We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Serapo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Serapo
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Gaeta
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We got a great room an the top floor with a huge balcony overlooking the sea. The rooms are quite expensive but clean and functional. The breakfast was fairly extensive for a continental breakfast - do try the frozen yoghurt. The private beach is just across the road, with sunbeds and umbrellas for hire although they don't force you to hire one. The only problem was all the hawkers on the beach pestering every 2 minutes. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, the hotel bar was reasonably priced and there was free use of computers in the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 712 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Saw all the bad reviews about this place. Pleasantly surprised to find that they are not true. Was staying in Aquino with the wife and my teenage daughter and came down to the seaside to stay for a couple of days in June this year. We arrived early in the morning and went down to the beach. Although it is private and you needed a pass the man on duty was very accommodating. We explained that we were checking in at midday and he had no problem with allowing us to use the facilities for the couple of hours till we checked in and came back with the pass. We were also able to check in before the alloted time.The reception staff including the "guy with glasses" on the front desk were very polite and courteous,probably helps if you try to speak their language.
The rooms were clean and the beds were quite comfortable. I liked the security shutters on all the balcony windows. The air conditioning worked a treat, so much so that the wife insisted I turn it off at night.The room the wife and I were in had a modified bathroom for disabled guests and was quite large. She also appreciated the Russian Television channels. Ok so you have to pay for the beach pass but the beach is very well kept do not have an issue with this as some appear to, we have no desire to lug around a ton of beach equipment, you get what you pay for. Lots of Restaurants within easy walking distance also shopping if you need it. Also this is an Italian resort and it was great to only hear English spoken once. The best features are it is quiet and close to a beautiful beach. Only negative was breakfast, could have done with something a bit more substantial and they have one of these automatic coffee machines (not bean to cup), which malfunctioned a lot.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank buckbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Horrible, dated, run down, unfriendly, overpriced.

There aren't really words to describe this place. Toured around Italy for 5 weeks. Stayed in approx 12 hotels. This was prob the second most expensive hotel and without doubt the worst place I've ever stayed in.

Do yourself a favour.....take the money they are charging, add €10 and go 3 miles down the road to the amazing Villa Irlanda for some real luxury.

This place was probably nice for the first two weeks after it opened back in 1720.....not today!

Room Tip: run away, hide, stay at home.....just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2IrishTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

They have their own beach (written on the top of booking advertisement), where you have to pay the same or even bigger price for entrance, then for others. And you cann't enter without payment of about Є14 (it's only for the sunbed, and the same price for umbrella), even if you have your own umbrella and towel, at which you want to lay. So what is the point of owing the beach? I just didn't get it. That was only the first unhappy news, which we've got at the very fist day of arriving.
In that evening we also understood, that we cann't open the window and balcony, decause of the "pretty smell" from the kitchen, which was on the first floor, and we leaved on the 3rd. So your towel and other staff, which you'd like to dry after the beach will also smell fishy, porky etc.)))
Food was awful, thank we haven't stayed there for a long time.
And the rooms weren't very clean.
I won't recommend this hotel for anyone.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Kateryna_Chabaniuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We turned up on spec for one night since don't usually do the beach thing.
Great location in a large town with the sea on both sides of the peninsula and an old medieval town to explore. There is also a swimming pool

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallous-lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Charming hotel! True continental breakfast consisting of croissants,fruit, toast,cookies, Melba toast, bagels, cereals, meat & cheese platter,yogurt, juice, coffee Americana or Italian style,all which was yummy and very satisfying.Clean,quaint, right next to a private beach & Located at the base of Monte Orlando which is a State Park located on a small but gorgeous mountain situated right behind the hotel with easy access only 5 minute walk away . Easily climbed in an hour or two on the paved trails, with GORGEOUS views of the city on the cliffsides . Monastery is right above the hotel with access to the famous Grotto of the Turks which has a stairway leading down to the breathtaking grotto. On top of Monte Orlando is the Tomb of one of Ceaser's Generals, the best preserved tomb of it's kind in Italy. If you like rock climbing, the cliffs behind the Hotel Serapo are a favorite place for that scary sport! All right these fun things just minutes from the Hotel. We went in April, still a little chilly, but I will stay again at Hotel Serapo next time I go to Italy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I will start off with a positive. The hotel is in a great location in Gaeta.

However, the hotel is in bad need of updating. The beds are saggy, the furniture chipped, the hotel is very dingy. The breakfast consisted of very little food for tons of people. Nothing hot, no cheese or protein.

The bathroom has a very unusual and inconvenient shower system. There were dead mosquitos on the walls.

The parking is very difficult. Drive 20 miles north and stay at the Virgilio in Sperlonga.

Room Tip: go somewhere else, unless this is the best you can afford, then it wont seem so bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank filisann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaeta hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gajeta
Hotel Gajeta
#4 of 11 in Gaeta
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirasole International
2.4 mi away
Villa Irlanda Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Le Rocce
Grand Hotel Le Rocce
#1 of 11 in Gaeta
531 reviews
3.2 mi away
Summit Hotel
Summit Hotel
#7 of 11 in Gaeta
416 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Villaggio Torre San Vito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serapo

Address: Spiaggia di Serapo, 04024 Gaeta, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Gaeta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gaeta
Price Range: $66 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Serapo 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Serapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serapo Hotel Gaeta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing