We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, family run and friendly”
Review of Hotel Amitrano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Amitrano
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient, family run and friendly”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed in this hotel because it was close to the archeological site. It's within walking distance.
Very pleasantly surprised. Rooms were very clean and the bathroom was spacious enough. The room had a medium sized terrace and the bed was very comfortable. I slept we'll.
I ate at the restaurant and the food was a good price, the pasta was good. Breakfast was ample. I travelled with other guests, who had no trouble getting a simple meal prepared out of hours. No swimming pool on sight, but the owners organised for us to swim at another close by premises at no charge.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les12h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    43
    22
    8
    13
See reviews for
43
34
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been in Hotel Amitrano last week.
This family hotel has everything to make guests happy.
We chose it because we wanted to stay in city center. Walking distance from the Cathedral ad the ruins.
Rooms are nice and clean and staff is helpful and professional. Even the owner is walking around and can give you many suggestions about Pompei.

We will sure once go back in the summer, then the hotel and the sun will shine together.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solomareRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We decided to sleep in Pompeii because we wanted to be close to the Vesuvio for our visit the following day. We found this hotel quite convenient and central. It is a family run hotel, that has seen better days but is comfortable and pretty decent. We parked the car in their parking lot for free and the rates of the rooms were reasonable. Of course, it´s not a great hotel but I don´t think Pompeii is such a well sought place as to justify having some fancy place to stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank monicaaguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerpen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

it is a middle class hotel with his normal + and -. About interior you can discuss. For me is is nor beautiful renovated,
but general in price quality it is fine!
The location is very good, directly on the main shopping street, 3min. by food to the main place and 5min to the archelogical place. The family run stuff is friendly and our room was very big, but they have also smaller ones. No extra charges for kids.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms to the street, they are all big. In the night the street is not very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juditha33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent one night at Hotel Amitrano in September, arriving late in the evening after fun and games with the Circumvesuviana train from Naples (note: the Santuarini station is the one labelled as just 'Pompei' on the Circumvesuviana line; if you get off at Pompei Scavi you face a long walk). The surrounding streets don't feel the most secure; it did not take us long to realise why so many visitors take day trips to the city and not stay the night (although this isn't strictly the fault of the hotel, and was probably one of the better looking places in the area).

We were shown to our room on the second floor, although the receptionist seemed extremely eager to get away and did not offer us details of when breakfast was served, check out time etc (and the hotel was unable to give or show me a map of the city, despite being able to see several guidebooks on the other side of the reception desk). The room itself was adequate and the bed comfortable (being in a 'deluxe' room which did offer a balcony but on to a rather horrible side street).

Breakfast the next morning was unfortunately less than enjoyable, with croissants dry and the coffee providing a somewhat bitter aftertaste. To their credit however the service was friendly and an effort was being made, but by the time bread and meat was brought to our table we decided to not venture any further and so got up and went back to our room (I'm not sure if they would have kept bringing things out!).

We were able to leave our luggage with them behind reception for the day following our check out which was useful. Card payment was not accepted however, which was a little frustrating and unusual we thought for a large hotel with a similarly sizeable restaurant on the ground floor.

All in all, this did what we needed and gave us a good night's sleep, but we shall not be returning to the hotel (or probably the city) for an overnight stay again. It is a shame as the place should have so much potential with the simply stunning ancient ruins around the corner. In the future we will stay in Sorrento or nearby and travel into the city for the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was dubious when I was told of this hotel, but my fears were unfounded! This is a very good Hotel, well placed for visiting the ruins and indeed sight seeing around Pompeii. The room was good with aircon, and the staff very friendly and helpful.
Carparking round the back was a boon. Plenty of restaurants around for eating out. Would I stay there again? most definately. For a 3 star hotel, it exceeds all expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiftnick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night along with some family. The staff were pleasant enough and helpful since we had a baby in our party - there was no problem with getting a bed for the baby and getting water boiled for bottles etc. The location is also pretty good, just a ten minute walk from the ruins and right in the middle of a number of local shops. The air con was also very good which was a relief - it was very hot when we were visiting.

The downside were the rooms themselves - dark and dingy and in great need of a makeover. Also with damp patches on the walls. Actually the hotel was clean but somehow the depressing decor made it feel dirty which is disappointing. The rooms were a good size though and we could easily have accommodated another person in ours.

Breakfast wasn't particularly great but this is common enough in Italian hotels.

I think we also paid over the odds - 100 euro a room - and it wasn't worth this much. The 65 euro price quoted below seems much closer to the mark.

Not a bad place to stay and I might stay there again but only if Certe Notte was booked up (which it sadly was on this trip).

Room Tip: I would ask to see the room before accepting it - there may be others that are better than the ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belfastgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.3 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#5 of 25 in Pompeii
1,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 25 in Pompeii
1,526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pace Pompei
Hotel Pace Pompei
#9 of 25 in Pompeii
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#18 of 25 in Pompeii
50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 25 in Pompeii
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amitrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amitrano

Property: Hotel Amitrano
Address: Via Lepanto 93-95, Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pompeii
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amitrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amitrano Hotel Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing