We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & cozy”
Review of Hotel Pace Pompei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pace Pompei
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Charming little hotel. We stayed 3 nights, using Pompei as a base camp. Friendly helpful staff that spoke good English. They took a call while we were out & made the return call at no charge to a driver we had booked to see the beautiful Amalfi coast.
Our room was clean and had fresh towels daily. The shower is a bit dated but nice hot water.
The WiFi was great! After a week in Italy with little or no English we were able to stream in movies on our laptop.
It is an easy walk to everything you need in Pompei, the ruins, restaurants and the train station just down the street. Some of the best meals we had were there in Pompei and we felt safe walking from restaurants and back to our hotel after dark. We do not really do breakfast but my husband walked out to the street brought back the best chocolate donuts & coffee from the shop next to the hotel.each morning while I got ready for the day.
I have added a map to help you get on the right train. I suggest that you print it and take it with you to get your train tickets in Naples. They sometimes put tourist on the on the wrong train. They assume everyone wants to go straight ruins.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Robi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 209 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

A great little hotel which more than suited our needs of an overnight stay for the ruins (note .... It is quite a long walk to the ruins but it is just a short taxi ride approx 10euros) it is ideally located for the main town and the mainline railway station

The room itself was nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom shower however did have quite a bit of mould around the bottom that a little bit of bleach and brush would get rid of.

The reception girl was very pleasant and was only too keen to show us to our room.

At night time the place gets locked up very securely but you are given a key to access if you return late. (Note the key to the gate can be a little tricky but does work eventually)

Overall considering the cheap price we thought it was superb value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NauticatUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Good- location, A/C worked great, 1/2 the staff very nice

The Bad- dirty room, dust and grime as if it had not seen a cleaning rag in a good year...bed was a joke! If you like sleeping on a rock with sharp edges then the bed is for you...towels were as thin as paper more like kitchen towels and smelled...the bathroom was disgusting, shower was clogged, and there is no way anyone can comfortably take a shower in it. I had to open the door so that I could lean down a bit to shave my legs...soap provides consisted of a small little foil like pack for a room with 2 occupants...breakfast was ok bread and coffee, along with food particles still stuck on the allegedly clean cups and dishes...Mosquitos in room since they leave your door open when they supposedly clean with your belongings in full display when your room door faces directly to the outside...

Would NEVER EVER Stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H198405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

January is cold in Pompei. Heat was rationed to a few hours. The temp in my room was 60° most of the night! I froze despite 2 pairs of socks and long underwear. The floors were so cold they were like ice. No mats or rugs were available. Taking a shower in that cold was out of the question. The 'towels' were as thin as a 50 year old linen dish cloth. No glass or even plastic cup in the bathroom. Breakfast was brought to my room- a pot of tea, some wrapped biscuits and a croissant. The pictures on their website showing a lavish spread is a joke. The mattress was thin and hard as a rock, blanket (1) was polyester. Avoid this place!!!!

Room Tip: I would not want anyone else to have such a bad experience as I did
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaylorMemphis_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank neville a
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 day stay in the Naples area, 3 nights staying at the Alberto Pace in Pompei. We chose the hotel to fit our budget and also because it offered car parking. We struggled to find it initially, but thanks to a restaurant owner who actually despatched a waiter on a scooter to show us the way (this really did sum up the people of pompei), we found it. It is an excellent location just a few hundred yards from the TrenItalia railway station (further from the Circumvesuvia station, and a long walk from the Scavi stop on that line) and just a few hundred yards from the main square.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The little maps they provide are very helpful and the staff are knowledgable. The room itself was pleasant and comfortable although a touch basic.There is a nice roof terrace to sit out on. The room overlooks the nice green courtyard that is the entrance to the hotel. This was very nice and made the hotel nice and quiet. The only reason for stopping short at 4 stars is that basic facilities were not available, such as a kettle and tea/ coffee, or even some glasses. This made the roof terrace a bit less pleasant as a glass of wine was not easy!

Pompei itself was the big surprise. We based ourselves in Pompei to avoid the bustle of Naples or th cost of Sorrento and then visted the ruins at both Pompei and Ercolano. What we expected was tourist town. We were very wrong; clearly the area alongside the rins has the souvenir stals you'd expect, but the rest of the town is a thriving community with its own identity. The people were delightful and very welcoming. The central square is alive in the evenings and it is generally a very pleasant place to spend time. Others have found Pompei to be less appealing, but I personally preferred it to Sorrento as its identity was stronger. We visited mid-October and enjoyed great weather and a busy, thriving but not tourist-choked town.

We will definitely return, and would use Albergo Pace again. We'll just take some glasses and a travel kettle next time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamjayzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This little hotel is just perfect: excellent location (within walking distance you find everything: the ruins, the bus to the Vesuvius, the station for an evening in Naples, the Cathedral, the shops), very spacious room and excellent breakfast (I am Italian, trust me when i say it was lovely caffe', cappuccino e cornetto!). Staff was very friendly and helpful too, which helps! Monia and David

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monia28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 26 in Pompeii
1,577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#5 of 26 in Pompeii
1,384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 26 in Pompeii
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 26 in Pompeii
1,078 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#3 of 26 in Pompeii
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Visagi
Hotel Visagi
#9 of 26 in Pompeii
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pace Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pace Pompei

Address: Via Sacra 29, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range: $44 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Pace Pompei 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pace Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Pace Pompei Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing