We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Flashback Journey to Pompeii
from $34.60
More Info
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
22
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour vr headsets video life site
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 24 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2016

Visit Pompeii on a Sunday. This is cultural day and entry is free. You won't find this widely advertised.

Wear decent walking shoes as the roads are constructed of large cobblestones and it is very dusty.

Some parts were closed off but still an interesting place to visit.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Pevbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016

This happened to be my favorite guided tour that we took while in Italy. The most expensive, yes, but it was well worth the money.

Our licensed guide was a very knowledgeable local woman who has her heart invested in Pompeii. Her professional degree/profession allowed her to share so much more than I expected to learn and discover on this tour. Though we paid more for this tour because of the 3D/VR aspect, she alone was worth the monies paid.

The VR aspect was so wonderfully fun! There was a gentleman who accompanied the tour guide who handled the "technical" side. He had a great understanding about what videos were available for viewing and appeared to help the tour guide determine what to cover at certain moments depending on crowds and how easily accessible certain areas were at that particular time. They made a good team.

We did go in July and the heat was atrocious. I would suggest to others to take a clean handkerchief to wipe down your brow/face before putting on the VR device. Otherwise you have to deal with a bit of moisture inside the device that can partially obscure your view.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank DHinWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

Our guides were wonderful and the 3D experience really enhanced our visit to Pompei. We would highly recommend it. Even though we didn't bring our children, we have three boys and believe that it would really have made them appreciate the ruins and learn more with the 3D and not get bored or tired.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Wildcat650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2016

My wife and I were hesitant to book this tour thinking it might be too much but at the end of our 10 day trip to Italy this was hands down the best tour we had. The interactive video made us feel like we were in Pompeii during the active life of the people living there. Very worth the cost and all the other tourist seemed to be envious of the gadget we had during the tour.

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, Owner at Flashback Journey to Pompeii, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2016

Thank you Andy for your wonderful review. I just came across it a moment ago. It's always very nice to see our customers enjoying the tour so much. I hope your trip to Italy was an unforgettable one. Keep an eye out for Flashback Journeys in other cities as well, including the U.S.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2016 via mobile

A fabulous tour with the vision of the past and present.
Using the headsets you get a vision of life back in the heady days of Pompei and at the same time, the reality of the ruins give a history lesson as well.
We had a small group tour - just the two of us - and it was perfect.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank 914bryanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Owner at Flashback Journey to Pompeii, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2016

Hi Bryan... thank you for the wonderful review! We're happy you enjoyed your tour.

All the Best,
Jason S
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews