We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Only good thing was that it was close to the scavi” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel

Apollo Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only good thing was that it was close to the scavi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We check in the hotel, first of all it was hard to communicate with the person up front as she only spoke Italian. She asked for our passports, no big deal, after all we are foreigners right? But she demanded we left the passports with her before strolling around town. We obviously said no, and she also demanded we left the key to our room with her, which we also refused to do. We came back late at night and we had to wait for someone to unlock the "lobby" door for us. She was upset about this as well. The only positive thing of this place was that it was close to the ruins and right in front of a great eatery.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1011Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    7
    8
See reviews for
5
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Donato Val di Comino, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Everything everyone else wrote is so true! The room was backing onto the living space. The lady running the show is so pushy and made us feel uncomforable. The rooms are not clean and you can't even sit down on the toilet. The only positive thing we can say is that we have a great story for friends and family about how bad this hotel really is.

Room Tip: Never go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MadLegit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pompeii hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Poor quality. The worst we have ever stayed in. Advertise colour tv, no tv at all. Advertise visa-card acceptable, but on day of departure flashing a notice 'cash only'. No use complaining, only language spoken is Italian (We tried five other languages). No aircon, bathroom elevated about 30cm above bedroom, no warning notice

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank floris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

Room clean and tidy. Linen old and well worn. If you like sleeping this place was terrible. Cars and trucks driving past all night. No airconditioning and the room was very hot. Would be a great place to stay in winter as it was very close to the diggings.

  • Liked — Close to the pompei diggings
  • Disliked — Very hot room and no airconditioning
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squidie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#17 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Pace Pompei
Albergo Pace Pompei
#18 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Central Rooms Pompei
#21 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amitrano
Hotel Amitrano
#9 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Piccolo Sogno Hotel
Piccolo Sogno Hotel
#23 of 25 in Pompeii
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#22 of 25 in Pompeii
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: Via Carlo Alberto 18, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Apollo Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing