We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst meal and service I have had - anywhere!”
Review of Hotel MEC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel MEC
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We at here at the recommendation of the Sunland our operator following our visit o the Pompeii ruins. We were all taken o th restaurant about 300 metres to a restaurant a fair way fom the main area we were told that this restaurant was our meeting place ( in 50 minutes) told hat hey recommended the restaurant and basically led everyone inside. By that time the idea of walking elsewhere to get a Meal in the time that would be left was not not feasible.

The set meal was a salad, main course, desert and drink for €14.

The salad was ordinary (and it was the best course). All four at our table ordered the same meat meal. Two got their meal quickly and the other two waited 25 minutes to get their meal. The late meals, when they arrived consisted of a part of a piece of meat on the plate. They had torn a small piece of meat into two pieces and placed a part of each on the two plates. Each piece was roughly 3 inches by 3 inches. We were also given a small number of fried chips.

The desert was a plastic cup with a sugary clear liquid which tasted horrible. We were given very small plastic spoons. No one in our group had more than a taste.

The service was not only poor it was disrespectful. Food was literally "thrown" at the table.

Sunland needs to think more carefully about where It takes / recommends people for a meal.

This place was a shocker!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 92 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Lunched here for E14 at the recommendation of the tour guide as they were able to park the coach nearby & it's not far from the exit to the historic site. For that price I got a large pizza margherita with a side green salad which I didn't eat much of along with a drink (bottle of beer) some bread and a small tub of ice cream for dessert. Charged 2 Euro for a small bottle of water. My recommendation would be to look around before stopping here. My wife's main dish was tomatoes & mozzarella cheese.& others had omelette & chips. Don't know what the hotel rooms are like.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We ate in their restaurant because we were looking for somewhere to have lunch before going into Pompeii and were enticed by their offer of free parking if you eat in their restaurant. Over priced, horrible, intimidating staff who are dishonest if you don't check your bill. They felt that we didn't spend enough with them and were trying to pressurise us into ordering more food that we didn't want. Soul-less and just plain horrible. Avoid and go somewhere - anywhere - else!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2005

My wife and I both agree that interaction with people is a huge factor in making or breaking a vacation trip. In this case the staff of the Marius et Caesar Hotel were wonderful. Some spoke English, some didn't but they were all warm, freindly, caring. They went out of their way to make sure we knew where we were going, warned us about dangers, gave us the best routes to our destination and carried on lengthy conversations with us-we felt like family!

7  Thank Christianpastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank rafamartin2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank DFLFontenais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#10 of 26 in Pompeii
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 26 in Pompeii
577 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pace Pompei
Hotel Pace Pompei
#8 of 26 in Pompeii
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Iside
Hotel Iside
#12 of 26 in Pompeii
276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#21 of 26 in Pompeii
52 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#5 of 26 in Pompeii
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MEC

Address: Via Plinio 52, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range: $57 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MEC 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel MEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing