We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Diana Pompei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diana Pompei
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a quiet hotel close to the train station and easy walking distance to the entrance to the archaeological site. Nicely fitted out and clean and staff are helpful. Would definitely stay again. Very good value

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your review.

Our gests’ reviews, both positive and negative, are very important as they give us the way to improve and give us the right energy to go on.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    517
    98
    11
    4
See reviews for
479
683
65
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 7 nights in November, and were very impressed with the knowledgeable and friendly staff. The ruins were within easy walking distance, as were two of the three main train stations to which we could go to get to Herculaneum and the Amalfi Coast. The bedroom was very clean and the bed very comfortable, ideal for myself as I have spinal osteoarthritis. The breakfast was plentiful and in buffet format; there was no limit on the amount one could eat! There is a pleasant, sheltered garden area for smokers and those wishing to relax with a book. The free Wi-Fi access can be accessed through two computer terminals in a comfortable lounge area by reception, which also has a television although one may feel self-conscious using it in such a public area. The password for the Wi-Fi can be used for free by those with iPhones or laptops. The hotel is excellent value and very highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

How wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Diana! Thank you very much for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.

Thank you as well for your comments on our facilities.

We really looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hotel Diana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Have just returned froma 7 night stay in this small, clean, family owed and run hotel. The staff are bi/tri lingual with an encyclopaedic amount of information on the sights to see, places to eat, travel, costs,etc.They have answers to all your questions, supported by maps, timetables, opening /closing times, everything to make the most of your stay.Nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel is quite basic, with a simple, but adequate, breakfast. Everywhere is very clean, the bathroom and plumbing faultless, powerful shower and endless hot water.

Sights we saw, in order of preference,
1. The Tower by the church in Pompeii, 2 Euros each for the best views of the ruins and new town. 80M up.
2. The ruins at Pompeii. We had a private tour guide and learned more in 2 hours than we had ever expected.We saw every centimetre, took 6+ hours, but worth every moment.
3. Mt Vesuvius. Wear good walking shoes, the climb is very steep, but fabulous at the top. One of lifes must.
4.Herculaneum.Very difficult to find, but even better than Pompeii. You need them both to compare and contrast. This sight has better finacial backing and it shows. Well preserved, and very beautiful on a smaller scale.
5.We hired a car and over 2 days did the Sorrento to Solerno coast road, returning through the mountains, each day. (We took out extra insurance, just as well, as we were scapped when stationary!!) The usual tourist towns were expensive and crowded, the smaller ones looking tired. We were advised of smaller ones along the coast and these were lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your review.

Our gests’ reviews, both positive and negative, are very important as they give us the way to improve and give us the right energy to go on.

We are really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Diana.

We are looking forward to meeting you once agian in the future.

Best whishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We (2 adults, 1 child) stayed for 3 nights. Pompei was an ideal base for getting to the Amalfi coast, Pompeii and Herculaneum ruins and getting in and out of Naples. The Hotel Diana was a lovely hotel - exceptionally clean and the most amazing front of house staff - all were very friendly, relaxed, professional and knowledgeable. Contact before our visit was always very prompt and a room request I had was granted. Breakfast was perfectly adequate with cheese, ham, breads, cake, warm croissants, cornflakes and fresh fruit. Plenty good enough to start the day. The reason for 4 stars rather than 5 is simply because the room itself was very basic - basically bed, TV and desk - no alarm clock etc. The bathroom though, had plenty of towels and toiletries. I don't believe the restaurant was open out of season and the bar is basically an add-on to the reception area. There were plenty of good restaurants in the area (and some very touristy places well worth avoiding, near the ruins) - for excellent pizza, I would recommend Pizza Margherita near the Circumvesuviana Pompei station. Gorgeous authentic pizzazeria full of locals; unbelievable value. If you have to wait as we did there is a lovely bar across the other side of the station where we had an amazing conversation with the owner - we had virtually no Italian, he had no English and yet it worked!

We also had great gelato at Golden Ice which is just around the corner. The super-friendly owners were thrilled to talk about their visit by The Apprentice's Margaret Mountford!

A tip regarding the trains is the station closest to The Hotel Diana is the FSS line. The train left from Platform 1 at Naples Centrale (which is also pretty much the same as Naples Garibaldi). This is found downstairs (it looks like the entrance to the Metro). There are no sign posts for it (that we could see anyway!) The Alibus which runs from the station to the airport (3 euros each)leaves from the following bus stop: as you exit the main concourse at Naples Centrale, it is a semi circle, bear round to the right and there is a bus shelter at the start of the main street. The sign for the Alibus is next to this shelter.

Room Tip: 205 was on the top floor and furthest away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HBBEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your review.

Our gests’ reviews, both positive and negative, are very important as they give us the way to improve and give us the right energy to go on.

thank you for having written useful information about our Hotel and surrounding area.

we hope to accommodate you again in the future

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Oct 2012
Lovely, quiet, clean hotel in a perfect location for the Pompei ruins. (about a five minute easy, level walk)
Friendly staff. Simple breakfast. Staff recommended the restaurant around the corner for dinner which turned out be one of our best dinners on our five week trip.
Hotel is good value! I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel if you are saying in Pompei.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your review.

Our gests’ reviews, both positive and negative, are very important as they give us the way to improve and give us the right energy to go on.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this peaceful little haven in the heart of Pompeii -- rooms were large and comfortable, lovely verandah restaurant for candlelit dinners in the evenings, and exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. A great find (thanks TripAdvisor!). Excellent value as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitravellers-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your review.

Our gests’ reviews, both positive and negative, are very important as they give us the way to improve and give us the right energy to go on.

We are looking froward to welcoming you once again at Hotel Diana.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were provided with the best directions on how to get to this hotel that we ever had before for any other hotel. Once there we were helped by great and friendly staff. Our room was adequate and very clean. We had breakfast each morning at the hotel which was very good. The last night there after walking the day throught the ruins of Pompeii we had a great dinner served in the outside patio - very romantic. We enjoyed our stay and would return to this hotel if we go that way again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your review.

We are really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Our gests’ reviews, both positive and negative, are very important as they give us the way to improve and give us the right energy to go on.


We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hotel Diana.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 26 in Pompeii
1,025 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#5 of 26 in Pompeii
1,348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#4 of 26 in Pompeii
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 26 in Pompeii
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pace Pompei
Hotel Pace Pompei
#9 of 26 in Pompeii
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Visagi
Hotel Visagi
#8 of 26 in Pompeii
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Pompei

Property: Hotel Diana Pompei
Address: Vicolo Sant'Abbondio 12, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pompeii
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pompeii
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pompeii
#4 Business Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana Pompei 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated hotel with modern and glamour refinements is winner of the Italian Hospitality Awards 2007 3-star category.Ideally located for public transport users, walking distance from the ruins and the famous Sanctuary.Geogeous garden with orange trees, lemon hedges and typically Mediterranean plants.On request we can organizes wonderful excursion to: Naples; Sorrento; Amalfi; Positano; and Mount Vesuvius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diana Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Pompei Hotel
Diana Pompei Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing