We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Diana -an excellent accommodation.”
Review of Hotel Diana Pompei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diana Pompei
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is an excellent recommendation for tourists,travelling by own car.The hotel is easy to
reach.The position in the city of Pompei allows to visit all places of interest by foot - walk.
The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guenter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,561)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Diana Pompei
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

the hotel was easy to find, rooms were a little small but clean and comfortable
staff were very pleasant and helpful. Close the the national railway station. Easy access to the back entrance of the ruins. Several good restaurants close to the hotel.
Excellent hotel for the price. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronald h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear valued guest,

thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hotel Diana.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My overall impression of the hotel and staff was excellent. It was clean and the reservation were handled efficiently. They answered all my up front questions within a few hours by email.

The breakfast had a decent variety of Italian breakfast items and a few western items like Corn Flakes.

The negative on this hotel is try not to accept a room in the Annex (rooms 10, 11 and 12). They are clean and nicely furnished, but they are remote from the main hotel.

It is about 100 meters down the street in an apartment building. The rooms were nice but there is no reception for the hotel at that location, there is no room or lobby phone and the wireless was up and down the first day until I helped them trouble shoot the problem with their DSL / XL connection.

The real drawback is that one person can't leave without the other one because there is no way to contact the room from the front door or the lobby and if you take the keys with you the lights go out.

Also you have to carry three keys one for the front door of the building, one for an inner door to rooms 10,11 & 12 and a third to open the room.

Finally Pompei guide tried to meet us at the Annex but the hotel had no way to contact us to meet him. We had originally met out guide earlier in the morning but the Pompei staff decided to go on strike until 10:30 AM. So he brought us back to the hotel and came back about 10 to pick us up since by then the Poppei staff had settled their grievance and opened the Pompei ruins.

The hotel is close to the Tren Italia station. It is a nice walk about 3 KM from the ruins and the train that goes to Sorento. Overall I would recommend the hotel but avoid the annex until they fix the communication and access problems.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cubanoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I won't bore the reader with general details, but I can say what made our stay special here: the staff. Our car broke down and needed a week and 1500 Euros to repair. Hotel staff not only found us a mechanic and commented on the mechanic's reliability, but found and negotiated a rental car for us during this diificult time. They even brought us warm mily at night for our child, at no extra charge. Above all, the staff were genuine in their hospitality, making us feel like we were a part of their family. Breakfast was good; courtyard in back was pleasant and fresh. Hotel was very clean and tastefully designed. The hotel lived up to its great reviews for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your time. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that Hotel Diana staff made you feel like part of the family.

We hope to accomodate you again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a quiet hotel close to the train station and easy walking distance to the entrance to the archaeological site. Nicely fitted out and clean and staff are helpful. Would definitely stay again. Very good value

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

we thank you for your review.

Our gests’ reviews, both positive and negative, are very important as they give us the way to improve and give us the right energy to go on.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 7 nights in November, and were very impressed with the knowledgeable and friendly staff. The ruins were within easy walking distance, as were two of the three main train stations to which we could go to get to Herculaneum and the Amalfi Coast. The bedroom was very clean and the bed very comfortable, ideal for myself as I have spinal osteoarthritis. The breakfast was plentiful and in buffet format; there was no limit on the amount one could eat! There is a pleasant, sheltered garden area for smokers and those wishing to relax with a book. The free Wi-Fi access can be accessed through two computer terminals in a comfortable lounge area by reception, which also has a television although one may feel self-conscious using it in such a public area. The password for the Wi-Fi can be used for free by those with iPhones or laptops. The hotel is excellent value and very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

How wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Diana! Thank you very much for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.

Thank you as well for your comments on our facilities.

We really looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hotel Diana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Have just returned froma 7 night stay in this small, clean, family owed and run hotel. The staff are bi/tri lingual with an encyclopaedic amount of information on the sights to see, places to eat, travel, costs,etc.They have answers to all your questions, supported by maps, timetables, opening /closing times, everything to make the most of your stay.Nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel is quite basic, with a simple, but adequate, breakfast. Everywhere is very clean, the bathroom and plumbing faultless, powerful shower and endless hot water.

Sights we saw, in order of preference,
1. The Tower by the church in Pompeii, 2 Euros each for the best views of the ruins and new town. 80M up.
2. The ruins at Pompeii. We had a private tour guide and learned more in 2 hours than we had ever expected.We saw every centimetre, took 6+ hours, but worth every moment.
3. Mt Vesuvius. Wear good walking shoes, the climb is very steep, but fabulous at the top. One of lifes must.
4.Herculaneum.Very difficult to find, but even better than Pompeii. You need them both to compare and contrast. This sight has better finacial backing and it shows. Well preserved, and very beautiful on a smaller scale.
5.We hired a car and over 2 days did the Sorrento to Solerno coast road, returning through the mountains, each day. (We took out extra insurance, just as well, as we were scapped when stationary!!) The usual tourist towns were expensive and crowded, the smaller ones looking tired. We were advised of smaller ones along the coast and these were lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

we thank you for your review.

Our gests’ reviews, both positive and negative, are very important as they give us the way to improve and give us the right energy to go on.

We are really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Diana.

We are looking forward to meeting you once agian in the future.

Best whishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 26 in Pompeii
1,048 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#3 of 26 in Pompeii
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#5 of 26 in Pompeii
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 26 in Pompeii
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pace Pompei
Hotel Pace Pompei
#8 of 26 in Pompeii
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Visagi
Hotel Visagi
#9 of 26 in Pompeii
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Pompei

Address: Vicolo Sant'Abbondio 12, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pompeii
#1 Family Hotel in Pompeii
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pompeii
#4 Business Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range: $63 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana Pompei 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated hotel with modern and glamour refinements is winner of the Italian Hospitality Awards 2007 3-star category.Ideally located for public transport users, walking distance from the ruins and the famous Sanctuary.Geogeous garden with orange trees, lemon hedges and typically Mediterranean plants.On request we can organizes wonderful excursion to: Naples; Sorrento; Amalfi; Positano; and Mount Vesuvius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diana Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Pompei Hotel
Diana Pompei Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing