We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location but bad experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Piccolo Sogno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Piccolo Sogno
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location but bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

The price was reasonable and great location. The staff were generally knowledgeable and friendly but in one case TOO friendly. I was travelling alone and stayed 2 nights and had a bad experience with one of the staff members. Note to women travelling alone - Find some where else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 8923DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    50
    24
    22
    17
See reviews for
36
74
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
187 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

we ended here by default but had such a great stay - Alfonso is a real example of Italian hospitality! the rooms are spacious and clean, the location is central, close to the station as well as to the ruines. lovely restaurant just around the corner. two days here made us feel as part of the locals!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed here for two nights between a stay in Amalfi before heading on to Rome. It was very well priced, spotlessly clean and the staff were so friendly. Alfonso is a student of archeology and very knowledgable about the Pompeii Scavi ruins. My one regret is that we didn't have longer here - Pompei is lovely

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

The reception area is on the first floor,where you'll be warmly welcomed by either the owners or staff. This hotel is located in one of the chic quiet streets of Pompei, near the piazza,and a 12minute walk to the entrance to the Ruins in via Roma. The entrance to the Excavations at the Villa Dei Misteri is further walk, possibly 20mins. Each room has a bathroom,wardrobe tv, desk, comfortable bed/beds. The friendly owner,Fabio, has cleverly retained the spaciousness of the rooms by adding modular foldout beds which provide extra sleeping arrangements-ideal for families. Each well-lit room is smartly decorated in a theme from the Pompei Ruins.I found the continental breakfast more than adequate. Staff make delicious coffee.Fabio wants you to enjoy your stay so ask him about attractions.He now offers tours as well.Great value for money here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PompeiOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed here after enforced flight delay due to volcanic ash and cancelled flight. It was over priced at 70 euros per night per twin room. When we had stayed at Hotel Forum in Pompei for only 55 euros for 4 star accomodation. Breakfast was croissants and coffee - tasty but not a lot of choice! The rooms were basic and the net curtains were scruffy. It was noisy during the early hours of the morning - trucks and early morning traffic and noisy neighbours. Internet access only if you have your own laptop. Stay at Hotel Forum rather than here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldennis0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore-MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

We are still at this hotel, but we are so impressed we decided to go ahead and sing its praises. The staff is amazing. Our son was dealing with a sour stomach. The staff -- despite the slight language barrier -- did a fantastic job in helping us secure and administer the proper medicine (No CVS, RiteAid, etc, here). They are very accommodating and nothing seems too difficult for them.

The initial price may seem a bit high, but the experience is worth every penny. If you travel with a family of four (2 adult, 2 children), you know how difficult it is to find a room in many European hotels. This hotel provides adequate space for every family member. We will definitely be staying here again in the future.

If you find yourself in Pompei, I highly recommend this hotel. The family running it really understands the meaning of customer service.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cymru-freak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, uk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

Tiny hotel with 7 rooms, ideal location 1 minute walk from the main square and about 5 to the ruins and the same to the train station.Very clean, comfy beds and very helpful pleasant staff where nothing is too much trouble despite the language barrier!.Downsides are the outside noises but later realised this didnt effect us because we were so tired each night with all the walking and the breakfast is only sweet options but overall it was a really welcome break after a days busy site seeing.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Pace Pompei
Albergo Pace Pompei
#14 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#17 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Iside
Hotel Iside
#9 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maiuri
Hotel Maiuri
#11 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amleto
Hotel Amleto
#20 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccolo Sogno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccolo Sogno

Property: Hotel Piccolo Sogno
Address: Via Carlo Alberto I Traversa n. 2 | 1st Crossbeam, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Piccolo Sogno 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Piccolo Sogno a small and charming two-star hotel, a few steps from the Cathedral of Pompei and the famous Riuns. A place where quiet and comfort will qualify your stay. The Hotel Piccolo Sogno is a small resort, family-run hotel, situated in the center of Pompeii, it offers single, double, triple and quadruple rooms all recently renovated, with bathroom, TV, internet connection (wi-fi ) access and air conditioning. The rooms at Hotel Piccolo Sogno are simple and elegant with wooden furniture and warm colors, the rooms all have private bathroom, air conditioning and a plasma TV. Some rooms have a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Piccolo Sogno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing