We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but very tired hotel”
Review of Hotel Amitrano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Amitrano
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location but very tired hotel”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Hotel is centrally located which is great for walking to and from locations and amenities. Rooms are very tired, especially the bathrooms. The bathrooms are VERY tiny and it's necessary to almost climb across the toilet to get into the shower. The shower was in desperate need of a good clean with a lot of mould build up needing to be sorted. The sink had no working plug. Breakfast was included in the price and while adequate it certainly wasn't value for money.
My biggest concern was the security at the hotel. Keys are left at reception when you go out and of course as a tourist you come and go a lot. Keys were then left by the hotel on the reception counter for guests to collect when they came in rather than handed out by staff. Several times the keys were on the counter with staff no where in sight. We were never questioned by staff when collecting keys and did at least three times collect our key from a selection of at least five others without seeing a staff member. It would've been easy for anyone to come in the front door and take one or more of the keys without staff knowing and then gain access to rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie66nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    22
    8
    13
See reviews for
44
34
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our class, from Berkeley, CA, was in the Bay of Naples for two weeks at the end of March/beginning of April to visit different sites and museums in the region. We decided to stay in Pompei because it's a nice town with good restaurants, bars, cafes, etc. and is conveniently situated on three major train routes.

When it came to selecting a hotel for our group (varied from 10-14 people), Hotel Amitrano was the perfect choice. It's one of the larger hotels of Pompei, so they were able to accommodate all of us (single rooms for everyone and more rooms available should friends in the area decide to join us for a few days). The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable (I had a nice terrace overlooking Via Lepanto!). In addition, their large dining room/restaurant area was a great place for us to meet over breakfast and dinner. The daily breakfast offers a variety of choices (croissants, cereal, bread, yogurt, toast, cheese, cold cuts, coffee, tea) and the restaurant has a delicious and affordable dinner option (great for the weary traveler).

The location itself cannot be beat; it's in the heart of Pompei, next to two train stations for two different lines, and is close to the archaeological site (10 minutes on foot). It's in the vicinity of a number of good restaurants, gelato and pastry shops, and businesses. Because it's so central and in the city center, we all felt very comfortable walking around, even late at night.

The hotel is family-run and the staff is very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The staff was even able to organize a van to drive our group to the Naples train station for a great price! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Bay of Naples!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Location is excellent but this is a tired hotel. Family run with a few generations running around. The room was dismal, fairly clean but dark & dingy. They convinced to eat in their restaurant which served a very good traditional Italian meal. The garden restaurant was an amusing indoor room separated by fake trees to the driveway to the parking garage, luckily no traffic appeared while we ate! (Parking is NOT included in the price) Inexpensive & ideal for one night with an early train the next morning (Sunday), the male receptionist reassured us the trains ran every 20 minutes to Naples. We arrived at the station to discover there are only 2 Sunday trains. 50 Euro cab ride to Naples! No worries, all in a day's adventure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLWToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed in this hotel because it was close to the archeological site. It's within walking distance.
Very pleasantly surprised. Rooms were very clean and the bathroom was spacious enough. The room had a medium sized terrace and the bed was very comfortable. I slept we'll.
I ate at the restaurant and the food was a good price, the pasta was good. Breakfast was ample. I travelled with other guests, who had no trouble getting a simple meal prepared out of hours. No swimming pool on sight, but the owners organised for us to swim at another close by premises at no charge.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les12h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been in Hotel Amitrano last week.
This family hotel has everything to make guests happy.
We chose it because we wanted to stay in city center. Walking distance from the Cathedral ad the ruins.
Rooms are nice and clean and staff is helpful and professional. Even the owner is walking around and can give you many suggestions about Pompei.

We will sure once go back in the summer, then the hotel and the sun will shine together.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solomareRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We decided to sleep in Pompeii because we wanted to be close to the Vesuvio for our visit the following day. We found this hotel quite convenient and central. It is a family run hotel, that has seen better days but is comfortable and pretty decent. We parked the car in their parking lot for free and the rates of the rooms were reasonable. Of course, it´s not a great hotel but I don´t think Pompeii is such a well sought place as to justify having some fancy place to stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank monicaaguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerpen
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

it is a middle class hotel with his normal + and -. About interior you can discuss. For me is is nor beautiful renovated,
but general in price quality it is fine!
The location is very good, directly on the main shopping street, 3min. by food to the main place and 5min to the archelogical place. The family run stuff is friendly and our room was very big, but they have also smaller ones. No extra charges for kids.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms to the street, they are all big. In the night the street is not very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juditha33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.3 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#5 of 26 in Pompeii
1,348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 26 in Pompeii
1,025 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 26 in Pompeii
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#8 of 26 in Pompeii
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pace Pompei
Hotel Pace Pompei
#9 of 26 in Pompeii
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#18 of 26 in Pompeii
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amitrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amitrano

Property: Hotel Amitrano
Address: Via Lepanto 93-95, Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pompeii
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amitrano 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Amitrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amitrano Hotel Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing