We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Unpretentious and delicious””
Review of La Piazzetta

La Piazzetta
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, Kentucky
1 review
““Unpretentious and delicious””
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Following the recommendation in my B&B, I visited Narcello for dinner. They serve one thing - pizza! - and they do it well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheresaS830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    50
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not Just Pizza!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just spent two glorious weeks on the unassuming but gorgeous island of Procida. We’ve visited Ischia and Capri—its more glamorous neighbors in the Bay of Naples—and found Procida more to our liking. Little to do but soak in the scenery, walk, relax at cafes and on beaches. The most pleasant “find” on the island for us was La Piazzetta on Piazza dei Martiri, up steep steps from the smaller port—Corricella—and just down from Terra Murata and the dramatic castle, prison, and church of the Archangel Michael. We returned a dozen times over 13 days to Piazzetta and were never disappointed. We had both lunch and dinner, and each time explored different dishes on the menu. Only on the last night did we allow ourselves to return to particular favorites. What were those favorites? The pizza is excellent, as proven by the parade of islanders coming in to dine with their family or to enjoy takeout pizza. But for us it was the exceptionally tasty and fresh seafood and vegetable dishes. From the primi piatti there was an outstanding mixed bruschetta, a beyond-fresh arugula & shaved parmesan salad and a simple, succulent tomato salad. At the top of a list of outstanding secondi was a zuppe di cozze with an abundance of clams and mussels, seasoned to perfection with hard, crusty bread as a base to absorb the delicious broth; gamberi with zucchini and fresh fusilli. The antipasta di mare was a meal in itself, an assortment of exceptionally-fresh seafood. We only indulged in dessert on our last night, but the simple textured cake with whipped cream and almonds was perfect. Like the island itself, Piazzetta is all about setting, families, warm service and a great value on local seafood and produce. Bravi, Piazzetta!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Pizzaaa”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Tasty pizza and nice location right in a beautiful little "piazza" full of life during summertime.
Great view on the bay and Terra Murata also.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SerlieJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napoli
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great pizza, in a beautiful scenario”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The "Piazzetta" is nothing special: it is just a pizzeria (even though they do serve cooked dishes), but it is located in a beautiful litle square, overlooking the Marina Corricella and the Chiaia bay, and midway in the ascent to Terra Murata. The square is very untouched, with elder people chatting in the evening breeze, and a few kids playing around: just great, in my opinion.
About the pizza, it is quite good (being a regular vacationer in Procida, I and my family eat it since maybe fifteen years), and I can also suggest mussels ("Zuppa di cozze" and "Impepata di cozze"). I never ventured to the more "serious" dishes, so I couldn't really advise about them.

P.S.: if you go there during summer weekends, be ready to wait quite a bit: relax, have a beer and enjoy the panorama! ;)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francesco-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piazzetta also viewed

Procida Island, Province of Naples
Procida Island, Province of Naples
 
Procida Island, Province of Naples
Procida Island, Province of Naples
 
Procida Island, Province of Naples
Procida Island, Province of Naples
 

Been to La Piazzetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing