We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel on overlooked island in Bay of Naples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Corricella
Ranked #3 of 24 Procida Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a delghtful, small, family run hotel where we really enjoyed and extended our stay by a few days in September 2012. The hotel has an excellent sea food restaurant 'La Lampara' and both hotel and restaurant have great views over the fishing harbour. Be prepared to hike up a few steps and down to the ferry port and main part of town but Procida is a small island between Naples and Ischia which is well worth a visit. The team at la Corricella could not have been more chariming and helpful. We began to feel a little bit part of Procida by the time we left!

Room Tip: All rooms face the harbour at Marina Corricella. Watch the fishing boats head out at night and retur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 105 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Prior to spending 3 nights here, I had stayed in Sorrento for a week as a guest at a woman's home as part of a one week Italian language school at Sorrento Lingue. "Maria" was born and raised on Capri where she spent most of her adult life. On telling her where I would be going after the week in Sorrento, she said Procida is how Capri was in the 60s. We would be stepping back in time! That teed me up for a great experience and, indeed, my wife and I had a remarkable experience on Procida at Hotel La Corricella. It is a family run operation. "Salvatore" mans the front desk but attends to other matters too.

Did I see a posting on this site that said, "Brush up on your Italian" if you stay here? Yes, I did. And, it's exactly why I wanted to go to Procida in general--to get the chance to use my Italian. It will come in handy on Procida if you do speak some Italian and certainly at La Corricella. But, there were some English speaking tourists there from other parts of the world who spoke no Italian and were having the times of their lives. You simply will have more doors open to you by the naturally generous and warm Italians from the South if you show them you want to speak their language.

The hotel sits at a scenic spot above the harbor. I had requested a suite when making reservations but it was booked. We ended up with Room 22, and for our purposes, I think the best located room of them all. Sometimes you just luck out. It was 90 euro a night, and air conditioned, with lovely views.

This hotel is not about frills. We've stayed at Intercontinental Hotels around the world and various resort properties where you have the Egyptian cotton sheets that are almost like silk, the fine fluffy feather pillows, etc., etc., etc. When you go to Procida, when you stay here at La Corricella, you're stepping back into a time in the past with a slower pace, and I dare say, without pretensions. No Gucci shops like on Capri! The hotel is clean, comfortable, ideally suited for privacy, and romance! Sit out in front of your room at night, at the table, with a bottle of wine, watching the fishing boats manning up for their nightly ventures for fishing, and appreciate life. It is a scene out of "Il Postino"! And, indeed, Procida was one of the locations filmed for that famous Italian movie from the 1990s.

If you've ever been to Siena, gone into the old city, and enjoyed the pedestrian only zones, a stay at La Corricella will be particularly appealing. No vehicles are allowed on the Marina Corricella. It makes for a quiet environment where you can savor the harbor setting, and watch the fisherman cleaning their nets from the prior night's expeditions.

The old city fortress, Terra Murata, is situated on this end of the island nearby La Corricella, and worth a visit. You can actually walk anywhere you want to go on the island but there are buses and taxis. Just take a casual few hours and go exploring. We walked from one side of the island where the hotel is to the other side to go to the beaches and go swimming.

There is excellent dining at the hotel and along the Marina, several restaurants. Again, no cars are going by, no mopeds, just people on foot, or--in the harbor--fishing boats. We ate at one of the restaurants on the marina and watched the fisherman working on their nets, within 20 feet of us. That was an experience and made the stay here more realistic, and certainly less artificial than the glitz and glamor of Capri.

Take a step back in time. Visit Procida. And, stay at Hotel La Corricella!

Room Tip: There is a lower level and an upstairs level. In my opinion, the upstairs level is the better level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Howie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in this charming family run hotel for 3 nights in June. Our room was large and comfortable and the breakfast was generous and the price very reasonable. The view is superb and the hotel restaurant serves delicious local food.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulamcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

we spent 5 nights in this hotel in june and had a good time. rooms spacey, no luxury, but functional and clean with good beds and lovely views. everybody friendly and helpful.

can only recommend it.

grazie mille to make this holiday a memorable one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evinaSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in Procida for two nights as part of our honeymoon, and our only regret from Hotel La Corricella was that we couldn't stay for longer. It's located in an impossibly picturesque fishing village, and as a location is pretty magical - fans of Il Postino will definitely recognise the view. Our room (21) was absolutely enormous, with a picture postcard view from the private sun terrace. Procida itself is somewhat spoilt by traffic, but we didn't hear a second of it from the uninterrupted silence of our lovely room. Breakfasts downstairs on the communal terrace were excellent by Italian standards (locals seem to rarely have more than a quick espresso and perhaps a cake), and watching the sunset from our terrace is something we'll never forget. The staff were unerringly charming, welcoming, helpful and accessible, and of all of the wonderful meals we had on our Italian honeymoon, I would say that suppers at the hotel's restaurant were unquestionably the best. This is, to agree with previous comments, not a 5-star hotel in a big city - the decor is dated and the facilities basic. But don't come to Procida expecting big city-style pampering - the joys of this wonderful island lie in its sleepy, small-town charm, and Hotel La Corricella is the perfect base from which to soak up all of Procida's delights. We'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank southease78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel enjoys the best views of Procida and rooms have access to a shared balcony where you can have breakfeast with views on the amazing port.
However although rooms are big they are very low standard and the hotel would benefit a lot from some charming furnitures and a bit of decoration.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ACandEdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

If you're wanting some "me time", then Procida is the place to visit, avoiding all the tourist crouds that make the trip to Capri. Procida was our last stop on our Italian trip, with the idea of winding down after a rather busy 10 days. The island is small, so small that on our 2nd day we saw locals that we'd bumped in to previously! The local map doesn't measure anything in Miles or KMs but in time & steps!

Procida is all about fishing villages, lemon groves, marina's that are dotted around the island and a slow paced way of life... ideal! We arrived at Hotel La Corricella hoping that it would live up to our expectations and with the local surroundings and we weren't disappointed.

THE ROOM
The rooms are large, light and very airy with a large double bed, a couch, TV, fridge and seperate table & chairs both inside and outside. The bathroom with shower was nothing special, but perfectly functional and kept clean with the daily service.

BREAKFAST
Breakfast, served between 8:30 and 10:30 (from memory) was a little later than what we were used to, but was a welcome change as it allowed for recharging. The usual yoghurts, croisants, fresh coffee/juice etc were served.

RESTAURANT
We ate at the hotel on our last night, and the food was as lovely. It's focus is obviously on seafood being located on the waterfront, and the tastes were simple yet stunning and fresh and they also had a good wine selection!

OVERALL HOTEL
Remember this island is off the beaten track and it's very much fisshing village based, so do NOT expect the luxuries you will get in city/business type hotels! The location is nothing short of stunning, and this is what it's all about! The people who work at the hotel (we got the impression that it's family based) could not do enough for us during our stay. From helping carry our bags, sorting out a water taxi for us when departing, advising on what to do (with maps) on the island to assisting with setting up WiFi in the hotel reception. They really made our stay that little more enjoyable.

The island and hotel are certainly highlights of our trip, made that extra bit special by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

As this isn't a major tourist spot (yet), if you can, learn a small amount of italian before you go to help you get by. The really appreciate it when you try, even if you get it wrong!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisEFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Procida Island
0.2 mi away
Albergo La Vigna
Albergo La Vigna
#1 of 12 in Procida Island
269 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La Casa sul Mare
Hotel La Casa sul Mare
#3 of 12 in Procida Island
203 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel & Spa La Suite
Hotel & Spa La Suite
#10 of 12 in Procida Island
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
1.1 mi away
Albergo Solcalante
Albergo Solcalante
#2 of 12 in Procida Island
206 reviews
1.3 mi away
Il Leone di Mare
Il Leone di Mare
#1 of 24 in Procida Island
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Corricella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Corricella

Address: Via Marina di Corricella 88, 80079, Procida Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Procida Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Procida Island
Price Range: $108 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Corricella 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Corricella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing