We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relais La Maison - the perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Relais La Maison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Relais La Maison
Ranked #630 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Relais La Maison - the perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our few days in the heart of Rome at Relais La Maison De Luxe B&B. We are there to be tourist so up in the morning and taking in as much as possible with our time off.

With that said, location was key, trying to stay on budget we found this little B&B that exceeded expectations. The bed was very comfortable as we like a softer large mattress. The bathroom had a standup shower and was clean and the whole place had a nice modern feel.

We were always greeted warmly and enjoyed the coffee and breakfast in the mornings.

We would stay there again.

Room Tip: It is a B&B occupying part of a floor in a larger building. There are a handful of rooms so no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    45
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
30
83
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jurmala, Latvia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is B&B, but I would give it a 4-star hotel level. Big room, modern furniture, bathroom with jacuzzi shower, pleasant atmosphere, good breakfast and walking distance to main sightseeings. Besides, you do not meet any hotel personal at evenings, so you feel like coming to home :-).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 4 nights - 2 adults and 2 children sharing a room. The room was comfortable and clean and quiet as it was facing the back. The breakfasts were OK - basic but perfectly acceptable to set one up for a day's sightseeing. Having access to the juices and coffee machine were very welcome after a full day's sightseeing. We found the staff were helpful and friendly. We had reason to call them out of hours as our daughter accidentally locked us out of our room with the key card inside the room. Claudia gave us instructions on how to quickly find the spare key in reception and it was sorted promptly so no real problems about reception not being manned 24 hours a day. The location was fine - close enough to walk to Termini and the major sights. We walked from Termini on arrival from the airport bus and initially struggled to find it. There is a hotel on the first floor - look for the Guiliana sign and you know it's the correct building!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Italaibelissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed at this property in May 2011. Very nice place. The room was massive, bathroom great and the internet facilities worked well. It was a little tight for breakfast with not a lot of room but plenty to eat, more than enough to get the day started. The staff were fantastic and so helpful. If there were any minor probems with the room it was fixed within an instant. The place is in a great location, within walking distance to Rome Termini, the Colleseum, Cafes, retaurants, shops and the Metro. It was reasonably priced. We would definitely stay there when we go back, no need to look for another place although you may need to book early as it's very popular. Loved the old style elevator, a classic!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We went in the middle of a hot summer so the air conditioning and large shower were fantastic. Large rooms, very comfortable beds and well placed for everything. The staff were fantastic and having a pantry and coffee machine throughout the day was brilliant too.

Breakfast was laid out in the dining room and there was a large selection of cold food and pastry. However I'm not sure if there were enough tables for all of the rooms but there is plenty of food to go around so we just waited for it to quieten down a bit.

We really enjoyed it and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

My family and I had an excellent five-night stay at Relais La Maison in Rome. It's a small, intimate guesthouse on the 5th floor of a classic Roman building just a block away from the church of Santa Maria Maggoire. The rooms were spacious, chic, quiet, luxurious, and comfortable. The bathrooms were brand-new and spacious as well. We appreciated the complimentary minibar, snacks, and water. The welcome we received was extremely warm, and the breakfast was generous. The staff was extremely accommodating. (We'd requested a late arrival and three separate beds in a quadruple room, and we received both without fuss.) Our overall stay was peaceful, and we liked returning to the beautiful rooms every night after long, hot, exhausting days.

That said, there were a few glitches. The air conditioning in one room took a long time to really kick-in, so we didn't sleep as well as we could've. The shower-massage option in our bathroom didn't seem to be working. Wifi was spotty. And although the Relais is in the heart of Rome, the sights are not right outside your door. Most things are a 10-20 minute walk away. (We love walking, being away from the tourist craziness, and staying in "real" neighborhoods, but some travelers don't, so I feel it's important to mention this).

Guests should also note that Relais La Maison is not a full-service hotel. The front desk is not manned 24-hours, nor even well into the evenings. A refrigerator with juices, fruit, and yogurt is at guests' disposal all the time, but there is no one around to assist you after hours. Guests are left with a list of numbers to call in case of questions or emergencies. When we arrived earlier than anticipated, in fact, we had to telephone the owner to come and let us in! We weren't bothered by this, but some people would be. Relais La Maison looks like a four-star hotel, but make no mistake: it's a luxurious B&B.

WE ACTUALLY LIKED THIS. The intimate character of the Relais added to our overall enjoyment of Rome. Tony, who welcomed us on arrival and manned the front desk in the mornings, deserves a special commendation for his helpfulness and friendliness, as does Claudia. They put my entire family at ease.

Relais La Maison is a terrific option for people who want to be IN Rome, not just see it. I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aBroadAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

Relais la Maison has got some praising reviews f.ex in Booking.com website, so I decided to stay there with my family. In my last visit in Rome I stayed in Hotel Artemide, which is right now in Tripadvisor's top three of Rome hotels, and I absolutely agree with that! Artemide didn't have any family room left therefore we decided to book Relais la Maison, which appeared to be very decent place.

At first blush everything seemed to be just great. We got a corner room from the fifth floor, and the view to Santa Maria Maggiore church was astonishing from there. Room is about 20 square meters, and there was a queen-size bed and two additional beds for kids. Table, chair, flat screen tv and wardrobe, and just enough room for luggages. Washroom looked also very nice; grey and white colours, beautiful glittering (!) flagged floor and bathroom with massage shower. Also there was a air conditioning in the room, free wi-fi and a small refrigerator, also electronic safe in the closet. If You visit the website You will see some pictures of the Relais la Maison and I think pictures are telling the truth and they are very realistic, no gimmicks like there might be in so many cases...

Reception hall was very small, but very cosy and well maintained and in the same place there was a breakfast area. If the place is fully booked You have to wait Your turn since there's only three tables - one for 6 persons and two tables with only two chairs. Relais la Maison itself is very small place, only six rooms, so the waiting time shouldn't be too long anyway. Again, the view from breakfast room is fantastic - Santa Maria Maggiore church is only a couple of hundred meters away, and it's well worth of visiting.

In breakfast room there's free coffee machine which is in use throughout the whole day, and You can have a cup of coffee when ever You want. Also the fridge is full of yoghurt and juice and free to use all the time. Very nice! The staff is in attendance from 7 a.m. to the afternoon, someone might find it a little bit inconvenient to be there alone, but the place seemed to be very safe and secure. Anyway, I would say it's not the Hotel but not quite B&B either, it's somewhere between.

The location of the Relais la Maison is pretty competent; very close to Termini train station and Via Nazionale shopping street, about 1 km or a little bit more to f.ex. Colosseum and Spanish Steps, but still in a quiet area. BTW, very good pizzeria with wood pizza oven (l’Angolo di Napoli) is on the other side of the street... So, like You can imagine, the basics are all right and there should be a chance to make this place extraordinary.

All in all, after five days visit I would say I'm a little bit disappointed. Everything was not so perfect as it seemed at first. We got a pretty warm welcome, a map and some instructions what to see and where to go. Also the lady showed us the room and all the amenities, so everything was very clear from the start. After that, we were like air - no one paid hardly any attention to us and we felt like Persona non Grata for rest of the days there. No good mornings - the staff looked very busy behind the desk reading newspaper when we came to breakfast - anyway that didn't bother us too much since we didn't need anything, but most of the hotels today will realize that service really makes difference... The most incredible thing was the staff member smoking behind the reception desk only one meter away from our room - of course the smoke came to our room too. Not too nice!

Room was very very dusty, big heavy curtains and wall-to-wall carpet made the room one of the dustiest ever, regardless the every day cleaning. Also the bed was very hard and uncomfortable, so it was pretty awkward to sleep.

Breakfast was very basic: juice, coffee from automatic machine, yoghurt, cereals, cheese, sausage and sweet pastries, no bread besides toast (which was a couple of days over“best before”-date). OK, that's acceptable since there's actually no kitchen, but f.ex. baguette would have been nice to have, especially since the toaster was so slow...

In the very end, we had mixed feelings, there were some very good things but also some failures. Rome itself is one of the best cities to visit, and there's a big variety of hotels and B&B:s, so think twice and read some reviews before booking. I will try some other place next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank -MP069-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#118 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#239 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#203 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
La Maison
La Maison
#1,360 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Esquilino
66 Imperial Inn
66 Imperial Inn
#160 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Esquilino
La Reggia dei Principi
La Reggia dei Principi
#271 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Relais La Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Relais La Maison

Property: B&B Relais La Maison
Address: Via Agostino Depretis 70, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #630 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Relais La Maison 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Relais La Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Relais La Maison
b&b Relais La Maison Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing