We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Hotel Diana Pompei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Diana Pompei
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this peaceful little haven in the heart of Pompeii -- rooms were large and comfortable, lovely verandah restaurant for candlelit dinners in the evenings, and exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. A great find (thanks TripAdvisor!). Excellent value as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitravellers-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your review.

Our gests’ reviews, both positive and negative, are very important as they give us the way to improve and give us the right energy to go on.

We are looking froward to welcoming you once again at Hotel Diana.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    511
    95
    10
    4
See reviews for
466
667
65
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were provided with the best directions on how to get to this hotel that we ever had before for any other hotel. Once there we were helped by great and friendly staff. Our room was adequate and very clean. We had breakfast each morning at the hotel which was very good. The last night there after walking the day throught the ruins of Pompeii we had a great dinner served in the outside patio - very romantic. We enjoyed our stay and would return to this hotel if we go that way again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your review.

We are really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Our gests’ reviews, both positive and negative, are very important as they give us the way to improve and give us the right energy to go on.


We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hotel Diana.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lovely clean quiet hotel. It was spotless and we travelled by train and it was so close to train station. Easy walk to the Pompei ruins and the bus that takes you to Mt Vesuvius. Staff were really lovely and helpfulf. Breakfast was excellent and we had two evening meals which were also very nice and good value. Air conditioner in our room was perfect. Our room was a good size and bathroom was spotless. Very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agr54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your review.

Our gests’ reviews, both positive and negative, are very important as they give us the way to improve and the right energy to go on.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hotel Diana Pompei.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We used Booking.com a lot for this trip as it is easy and convenient to use when booking hotels. Hotel Diana is easy to drive to, and parking is provided behind the hotel which is convenient, secure and wonderful. It is an easy to walk to the archaeological site and just as easy to catch the train to Naples for the museum for the day. The staff are helpful and very pleasant. The room is small and the bathroom is smaller so be prepared. The furnishings are bare bones, Ikea like and I'm not sure that's an accurate description. The bed was not comfortable. You must phone reception to have your A/C turned on. Breakfast is very simple, there is corn flakes for cereal, and no yogurt or fruit. If you like sliced deli meats and cheeses for breakfast, this is provided however we stuck to a cappuccino and croissant. I will say the croissants were huge and delicious. We received a terrific recommendation for pizza in Pompei from a staff member, a pizzeria called Pizza Margherita behind the church.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flymeaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

we really thank you for your comment left here, on Trip Advisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location of Hotel Diana and the staff.

We were a bit concerned about what you wrote about the A/C. We inform you that all the rooms have a romote to control the A/C.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Diana.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Diana is very close to the train station served by the national railroad line (not the local line) and is easy to find, only two short blocks from the train station. The room was comfortable, large, very clean, quiet, and had a great shower. (The air conditioner worked wonderfully.) The front staff was very helpful with a map to the Pompei archeological ruins and good restaurant recommendations (try Zi Caterina on your walk to or from the ruins). They have a very nice outdoor courtyard for drinks, and they have two computers where you can check emails or explore the internet. The ruins are only a 10 - 15 minute walk, but you do not enter at the main entrance to the site. All in all, this is a much better way to see Pompei than a rushed day trip from Rome, Naples or Sorrento, and Hotel Diana is a great base for exploring Pompei and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardeningFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your review.

Our gests’ reviews, both positive and negative, are very important as they give us the way to improve and give us the right energy to go on.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good stay and you found everything comfortable, both in Hotel and outside.

We hope to accommodate you once again in the future

hotel diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have to echo the other highly favorable reviews here: we loved our stay at Hotel Diana. It's a one-minute walk from the national train station. The hotel is clean and modern, and the staff are courteous and helpful. The rooms, although not large, are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are exceptionally good. We decided to have the "light dinner" offered by the hotel, and the food was excellent, at a very good price, served outdoors in their garden area which was truly pleasant. The staff were very helpful with information for the two adults to catch the bus (air-conditioned coach) to go up Vesuvius, and gave our three teens directions to a nearby supermarket. (They are not into hiking on famous volcanoes, apparently - I don't understand that at all. :) ) Walking around the neighborhood and nearby piazza in the evening eating lemon granita was lovely, and we enjoyed sipping wine on the outdoor second-floor patio. The ruins of Pompeii are about 10-15 minutes' walk, to the Amphitheater entrance which is much less crowded than the other end. We got there about 20 minutes after it opened on a Saturday, and had that area of the ruins all to ourselves for half an hour. We left our not-inconsiderable luggage in a special locked room at the hotel until it was time to catch our train to Naples around 2pm.

All in all, this hotel was perfect for our needs. Thank you, Hotel Diana!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your review.

Our gests’ reviews, both positive and negative, are very important as they give us the way to improve and give us the right energy to go on.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hotel Diana Pompei,

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel is an excellent base for seeing the sites around Pompeii. The Ruins are a five or 10 minute walk, as is the bus to the crater at Vesuvius. If your adventurous you can take the train to Sorrento, spend a couple of hours, bus it to Positano for lunch, then on by bus to Almalfi for walk on the pier and on to Salerno by bus. A train ride back to the train station at Pompeii is about 40 minutes. It was a great day and the drive along the Almafi coast was nothing short of spectacular. See if you can get the front seats on the bus. The front desk suggested this day trip and I think it cost about 10E each for transportation.
It has a nice room on the lower level for the included contental breakfast and a second floor deck for an eveing glass of wine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saska2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your review.

Our gests’ reviews, both positive and negative, are very important as they give us the way to improve and give us the right energy to go on.

We are looking forward to meeting you once again at Hotel Diana.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#3 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#4 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Costa Hotel
Costa Hotel
#5 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Visagi
Hotel Visagi
#8 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#6 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Pompei

Property: Hotel Diana Pompei
Address: Vicolo Sant'Abbondio 12, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pompeii
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pompeii
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pompeii
#4 Business Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana Pompei 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated hotel with modern and glamour refinements is winner of the Italian Hospitality Awards 2007 3-star category.Ideally located for public transport users, walking distance from the ruins and the famous Sanctuary.Geogeous garden with orange trees, lemon hedges and typically Mediterranean plants.On request we can organizes wonderful excursion to: Naples; Sorrento; Amalfi; Positano; and Mount Vesuvius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Diana Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Pompei Hotel
Diana Pompei Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing