We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel and I simply loved it”
Review of Hotel Palma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palma
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy hotel and I simply loved it”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Very easy to find and parking is just next to the hotel. Staff absolutely brilliant. They pointed out a pizzeria next door with fabulous pizzas. Try it!. And balcony was great for sitting in the evening, having a drink and observing the crazy italian drivers, it was a good fun. Good price and great location. You are just 5min away from the ruins of Pompeii. Perhaps only breakfast not to our taste but if you like cakes for breakfast then you will love it- lots of cakes to choose from.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank eglutik35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    95
    43
    11
    9
See reviews for
69
86
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worth, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

A really nice small hotel. Staff were brilliant and very helpful. Really nice breakfast and dinners to be had in the restaurant. Room was spotless, the balcony was great for 'people watching'. So convenient to all the amenities, Pompeii etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Older hotel for a good price,
in the center of Pompei, good breakfast,
verry value information about closing times
good beds an bathroom

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedro-almodovar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Clean, but proprietor may have seen too much of Basil Fawlty

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silversue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

After reading a number of positive reviews I was quite happy when this was the hotel that came with a tour I booked covering a range of local sights. However, I was disappointed with what I found. The hotel has apparently been rated four star, which I know is based on certain specific amenities, but to my mind implies a certain quality of finish that just wasn't there.
Our room was a good size, but the window was so high up the wall that I had to stand on the chair arm to see out of the bottom of it. Not being able to see out made it feel a bit prison-like. When I pulled back the thick nets in the hope of seeing the sky at least, I uncovered massive cracks in the wall above the window.
The bathroom was pretty tired and shabby - the towels had frayed edges and were horribly thin. There was a shower attachment, but only designed for hand use, despite the bath ending in an alcove which really lent itself to have a small screen for a shower. The water pressure wasn't brilliant and the shower head obviously doesn't get cleaned as a lot of the holes were blocked, or partially blocked and sending water out at crazy angles.
The aircon was a bit noisy, but very effective and nicely aimed towards the bed.
The fridge didn't work and the lamp on the dressing table fritzed and went out if you moved the cable even slighty.
The room had a safe, albeit a very old-fashioned one that had a lock that you slotted in through a hole in the door. I had to request it from Reception, it wasn't in place when I arrived. Overall the decor was very dated, and very shabby - holes in the wall, peeling wallpaper, grubby patches.
The lift was painfully slow and prone to "forgetting" that it has been called. There are only four floors though, so since I actually like taking the stairs I didn't mind.
Breakfast was a small, mainly sweet buffet. If you like cake for breakfast, you'll be happier than me. I like a savoury breakfast and got a choice of some processed cheese and slices of meat. The bread rolls were superb though - soft and fresh.
The dining room is very plain and undecorated and the table cloths often featured red wine stains from the night before.
Two things I will agree with from other reviews. Firstly, the rooftop terrace is lovely - nice views, comfy chairs and really pleasant space to enjoy a sundowner.
Whilst I wouldn't say that all the staff members were awesome, no-one was unhelpful and a couple were exceptionally good. Lydia really stood out to me as someone who really cared that you enjoyed your meal and that you had what you wanted.
As others have mentioned, there is a free-to-use PC in Reception and you can buy wi-fi. However, it is not the hotel that sells the wi-fi, another company provides the service and you subscribe to them. The hotel staff did seem genuinely baffled as to why I might want to use wi-fi on my phone rather than use their pc and also had no knowledge of the wi-fi service, such as how much it cost.
The location is good, so if you want a reasonable base, pleasant staff and you're not fussed about frills, this is a good choice. If you like a four-star finish, a good quality bathroom and a touch of class, look elsewhere.
I travelled with my OH as part of a larger group.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monk-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Right opposite the Pompeii Circumvesuviana train station.

Friendly and helpful reception and restaurant staff. We needed their help with choice of trips and food.

Our top floor room was very clean and big comfortable bed, the Sky TV did not work, the Jacuzzi bath was great after a long day site seeing.

The roof top hot tub was out of action but we had no time to use it.

Short walk to the main square with lots of restaurants and beautiful church, not far to the back gate of the ruins.

Go to Sorrento on the train then to Almalfie by bus and back by boat great day out. Much cheaper than organised trip.
We tried to do Vesuvius and Pompeii ruins on the same day, to much.

Room Tip: Try for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We have stayed in a number of hotels in Italy but this is simply the best. It has a prime location in relation to Pompei Santuario station and the heart of this small, but beautiful, town and serves as a great base for exploring Campania.

Our room was large with a lot of natural light,. There was also a balcony and roomy ensuite.

There is a roof solarium and a jacuzzi which was perfect after a day spent exploring the many attractions in the area.

The breakfasts were a comprehensive, all-you-can-eat-type with a superb selection of foods and fruits available.

As for staff, they were absolutely first class and, a word I do not use lightly, efficient.

They made us feel like friends not guests but were never fawning. I won't name them here since I have sent a separate email to the hotel to thank them and I do not have the names of the backroom staff who, all together, made our stay extremely pleasurable.

I cannot praise this hotel enough, but I think you get the idea that I rate this place highly.

All things being equal, we will be returning to Pompei next year and would not consider staying anywhere else.

Pete Chandler

PS Look our for bar Rosso and Nero which is between the hotel and the station, plus Bar Cobla opposite the Santuario church.

Also, if you want a good restaurant, you will have a difficult task to beat Ristorante Piazza at the Santuario end of via Carlo Alberto.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking via Piave, great for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Accipitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#4 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#3 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.5 mi away
Costa Hotel
Costa Hotel
#5 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maiuri
Hotel Maiuri
#6 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma

Property: Hotel Palma
Address: Via Piave 15 | Campania-Napoli, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palma 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities include a well-equipped meeting room and Internet point, a cosy bar and TV lounge as well as a delightful citrus garden and splendid sun terrace. The hotel is provided with a refined hall, bar and TV lounge, conference room, a typical Mediterranean cooking restaurant, solarium with mini Jacuzzi swimming pool, internet point,Wi.Fi on the rooms, fax and safe service. They are provided with all the comfort : conditioned air/heating, private services with bath-tub/shower, direct dialling telephone, windows or balconies, drink cooler, safe boxes, hair dryer and TV . The hotel is provided with double, triple, quadruple rooms, and junior suites with hydro massage bath-tub and shower to grant to our guest a pleasant and unforgettable stay. A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room each morning between 7 a.M. And 10 a.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Hotel Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing