place where the hotel was it was good, since it's next to Barberini Metro Station and near to Spanish Steps.
I'm planning to go to Rome in 2 months again, but this time I booked an other hotel. AT residence defenatelly didn't worth the money!

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a good room to suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panos-Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pell City, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I was completely happy staying here. Rome was the last stop on our 3-city Europe vacation, and I am so glad we booked the Residence AT. It was by far the nicest place we stayed while on vacation. It was clean, spacious enough, and had a great location. The breakfast was good, brought to our room each morning at the time we had requested. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was spacious enough and was clean.
There are only two negatives about this place. First, as the other reviewers have stated, there is no lift, and you must walk up several flights of stairs (94 stairs, my husband says). However, it is not a strenuous climb; the stairs are not steep and there are several landings along the way. The only other negative is the air conditioner. It did not cool very well at all. They turned it off when they cleaned the room each day, so it might have cooled the room if it had stayed on during the day. As it was, we had it on as high as it would go all night, and we still were hot. It felt more like an oscillating fan than an air conditioner.
All in all I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't have problems climbing stairs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amywsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I was surprised to see such a negative review below. We loved the Residence AT. Our room was more like a small apartment, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Our breakfast was brought to the room every morning, and we were given great advice on places to eat, etc. Even the staff that wasn't fluent found ways to help us out and communicate with us. Overall, a great little hotel. If you're looking for 5 star--it's probably not the place. But it's nice. Located within walking distance of EVERYTHING. Lastly--the stairs. Yes, there are 4 flights of stairs. Personally, I didn't think it was a big deal. I was walking all over Rome so what was 4 more flights? But if you can't do stairs, it's something to consider.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enndea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

I would never like to be negative about a place, but clearly not a place would like to recomend.. The staff is definitely not the most friendly and the building is an old dilapadated one.. even though the location is good but to begin with you can not identify it and then its a 120 steps .. There are very good hotels in the locality which one could get at just a few extra euros.. After a hectic day of sightseeing the thought of 120 steps was sure draining.. We checked out after our first night!

Room Tip: Be prepared to spend more on Hotel in Rome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gupta_shivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

In addition to the stairs (we counted 109 to our room), the staff smoked, and their smoke went right up the stairs and into our room, waking us up every morning. My daughter and I have asthma, so it bothered us a lot.

The room was quite large and clean, the bathroom spacious. There was no view and not much light. The extra bed in the "triple" room was just the sofa with sheet, blanket and pillow.

They bring the breakfast to your room every morning. There are no real cooking facilities, so the only hot food is toast and beverage. Beware the coffee is instant. I switched to tea on the second morning. I wish our room had had a real table and chairs; the 3 of us dined on the small coffee table in front of the sofa/bed.

We never could get the TV to work and the staff didn't speak English well enough to understand our request.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quilterdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Small hotel at the top of a building on Piazza Barberini; the hotel's not marked clearly from the street, but we were aware of this before we went from reading reviews so we didn't have any trouble finding it.

Not for those afraid of steps! We counted 108 up to our room which we managed fine but it might be a bit hard work for the elderly or people with lots of luggage. We stayed in a suite which we got for quite cheap (we booked well in advance). I wasn't sure whether the photos on the website were representative of the rooms but on arrival our suite was WAY better than expected - it had a large sitting room area and a stairs that led to a large, well lit bedroom with large bathroom. The downstairs room didn't get much sunlight but that may be just compared to the bright bright upstairs!

Breakfast was brought to the door every morning, you picked what time you wanted it at in advance. The same food was provided each morning, toast, croissant, coffee, orange squash and yummy yogurt; we were starting to get a bit bored with it towards the end of the week but it was tasty nonetheless.

Staff were friendly, spoke in broken english but we were able to communicate fine. The only downside some people might find with this hotel is that there was no common room or restaurant, just a tiny reception and your room, no kettle or fridge in the room...this didn't bother us at all though as there were ample restaurants nearby (and who eats in hotel restaurants anyway!!) and so much to do in Rome we were out of the hotel most of the time.

There were lots of touristy sights within easy walking distance, Spanish steps were 5 minutes away, Trevi fountain 10, and we found the city easy to explore by foot from this location.

To sum up I'd definitely recommend it! We'd usually stay in budget hotels or self catering apartments and this was a big step up, great for young couples/groups.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fewborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
La Casa del Capitano
La Casa del Capitano
#595 of 1,257 in Rome
56 reviews
Trevi
Roma Resort Barberini
Roma Resort Barberini
#396 of 1,257 in Rome
223 reviews
Colonna
Stendhal Dependance Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
La Dolce Vita Barberini
La Dolce Vita Barberini
#584 of 3,645 in Rome
88 reviews
Trevi
Trevi Fountain Guesthouse
Trevi Fountain Guesthouse
#552 of 3,645 in Rome
124 reviews
Barocco Apartments
#806 of 3,645 in Rome
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Artis Barberini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Artis Barberini

Property: Suite Artis Barberini
Address: Piazza Barberini 2, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Residence AT)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,135 of 3,645 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suite Artis Barberini 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Suite Artis Barberini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence At Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing