We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way to see Split Rock - I would spent the time elsewhere.”
Review of Hotel Gajeta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gajeta
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Gaeta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel was fine, good value with lounge and dining in the suite. However this town has one attraction which is the split rock and the 100 steps down and back up are an effort. Notvreally worth the long winding drive in to this coastal town.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gajeta, Owner at Hotel Gajeta, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

I understand that your score was mainly due to the fact that you did not like the town even if it is considered one of the nicest summer resort between Rome and Naples.
What I don't understand is why your rating on the hotel was poor since your comment was positive: "The hotel was fine, good value... ect.".
Should we be punished because of your poor consideration of the town?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 391 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2010

charming all the way and acrosss the road from navy support activity. elevator from street level to front entrance was a special treat.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank active 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Spent eleven (11) nights at the Hotel Gaeta on a recent business trip. Found the hotel to be clean, well taken care of, and the staff very friendly.
Getting to the Hotel was easy from Rome, took the train down to Formia, then grabbed a cab to the hotel ... about a 10 mile ride around the bay.
Had a good room with a large private patio (22x16). The hotel is equipped with wireless internet, but you'll find good coverage in the first floor lobby area and third floor patio area. Coverage in the rooms is spotty, depending on your proximity to one of three wireless routers in the hotel. Not the fastest internet, but was sufficient for working e-mail. The hotel also has limited free parking out in front of the hotel.
I was working across the street aboard the MOUNT WHITNEY, this hotel couldn't have been more convenient ... right across the street from the gate to the small NSA. The NSA also has a small NEX, laundry, etc., it's very convenient.
The hotel sits right between the old part of Gaeta and the new part, several restaurants, etc. within an easy walk. Very much enjoyed several of them and Vic's Bar/Restaurant across the street and down @ 100 yards for his food, service, and NFL on Sundays.
Overall, a GREAT Hotel to stay at, can't say enough about the helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueWaterSWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

The Gajeta Hotel was a perfect stay, just across the street from the dock where my son's ship pulls in. It is nothing fancy, but has the old world charm one would expect in Italy. The staff is friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. I would advise you to bring an adapter for any chargers you may need to use. I would also advise you to be careful when stepping into your room, as ours took a step down immediately after opening the door, and I fell into the room onto the hard tile floor. I would suggest that the hotel put a warning sign on the door to prevent this from happening, as I would suspect I'm not the first to do this. We had a very sweet little balcony that overlooked the harbor, and while we only spent one night and not much time in our room, I would have been happy with an extended stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandstest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

The staff (specially Veronica) was very welcoming on my first night after arriving from Formia at about 10.30 at night. The pretty room had a clean, cool, welcoming and fresh feeling...just like I expected an italian country bedroom would look like..I even had my very own balcony with table and chairs facing towards the beautiful sea. Room also has a small fridge which I consider to be essential specially in the warmer months. Location was good too...not very far from old Gajeta town (which has plenty of places to eat) Serapo beach and Split Mountain. A bus service ran practically outside the door which in about 15 minutes would take you to Formia and Formia's train station, as Gaeta does not have a train station of its own. Regret that I only stayed 2 days in this lovely place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maris55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

The hotel was nice, a bit pricey for the area, but the staff was incredible; very helpful and nice.
The room was very small, but clean and overlooked the portion of the bay where the navel base sits.
Very good continintal breakfast. Close to new and old town Gaeta. This is a very quiet town! A few nice sites.
The restraunt next door isn't part of the hotel, but we got a bit of a discount for dinner and the food was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aloewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

My daughter and I ended a 10 day trip to the Amalfi Coast with two nights in Gaeta. The two nights included being in Gaeta over New Years Eve. This sleepy little town comes alive and really knows how to celebrate the New Year with local music and lots of fireworks. The whole town turns out for the festiva. The hotel was very accomodating and enjoyable. I would like to go back in the summer to enjoy the beautiful beaches in the area. We were not aware that Italy had such beautiful beaches with light sandy beaches rather than the lava rock, darker beaches. Our hotel room was large and nice but the shower was tiny. The hotel staff was very helpful and made the trip a pleasure.

Stayed: December 2007
7  Thank lkscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaeta
2.1 mi away
Villa Irlanda Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Serapo
Hotel Serapo
#9 of 11 in Gaeta
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirasole International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Le Rocce
Grand Hotel Le Rocce
#1 of 11 in Gaeta
532 reviews
8.1 mi away
Virgilio Grand Hotel
Virgilio Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Sperlonga
938 reviews
3.4 mi away
Summit Hotel
Summit Hotel
#7 of 11 in Gaeta
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gajeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gajeta

Address: Lungomare Caboto 624, 04024 Gaeta, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Gaeta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gaeta
Price Range: $77 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gajeta 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 5 minutes walk from the beach. Set along Gaeta's seafront promenade, Hotel Residence Gajeta is a restored historical building on the Tyrrhenian coast. The rooftop terrace has panoramic sea views, and private parking is free. Rooms at the Hotel Residence Gajeta are air conditioned and have a minibar, free WiFi, a 40" LED TV and some also feature a kitchenette. A private balcony with sea views also features in most rooms. The on-site Il Follaro restaurant serves Mediterranean cuisine using fresh seasonal ingredients, accompanied by a selection of fine wines. Guest can also relax at the bar featuring a sea-view terrace. The hotel is overlooked by the famous Torre d'Orlando, and Serapo beach is located a 5-minute walk away. Staff at the hotel can book excursions to the islands of Capri, Ischia, Ponza and Ventotene. As well as other trips to Pompei ruins, Naples and Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gajeta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gajeta Hotel Gaeta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing