We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal spot to stay while visiting Pompeii and environs”
Review of Hotel Diana Pompei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diana Pompei
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Bracebridge, Canada
1 review
“Ideal spot to stay while visiting Pompeii and environs”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We had a memorable stay in Pompeii not just because of the ruins with its friendly stray dogs, the fresh oranges off the tree or the fantastic weather, but because of the Hotel Diana itself. The front desk staff speak English well, were extremely gracious and helpful. Alessandro in particular was more than willing to share his knowledge and passion of the city's history and answer any questions we had. A substantial breakfast was served in a beautiful room downstairs in the hotel. The triple room we had was one of the smaller ones on the main floor, which suited us because my daughters were usually a few steps away in the lobby using the free WIFI. If you book here, pay attention to the directions they send you! Unfortunately I packed my directions, then customer service staff at the train station in Naples told us to use the Circumvesuviana train to Pompeii instead of the Trentialia regional train to Sorrento which stops in Pompeii. Hence we had to drag our luggage to Hotel Diana 20 minutes from the Villa de Mysteri station at nightfall instead of about 30 seconds from the main station. We were lucky to meet some amazing people who were staying at the hotel, had made the same mistake and even helped carry our luggage as they guided us there. Location of this hotel is excellent, in the main area and close to everything but just enough off the street to ensure a quiet night's rest.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryRobertson37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    515
    97
    11
    4
See reviews for
474
676
65
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed here recently for three nights and it was ok. The location is good for Pompei, it's a few blocks from the ruins. The rooms were very small, the breakfast was less than adequate.

I would stay here again if I wanted a location near the ruins. I would not stay here for business, there's no room in the room to work. The free internet only works in limited spots, it didn't in our room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We did a tour of Italy from north to south, staying in 8 hotels & this was the best of the lot - including the 4* & 5* ones!
The Diana is lovely; modern, nice furnishings, clean & comfortable; 2mins from railway stn, 10mins from ruins. Wifi is free, the breakfast was good. The staff were really nice - very friendly & extremely helpful. I was sent a lot of information by e-mail when I booked, which was really good. If you are arriving by train from Naples, please pay attention to the info included, I didn't & got ripped off BIG TIME by a taxi driver. It is a long way from Naples - which I didn't realise.
The ruins are a must, but allow a lot of time. Got a bus to Vesuvius and did the trek up to the top - this is fantastic - but make sure you have a good pair of walking boots, also it is FREEZING!!! I wore 4 layers, including 2 coverings for my head - I couldn't feel the tops of my legs (I wore jeans) so recommend thermals. We went in February, but I would still cover up if going in the height of summer....I have never been so cold!
Recommend a restaurant called 'Pizza e Pasta' ...come out of Diana, up the main rd, turn right & it is in the corner to your right. Good food, friendly people & good price.
Definitely want to go back to Pompeii & will most definitely be staying at the Diana.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzij5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

The staff - who all speak excellent English - are wonderfully friendly and helpful with heaps of great information about the region. I wish I had stayed more than 4 days because there was so much more to see than I knew before I got there. The staff expressed great disappointment that I hadn't emailed them before I arrived so that they could get special gluten free food in, which meant it could only be provided (and brought to me beautifully presented) from the 2nd morning onward.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassieroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at the Hotel Diana. All of the staff were really willing to help with itinerary/directions/guidance on local transport etc which made things easier as Italy not particularly user friendly for tourists.
Hotel was clean. Breakfast was good. Lovely garden with oranges and lemons. Free internet which meant we could check in online for return flight without any problem. Even use of huge umberallas when it rained which was thoughtful and useful!
Our room was fine - we had room with patio.
Only downfall was that room had a constant faint smell of stale smoke. I think this was because maybe rooms with patio are popular with people who smoke. I would still choose this hotel again but would ask for an upstairs room. Everything else was good and the hotel was good value for money. We only paid 300 Euros for 4 nights.
Overall this was a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabel1348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslin, Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Our stay at the Diana was made all the more enjoyable by the staff who were extremely helpful. The room we had was on the ground floor and looked out to the front of the hotel, it was clean and quiet and the en-suite bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was simple but there was lots of it. The ruins at Pompei are literally a 10 minute walk away as are a number of excellent restaurants. Overall we had a great time there and would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berentis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osny, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Good location, new, quiet, clean, good service, car parking, etc..
Difficult to find: a pannel or two on the way would be usefull.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanpierrelarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
1,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#5 of 25 in Pompeii
1,344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#3 of 25 in Pompeii
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 25 in Pompeii
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Visagi
Hotel Visagi
#8 of 25 in Pompeii
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Costa Hotel
Costa Hotel
#4 of 25 in Pompeii
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Pompei

Property: Hotel Diana Pompei
Address: Vicolo Sant'Abbondio 12, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pompeii
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pompeii
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pompeii
#4 Business Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana Pompei 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated hotel with modern and glamour refinements is winner of the Italian Hospitality Awards 2007 3-star category.Ideally located for public transport users, walking distance from the ruins and the famous Sanctuary.Geogeous garden with orange trees, lemon hedges and typically Mediterranean plants.On request we can organizes wonderful excursion to: Naples; Sorrento; Amalfi; Positano; and Mount Vesuvius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Diana Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Pompei Hotel
Diana Pompei Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing